
Volume 34
Number 4
November 1, 2016
Pages 45 - 88

The
Oklahoma
Register
Oklahoma
Secretary of State
Office of Administrative Rules



Mary Fallin, Governor
Mike Hunter,

Secretary of State
Peggy Coe, Editor-in-Chief

THE OKLAHOMA REGISTER is an official publication of the State of Oklahoma. It is published semi-monthly on
the first working day of the month and on the first working day following the 14th day of the month under the authority
of 75 O.S., Sections 250 et seq. and OAC 655:10-15-1. The rules of the State of Oklahoma are codified and published
in the Oklahoma Administrative Code.

The Oklahoma Register and the documents accepted for publication are AVAILABLE FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION
at the Office of Administrative Rules pursuant to the Oklahoma Open Records Act. Copies of the Register are also
available for public inspection at many County Clerks' offices in Oklahoma, the Jan Eric Cartwright Memorial Law
Library in the State Capitol, and the following depository libraries:

Ada - East Central University, Linscheid Library
Alva - Northwestern Oklahoma State University,

J.W. Martin Library
Bartlesville - Bartlesville Public Library
Claremore - Rogers State University, Stratton Taylor Library
Clinton - Clinton Public Library
Durant - Southeastern Oklahoma State University, H.G.

Bennett Memorial Library
Edmond - University of Central Oklahoma, Chambers Library
Enid - Public Library of Enid and Garfield County
Goodwell - Oklahoma Panhandle State University, Marvin E.

McKee Library
Lawton - Lawton Public Library

McAlester - McAlester Public Library
Norman - University of Oklahoma, Bizzell Memorial

Library
Oklahoma City - Metropolitan Library System
Oklahoma City - Oklahoma Department of Libraries
Stillwater - Oklahoma State University, Edmon Low

Library
Tahlequah - Northeastern State University, John

Vaughan Library
Tulsa - Tulsa City-County Library System
Tulsa - University of Tulsa, McFarlin Library
Weatherford - Southwestern Oklahoma State

University, Al Harris Library

CITE MATERIAL PUBLISHED IN THE OKLAHOMA REGISTER by the volume and the beginning page
number of the document in the Register. For example: 31 Ok Reg 256.

SUBSCRIPTION RATES for the Register are $500.00 per year for the printed issues and $300.00 per year for the
CD-ROM issues, payable in advance. When available, individual printed issues may be purchased for $20.00 plus the
cost of postage, payable in advance. Make checks payable to "Secretary of State." Send subscription requests, change
of address notices, and undelivered copies to: Secretary of State, Office of Administrative Rules, 421 NW 13th Street,
Suite 220, Oklahoma City, OK 73103.

INFORMATION ABOUT THIS PUBLICATION may be obtained by contacting the OAR by mail at Oklahoma
Secretary of State, Office of Administrative Rules, 421 NW 13th Street, Suite 220, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, by
phone at (405) 521-4911, or by fax at (405) 522-3555. Information may also be obtained by visiting the OAR's office,
located in Suite 220, Colcord Center, 421 NW 13th Street, Oklahoma City, between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday
through Friday.

This publication is issued and printed by the Secretary of State as authorized by 75 O.S., Section 255. 44 copies have been prepared and
distributed at a cost of $148.85. Copies have been deposited with the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, Publications Clearinghouse.
ISSN 0030-1728



Table of Contents

Agency/Action/Subject Index . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . iii
Rules Affected Index . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . iv
Agency Index (Title numbers assigned) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . v
Notices of Rulemaking Intent

Education, State Department of (Title 210) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 45, 46
Firefighters Pension and Retirement System, Oklahoma (Title 270) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 47
Regents for Higher Education, State (Title 610) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 48, 49, 50

Emergency Adoptions
Corporation Commission (Title 165) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 53
Health Care Authority, Oklahoma (Title 317) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 53, 56
Human Services, Department of (Title 340) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 58, 78
Tax Commission, Oklahoma (Title 710) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 79, 81

i



ii



Agency/Action/Subject Index
CORPORATION Commission (Title 165)

Emergency Adoptions
Rules of Practice (Chapter 5) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 53

EDUCATION, State Department of (Title 210)
Notices of Rulemaking Intent

Staff (Chapter 20) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 45
Standards for Accreditation of Elementary, Middle Level,

Secondary, and Career and Technology Schools
(Chapter 35) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 45, 46

FIREFIGHTERS Pension and Retirement System,
Oklahoma (Title 270)

Notices of Rulemaking Intent
Firefighters Pension and Retirement Plan (Chapter 10) . . . . . 47

HEALTH Care Authority, Oklahoma (Title 317)
Emergency Adoptions

Medical Providers-Fee for Service (Chapter 30) . . . . . . . . 53, 56
HUMAN Services, Department of (Title 340)

Emergency Adoptions
Child Care Subsidy Program (Chapter 40) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 58
Public Assistance Procedures (Chapter 65) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 78

REGENTS for Higher Education, State (Title 610)
Notices of Rulemaking Intent

Student Financial Aid and Scholarships (Chapter 25) . . . . . . 48,
49, 50

TAX Commission, Oklahoma (Title 710)
Emergency Adoptions

Gross Production (Chapter 45) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 79
Income (Chapter 50) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 81

iii



Rules Affected Index
[(E) = Emergency action]

Rule Register Page Rule Register Page

165:5-21-3.1. . . . . . . . . [NEW] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 53
165:59-1-1. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
165:59-1-2. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
165:59-1-3. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
165:59-1-4. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
165:59-1-7. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
165:59-3-1. . . . . . . . . . [REVOKED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
165:59-3-11. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
165:59-3-13. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
165:59-3-14. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8
165:59-3-15. . . . . . . . . [REVOKED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
165:59-3-16. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9
165:59-3-30. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
165:59-3-32. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
165:59-3-34. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
165:59-3-36. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
165:59-3-38. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
165:59-3-40. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
165:59-3-42. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
165:59-3-44. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11
165:59-3-46. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
165:59-3-60. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
165:59-3-61. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
165:59-3-62. . . . . . . . . [REVOKED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12
165:59-3-65. . . . . . . . . [RESERVED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
165:59-3-66. . . . . . . . . [NEW] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14
165:59-3-67. . . . . . . . . [RESERVED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
165:59-3-68. . . . . . . . . [NEW] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
165:59-3-69. . . . . . . . . [RESERVED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
165:59-3-70. . . . . . . . . [NEW] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16
165:59-3-71. . . . . . . . . [RESERVED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
165:59-3-72. . . . . . . . . [NEW] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 17
165:59-7-1. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18
165:59-7-5. . . . . . . . . . [REVOKED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
165:59-7-6. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21
165:59-7-7. . . . . . . . . . [REVOKED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22
165:59-7-8. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
165:59-7-9. . . . . . . . . . [REVOKED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23
165:59-7-10. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
165:59-7-13. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
165:59-7-15. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
165:59-7-17. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
165:59-7-18. . . . . . . . . [RESERVED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24

165:59-7-19. . . . . . . . . [NEW] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24
165:59-9-1. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
165:59-9-3. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25
165:59-9-5. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
165:59-9-6. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
165:59-9-11. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26
165:59-9-13. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
165:59-9-15. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
165:59-9-17. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
165:59-9-21. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
165:59-9-23. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 27
165:59-9-25. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28
165:59-9-27. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
165:59-9-29. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29
317:30-5-42.17. . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 57
317:30-5-241.1. . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 54
317:30-5-432.1. . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 57
340:40-1-2. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 58
340:40-3-1. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 58
340:40-7-3. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60
340:40-7-5. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 60
340:40-7-6. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 61
340:40-7-7. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 62
340:40-7-8. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 63
340:40-7-9. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 68
340:40-7-11. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 70
340:40-7-12. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 73
340:40-9-1. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 75
340:40-9-2. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 76
340:40-13-3. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 77
340:65-3-8. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 78
710:45-9-81. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 80
710:45-9-82. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 80
710:45-9-83. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 80
710:45-9-84. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 80
710:50-3-35. . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 81
710:50-9-3. . . . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 81
710:50-15-50. . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 82
710:50-15-74. . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 82
710:50-15-76. . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 84
710:50-15-90. . . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 85
710:50-15-103. . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 85
710:50-15-104. . . . . . . [AMENDED] (E) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 86

iv



Agency/Title Index
[Assigned as of 11-1-16]

Agency Title

Oklahoma ABSTRACTORS Board . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5
Oklahoma ACCOUNTANCY Board . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 10
State ACCREDITING Agency . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15
AD Valorem Task Force (abolished 7-1-93) . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 20
Oklahoma AERONAUTICS Commission . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 25
Board of Regents for the Oklahoma AGRICULTURAL and Mechanical

Colleges (exempted 11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30
Oklahoma Department of AGRICULTURE, Food, and Forestry . . .. . . . 35
Oklahoma Board of Licensed ALCOHOL and Drug Counselors . . .. . . . 38
Board of Tests for ALCOHOL and Drug Influence . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 40
ALCOHOLIC Beverage Laws Enforcement Commission . . . . . .. . . . . . 45
ANATOMICAL Board of the State of Oklahoma . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 50
Board of Governors of the Licensed ARCHITECTS, Landscape

Architects and Registered Interior Designers of Oklahoma
(Formerly: Board of Governors of the Licensed ARCHITECTS
and Landscape Architects of Oklahoma; and Board of Governors of
the Licensed ARCHITECTS, Landscape Architects and Interior
Designers of Oklahoma . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55

ARCHIVES and Records Commission . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 60
Board of Trustees for the ARDMORE Higher

Education Program (exempted 11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 65
Oklahoma ARTS Council . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 70
Oklahoma State ATHLETIC Commission (Formerly: Oklahoma

Professional BOXING Commission) - See Title 92
ATTORNEY General . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 75
State AUDITOR and Inspector . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 80
State BANKING Department . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 85
Oklahoma State Employees BENEFITS Council (consolidated under

Office of Management and Enterprise Services 8-26-11 - See Title
260) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 86

Oklahoma State Employees BENEFITS Council . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 87
Council of BOND Oversight . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 90
Oklahoma State ATHLETIC Commission (Formerly: Oklahoma

Professional BOXING Commission) . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 92
State BURIAL Board (abolished 7-1-92) . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 95
[RESERVED] . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 100
Oklahoma CAPITAL Investment Board . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 105
Oklahoma CAPITOL Improvement Authority . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 110
State CAPITOL Preservation Commission . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 115
CAPITOL-MEDICAL Center Improvement and Zoning

Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 120
Oklahoma Department of CAREER and Technology Education

(Formerly: Oklahoma Department of VOCATIONAL and
Technical Education) - See Title 780

Board of Regents of CARL Albert State College (exempted
11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 125

Department of CENTRAL Services (Formerly: Office of PUBLIC
Affairs) - See Title 580

CEREBRAL Palsy Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 130
Commission on CHILDREN and Youth . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 135
Board of CHIROPRACTIC Examiners . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 140
Oklahoma Department of EMERGENCY Management

(Formerly: Department of CIVIL Emergency Management) . . .. . . 145
Oklahoma Department of COMMERCE . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 150
COMMUNITY Hospitals Authority . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 152
COMPSOURCE Oklahoma (Formerly: State INSURANCE

Fund) - See Title 370
Oklahoma CONSERVATION Commission . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 155
CONSTRUCTION Industries Board . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 158
Department of CONSUMER Credit . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 160
CORPORATION Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 165
Department of CORRECTIONS . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 170
State Board of COSMETOLOGY and Barbering . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 175
Oklahoma State CREDIT Union Board . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 180
CRIME Victims Compensation Board . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 185
Joint CRIMINAL Justice System Task Force Committee . . . . . .. . . . . . 190
Board of DENTISTRY . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 195
Oklahoma DEVELOPMENT Finance Authority . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 200

Agency Title

Office of DISABILITY Concerns (Formerly: Office of
HANDICAPPED Concerns) - See Title 305

Board of Regents of EASTERN Oklahoma State College (exempted
11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 205

EDGE Fund Policy Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 208
State Department of EDUCATION . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 210
EDUCATION Oversight Board (merged under Office of Educational

Quality and Accountability 7-1-14 - See Title 218) . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 215
Office of EDUCATIONAL Quality and Accountability . . . . . .. . . . . . . 218
Oklahoma EDUCATIONAL Television Authority . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 220
[RESERVED] . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 225
State ELECTION Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 230
Oklahoma FUNERAL Board (Formerly: Oklahoma State Board of

EMBALMERS and Funeral Directors) . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 235
Oklahoma Department of EMERGENCY Management

(Formerly: Department of CIVIL Emergency Management) -
See Title 145

Oklahoma EMPLOYMENT Security Commission . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 240
Oklahoma ENERGY Resources Board . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 243
State Board of Licensure for Professional ENGINEERS and Land

Surveyors (Formerly: State Board of Registration for Professional
ENGINEERS and Land Surveyors) . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 245

Board of Trustees for the ENID Higher
Education Program (exempted 11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 250

Department of ENVIRONMENTAL Quality . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 252
State Board of EQUALIZATION . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 255
ETHICS Commission (Title revoked) . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 257
ETHICS Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 258
Office of MANAGEMENT and Enterprise Services (Formerly: Office

of State FINANCE) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 260
State FIRE Marshal Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 265
Oklahoma Council on FIREFIGHTER Training . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 268
Oklahoma FIREFIGHTERS Pension and Retirement System . . . .. . . . . 270
[RESERVED] . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 275
FORENSIC Review Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 277
State Board of Registration for FORESTERS . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 280
FOSTER Care Review Advisory Board . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 285
Oklahoma FUNERAL Board (Formerly: Oklahoma State Board of

Embalmers and Funeral Directors) - See Title 235
Oklahoma FUTURES . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 290
GOVERNOR (See also Title 1, Executive Orders) . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 295
GRAND River Dam Authority . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 300
Group Self-Insurance Association GUARANTY Fund Board . . . .. . . . . 302
Individual Self-Insured GUARANTY Fund Board . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 303
STATE Use Committee (Formerly: Committee on Purchases of Products

and Services of the Severely HANDICAPPED; consolidated
under Office of Management and Enterprise Services 8-26-11 - See
Title 260) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 304

Office of DISABILITY Concerns (Formerly: Office of
HANDICAPPED Concerns) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 305

Oklahoma State Department of HEALTH . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 310
Oklahoma Basic HEALTH Benefits Board (abolished 11-1-97) . . . .. . . . 315
Oklahoma HEALTH Care Authority . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 317
HIGHWAY Construction Materials Technician Certification

Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 318
Oklahoma HISTORICAL Society . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 320
Oklahoma HORSE Racing Commission . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 325
Oklahoma HOUSING Finance Agency . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 330
Oklahoma HUMAN Rights Commission . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 335
Department of HUMAN Services . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 340
Committee for INCENTIVE Awards for State Employees . . . . . .. . . . . . 345
Oklahoma INDIAN Affairs Commission . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 350
Oklahoma INDIGENT Defense System . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 352
Oklahoma INDUSTRIAL Finance Authority . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 355
INJURY Review Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 357
Oklahoma State and Education Employees Group INSURANCE Board

(consolidated under Office of Management and Enterprise Services
8-26-11 - See Title 260) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 360

INSURANCE Department . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 365

v



Agency/Title Index – continued

Agency Title

COMPSOURCE Oklahoma
(Formerly: State INSURANCE Fund) . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 370

Oklahoma State Bureau of INVESTIGATION . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 375
Council on JUDICIAL Complaints . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 376
Office of JUVENILE Affairs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 377
Department of LABOR . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 380
Department of the Commissioners of the LAND Office . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 385
Council on LAW Enforcement Education and Training . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 390
Oklahoma LAW Enforcement Retirement System . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 395
Board on LEGISLATIVE Compensation . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 400
Oklahoma Department of LIBRARIES . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 405
LIEUTENANT Governor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 410
Oklahoma LINKED Deposit Review Board . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 415
Oklahoma LIQUEFIED Petroleum Gas Board . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 420
Oklahoma LIQUEFIED Petroleum Gas Research, Marketing and Safety

Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 422
LITERACY Initiatives Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 425
LONG-RANGE Capital Planning Commission . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 428
Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for LONG-TERM Care

Administrators (Formerly: Oklahoma State Board of Examiners
for NURSING Home Administrators) - See Title 490

LOTTERY Commission, Oklahoma . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 429
Board of Trustees for the MCCURTAIN County Higher Education

Program (exempted 11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 430
Office of MANAGEMENT and Enterprise Services (Formerly: Office

of State FINANCE) - See Title 260
Commission on MARGINALLY Producing Oil and Gas Wells . . . .. . . . 432
State Board of MEDICAL Licensure and Supervision . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 435
MEDICAL Technology and Research Authority of Oklahoma . . . .. . . . . 440
Board of MEDICOLEGAL Investigations . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 445
Department of MENTAL Health and Substance Abuse Services . . . .. . . . 450
MERIT Protection Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 455
MILITARY Planning Commission, Oklahoma Strategic . . . . . .. . . . . . . 457
Department of MINES . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 460
Oklahoma MOTOR Vehicle Commission . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 465
Board of Regents of MURRAY State College (exempted 11-1-98) . . .. . . 470
Oklahoma State Bureau of NARCOTICS and Dangerous Drugs

Control . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 475
Board of Regents of NORTHERN Oklahoma College (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 480
Oklahoma Board of NURSING . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 485
Oklahoma State Board of Examiners for LONG-TERM Care

Administrators (Formerly: Oklahoma State Board of Examiners
for NURSING Home Administrators) . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 490

Board of Regents of OKLAHOMA City Community College (exempted
11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 495

Board of Regents of OKLAHOMA Colleges (exempted 11-1-98) . . .. . . . 500
Board of Examiners in OPTOMETRY . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 505
State Board of OSTEOPATHIC Examiners . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 510
PARDON and Parole Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 515
Oklahoma PEANUT Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 520
Oklahoma State PENSION Commission . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 525
State Board of Examiners of PERFUSIONISTS . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 527
Office of PERSONNEL Management (consolidated under Office

of Management and Enterprise Services 8-26-11 - See Title
260) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 530

Board of Commercial PET Breeders (abolished 7-1-12 - See Title
35) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 532

Oklahoma State Board of PHARMACY . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 535
PHYSICIAN Manpower Training Commission . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 540
Board of PODIATRIC Medical Examiners . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 545
Oklahoma POLICE Pension and Retirement System . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 550
State Department of POLLUTION Control (abolished 1-1-93) . . . .. . . . 555
POLYGRAPH Examiners Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 560
Oklahoma Board of PRIVATE Vocational Schools . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 565
State Board for PROPERTY and Casualty Rates

(abolished 7-1-06; see also Title 365) . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 570
State Board of Examiners of PSYCHOLOGISTS . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 575
Department of CENTRAL Services (Formerly: Office of PUBLIC

Affairs; consolidated under Office of Management and Enterprise
Services 8-26-11 - See Title 260) . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 580

Agency Title

PUBLIC Employees Relations Board . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 585
Oklahoma PUBLIC Employees Retirement System . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 590
Department of PUBLIC Safety . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 595
REAL Estate Appraiser Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 600
Oklahoma REAL Estate Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 605
Board of Regents of REDLANDS Community College (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 607
State REGENTS for Higher Education . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 610
State Department of REHABILITATION Services . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 612
Board of Regents of ROGERS State College (exempted 11-1-98) . . .. . . . 615
Board of Regents of ROSE State College (exempted 11-1-98) . . . . .. . . . . 620
Oklahoma SAVINGS and Loan Board (abolished 7-1-93) . . . . . .. . . . . . 625
SCENIC Rivers Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 630
Oklahoma Commission on SCHOOL and County Funds

Management . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 635
Advisory Task Force on the Sale of SCHOOL Lands (functions

concluded 2-92) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 640
The Oklahoma School of SCIENCE and Mathematics . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 645
Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of SCIENCE and

Technology . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 650
SECRETARY of State . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 655
Department of SECURITIES . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 660
Board of Regents of SEMINOLE State College (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 665
SHEEP and Wool Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 670
State Board of Licensed SOCIAL Workers . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 675
SOUTHERN Growth Policies Board . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 680
Oklahoma SOYBEAN Commission (abolished 7-1-97) . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 685
Board of Examiners for SPEECH-LANGUAGE Pathology and

Audiology (Formerly: Board of Examiners for SPEECH
Pathology and Audiology) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 690

STATE Employee Charitable Contributions, Oversight
Committee for (Formerly: STATE Agency
Review Committee) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 695

STATE Use Committee (Formerly: Committee on Purchases of Products
and Services of the Severely HANDICAPPED) –See Title 304

Oklahoma STUDENT Loan Authority . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 700
TASK Force 2000 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 705
Oklahoma TAX Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 710
Oklahoma Commission for TEACHER Preparation (merged under

Office of Educational Quality and Accountability 7-1-14 - See Title
218) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 712

TEACHERS’ Retirement System . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 715
State TEXTBOOK Committee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 720
TOBACCO Settlement Endowment Trust Fund . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 723
Oklahoma TOURISM and Recreation Department . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . 725
Department of TRANSPORTATION . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 730
Oklahoma TRANSPORTATION Authority (Name changed to

Oklahoma TURNPIKE Authority 11-1-05) - See Title 731
Oklahoma TURNPIKE Authority (Formerly: Oklahoma

TRANSPORTATION Authority AND Oklahoma TURNPIKE
Authority) - See also Title 745 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 731

State TREASURER . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 735
Board of Regents of TULSA Community College (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 740
Oklahoma TURNPIKE Authority (Name changed to Oklahoma

TRANSPORATION Authority 11-1-99 - no rules enacted in this
Title - See Title 731) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 745

Oklahoma UNIFORM Building Code Commission . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 748
Board of Trustees for the UNIVERSITY Center at Tulsa (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 750
UNIVERSITY Hospitals Authority . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 752
UNIVERSITY Hospitals Trust . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 753
Board of Regents of the UNIVERSITY of Oklahoma (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 755
Board of Regents of the UNIVERSITY of Science and Arts

of Oklahoma (exempted 11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 760
Oklahoma USED Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 765
Oklahoma Department of VETERANS Affairs . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 770
Board of VETERINARY Medical Examiners . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . 775
Statewide VIRTUAL Charter School Board . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . 777

vi



Agency/Title Index – continued

Agency Title

Oklahoma Department of CAREER and Technology Education
(Formerly: Oklahoma Department of VOCATIONAL and
Technical Education) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 780

Oklahoma WATER Resources Board . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . 785
Board of Regents of WESTERN Oklahoma State College (exempted

11-1-98) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 790

Agency Title

Oklahoma WHEAT Commission . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 795
Department of WILDLIFE Conservation . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . 800
WILL Rogers and J.M. Davis Memorials Commission . . . . . . .. . . . . . . 805
Oklahoma WORKERS' Compensation Commission . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . 810

vii



viii



Notices of Rulemaking Intent
Prior to adoption and gubernatorial/legislative review of a proposed PERMANENT rulemaking action, an agency must publish

a Notice of Rulemaking Intent in the Register. In addition, an agency may publish a Notice of Rulemaking Intent in the Register prior to
adoption of a proposed EMERGENCY or PREEMPTIVE rulemaking action.

A Notice of Rulemaking Intent announces a comment period, or a comment period and public hearing, and provides other
information about the intended rulemaking action as required by law, including where copies of proposed rules may be obtained.

For additional information on Notices of Rulemaking Intent, see 75 O.S., Section 303.

TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 20. STAFF

[OAR Docket #16-765]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 23. School Board Members
210:20-23-3. Requirements for new and incumbent school

board member training [AMENDED]
SUMMARY:

The rule addressing instructional requirements for local
school board members is being amended to clarify that board
members who are appointed to fill a seat for fifteen (15) months
or less may carry forward credit for training completed during
the short-term appointment, if they are elected to the board
for the subsequent term. The current rule language does not
allow for this carryover, and the rule is being amended to better
reflect the school board member training statute at 70 O.S. §
5-110, which allows for training completed "within fifteen (15)
months preceding election."
AUTHORITY:

State Board of Education; 70 O.S. § 3-104; 70 O.S. § 5-110
COMMENT PERIOD:

Written comments on the proposed rule(s) will be accepted
from November 1, 2016 until 4:30 p.m., Friday, December 2,
2016.

Written comments in electronic form will be accepted
during the open public comment period via email at
rules@sde.ok.gov or by fax at (405) 521-6256. During the
open public comment period, written comments may also be
hand delivered to the agency during regular business hours or
via regular mail to the individual at the address shown below
under "Contact Person."

Oral comments may be submitted for the record at the public
hearing at the time, date, and place shown below.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on Friday,
December 2, at the Hodge Education Building, State Board
Room, Room 1-20, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma. Persons wishing to speak must sign in at the
door of the State Board Room prior to the start of the hearing.
Time limitations may be imposed on oral presentations to
ensure that all persons who desire to make oral comments will
have an opportunity to do so.

REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:

Copies of the proposed rule(s) may be obtained for
review by the public from the Office of Legal Services,
State Department of Education, Room 1-17, Hodge Education
Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City,
Oklahoma. Electronic copies of proposed rules are also
available for review thirty (30) days prior to the hearing on
the State Department of Education Legal Services website at:
http://ok.gov/sde/administrative-rules
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Pursuant to 75 O.S. § 303(D), a Rule Impact Statement
will be prepared and available for review at the Office of
Legal Services, State Department of Education, Room 1-17,
Hodge Education Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on and after the date of publication
of this Notice of Rulemaking Intent. A copy of the RIS will
also be available on the State Department of Education Legal
Services website at: http://ok.gov/sde/administrative-rules
CONTACT PERSON:

Lori Murphy, Assistant General Counsel, Office of
Legal Services, State Department of Education, Room 1-17,
Hodge Education Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599. Telephone number:
(405) 522-5260

[OAR Docket #16-765; filed 10-7-16]

TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 35. STANDARDS FOR
ACCREDITATION OF ELEMENTARY,
MIDDLE LEVEL, SECONDARY, AND

CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY SCHOOLS

[OAR Docket #16-766]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 3. Standards for Elementary, Middle Level,

Secondary, and Career and Technology Schools
Part 5. Standard III: Administration and Organization
210:35-3-47. School reports and records [AMENDED]

November 1, 2016 45 Oklahoma Register (Volume 34, Number 4)



Notices of Rulemaking Intent

SUMMARY:
House Bill 2784 (2016) amended the statute governing

the storage of student records. The rule addressing student
records must be updated to reflect the statutory changes,
which include an authorization for school districts to store
records electronically, and a requirement to maintain student
transcripts for eighty (80) years. The amendments to the
law require districts to develop policies for the destruction of
non-transcript student records five to seven (5-7) years after
the student graduates or withdraws from the district, and the
rule update also addresses HB 2784's requirement for districts
to notify former students (or the parents/guardians of minors)
when non-transcript records are scheduled for destruction.
AUTHORITY:

State Board of Education; 70 O.S. § 3-104; 70 O.S. § 24-114
COMMENT PERIOD:

Written comments on the proposed rule(s) will be accepted
from November 1, 2016 until 4:30 p.m., Friday, December 2,
2016.

Written comments in electronic form will be accepted
during the open public comment period via email at
rules@sde.ok.gov or by fax at (405) 521-6256. During the
open public comment period, written comments may also be
hand delivered to the agency during regular business hours or
via regular mail to the individual at the address shown below
under "Contact Person."

Oral comments may be submitted for the record at the public
hearing at the time, date, and place shown below.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on Friday,
December 2, at the Hodge Education Building, State Board
Room, Room 1-20, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma. Persons wishing to speak must sign in at the
door of the State Board Room prior to the start of the hearing.
Time limitations may be imposed on oral presentations to
ensure that all persons who desire to make oral comments will
have an opportunity to do so.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:

Copies of the proposed rule(s) may be obtained for
review by the public from the Office of Legal Services,
State Department of Education, Room 1-17, Hodge Education
Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City,
Oklahoma. Electronic copies of proposed rules are also
available for review thirty (30) days prior to the hearing on
the State Department of Education Legal Services website at:
http://ok.gov/sde/administrative-rules
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Pursuant to 75 O.S. § 303(D), a Rule Impact Statement
will be prepared and available for review at the Office of
Legal Services, State Department of Education, Room 1-17,
Hodge Education Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on and after the date of publication
of this Notice of Rulemaking Intent. A copy of the RIS will

also be available on the State Department of Education Legal
Services website at: http://ok.gov/sde/administrative-rules
CONTACT PERSON:

Lori Murphy, Assistant General Counsel, Office of
Legal Services, State Department of Education, Room 1-17,
Hodge Education Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599. Telephone number:
(405) 522-5260

[OAR Docket #16-766; filed 10-7-16]

TITLE 210. STATE DEPARTMENT OF
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 35. STANDARDS FOR
ACCREDITATION OF ELEMENTARY,
MIDDLE LEVEL, SECONDARY, AND

CAREER AND TECHNOLOGY SCHOOLS

[OAR Docket #16-767]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 9. Additional Standards for Secondary Schools
Part 7. Standard IV: Curriculum, Instruction, Assessment

and Climate
210:35-9-31. Program of studies and graduation

requirements [AMENDED]
SUMMARY:

The rule that outlines the graduation requirements for
Oklahoma high school students must be updated to remove
requirements related to End-of-Instruction (EOI) exams and
the Achieving Classroom Excellence (ACE) Act, which were
repealed by House Bill 3218 (2016).
AUTHORITY:

State Board of Education; 70 O.S. § 3-104; 70 O.S. §
11-103.6; 70 O.S. § 1210.523 (repealed)
COMMENT PERIOD:

Written comments on the proposed rule(s) will be accepted
from November 1, 2016 until 4:30 p.m., Friday, December 2,
2016.

Written comments in electronic form will be accepted
during the open public comment period via email at
rules@sde.ok.gov or by fax at (405) 521-6256. During the
open public comment period, written comments may also be
hand delivered to the agency during regular business hours or
via regular mail to the individual at the address shown below
under "Contact Person."

Oral comments may be submitted for the record at the public
hearing at the time, date, and place shown below.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing is scheduled for 2:00 p.m. on Friday,
December 2, at the Hodge Education Building, State Board
Room, Room 1-20, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma
City, Oklahoma. Persons wishing to speak must sign in at the
door of the State Board Room prior to the start of the hearing.

Oklahoma Register (Volume 34, Number 4) 46 November 1, 2016



Notices of Rulemaking Intent

Time limitations may be imposed on oral presentations to
ensure that all persons who desire to make oral comments will
have an opportunity to do so.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:

Copies of the proposed rule(s) may be obtained for
review by the public from the Office of Legal Services,
State Department of Education, Room 1-17, Hodge Education
Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard, Oklahoma City,
Oklahoma. Electronic copies of proposed rules are also
available for review thirty (30) days prior to the hearing on
the State Department of Education Legal Services website at:
http://ok.gov/sde/administrative-rules
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Pursuant to 75 O.S. § 303(D), a Rule Impact Statement
will be prepared and available for review at the Office of
Legal Services, State Department of Education, Room 1-17,
Hodge Education Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma on and after the date of publication
of this Notice of Rulemaking Intent. A copy of the RIS will
also be available on the State Department of Education Legal
Services website at: http://ok.gov/sde/administrative-rules
CONTACT PERSON:

Lori Murphy, Assistant General Counsel, Office of
Legal Services, State Department of Education, Room 1-17,
Hodge Education Building, 2500 North Lincoln Boulevard,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105-4599. Telephone number:
(405) 522-5260

[OAR Docket #16-767; filed 10-7-16]

TITLE 270. OKLAHOMA FIREFIGHTERS
PENSION AND RETIREMENT SYSTEM

CHAPTER 10. FIREFIGHTERS PENSION
AND RETIREMENT PLAN

[OAR Docket #16-759]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
270:10-1-8 [AMENDED]

SUMMARY:
The proposed rule amendment to 270:10-1-8(c) reflects

the effective date in 11 O.S., Section 49-117.1 of November 1,
2013.

The proposed rule amendments to 270:10-1-8 require,
commencing with the plan year ending on June 30, 2018
and for each plan year thereafter, an annual mandatory
distribution of interest earnings from the Deferred Option
Plan and the Deferred Option Plan under the Back DROP
provision (collectively "Plan B") for members of the Oklahoma
Firefighters Pension and Retirement System ("System") whose
first period of employment with a participating employer of

the System occurred before November 1, 2013. Pursuant to
11 O.S., Section 49-106.1(F), except for a lump sum payment
or an annuity, the Board of Trustees must approve all other
methods of payment for Plan B distributions from a member's
Plan B account. Thus, revisions to the rules are necessary to
reflect the Board of Trustees' approved methods of payment for
any interest earnings credited to a member's Plan B account on
or about June 30, 2018, and thereafter.

The mandatory distribution of interest earnings applies to
retired members, disabled members and surviving spouses.
The mandatory distribution of interest earnings does not
apply to an individual who is receiving a required minimum
distribution from Plan B. The amount of the mandatory
distribution of interest for any plan year is reduced by the
amount of the voluntary withdrawals from the member's Plan
B account.

The proposed amendments also set forth the mechanism for
the calculation of interest earnings and the approved methods
of payment for the annual mandatory distribution of interest
earnings credited to a member's account on or about June 30,
2018, and thereafter. If a member fails to make an election,
the proposed rule amendments state that such failure will
result in an automatic rollover of such interest earnings to an
individual retirement plan, consistent with Section 401(a)(31)
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended ("Code"),
for any member before the member attains the later of age 62
or the member's normal retirement date, and a direct lump sum
distribution to the member for any other member before such
member attains age 70 .

The proposed amendments also change the terms
"beneficiary" and "beneficiaries" to "designated recipient"
and "designated recipients" with respect to any payment
to these individuals from the Plan B account in order to be
consistent with 11 O.S., Section 49-106.1(G).

The proposed amendments to 270:10-1-8(l)(1)(F) and
270:10-1-8(m)(3) move language within a sentence to
clarify the positions that may be held by a Plan B member
if reemployed by a participating municipality and receiving in
service distributions of the member's accrued benefit from the
System after such member concludes participation in Plan B.

The proposed amendments to 270:10-1-8(l)(3) and
270:10-1-8(m)(7) change the numbering of (1) and (2) to
(A) and (B) to avoid potential confusion with the subsection
numbering system.

The proposed amendments to 270:10-1-8(m)(2)(C) add a
cross-reference to (l) of 270:10-1-8.

The proposed amendments adding 270:10-1-8(p) detail
the automatic rollover provisions required by Code Section
401(a)(31). The proposed amendments provide that in the
event of a mandatory distribution greater than $1,000 made
on or after June 28, 2018, if the member does not elect to
have the distribution paid directly to an eligible retirement
plan specified by the member in a direct rollover or to receive
the distribution directly, then the State Board shall pay the
distribution in a direct rollover to an individual retirement plan
designated by the State Board.
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AUTHORITY:
Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and Retirement Board; 11

O.S., Sections 49-100.7 and 49-106.1.
COMMENT PERIOD:

Persons may submit oral or written comments through
December 5, 2016 to Chase Rankin, Controller, Oklahoma
Firefighters Pension and Retirement System 6601 Broadway
Extension, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73116, (405)
522-4600 or by email to Chase.Rankin@firepension.ok.gov.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing will be held to provide a means by which
persons may offer oral input on the content of the proposed
rules: 10:30 a.m., Friday, December 16, 2016, 6601 Broadway
Extension, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73116.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

n/a
COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:

The proposed rules may be viewed on the System's website
at https://www.ok.gov/fprs/ and copies may be obtained
from the Oklahoma Firefighters Pension and Retirement
System office located at 6601 Broadway Extension, Suite 100,
Oklahoma City, OK 73116. Copies may also be obtained by
written request mailed to the attention of Chase Rankin, 6601
Broadway Extension, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK 73116, or
emailed to Chase.Rankin@firepension.ok.gov.
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Pursuant to 75 O.S., §303(D), a rule impact statement is
being prepared and will be available for review after November
13, 2016 at the above addresses.
CONTACT PERSON:

Chase Rankin, Controller, Oklahoma Firefighters
Pension and Retirement System (405) 522-4600 or
Chase.Rankin@firepension.ok.gov.

[OAR Docket #16-759; filed 10-5-16]

TITLE 610. STATE REGENTS FOR HIGHER
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 25. STUDENT FINANCIAL AID
AND SCHOLARSHIPS

[OAR Docket #16-755]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 33. Regional University Baccalaureate

Scholarship Program
610:25-33-4. Eligibility Requirements [AMENDED]
610:25-33-5. Criteria for Continued Eligibility

[AMENDED]
SUMMARY:

The proposed rule changes address the following issues:
ACT Test Scores: To be eligible for the Regional University

Baccalaureate Scholarship, students must score at least a 30

on the ACT unless they meet other designations. In recent
years, ACT has expanded its options for taking the ACT
test beyond the traditional six national Saturday testing
dates each school year. Other official ACT testing options
now include school-level testing administered at a school
site during the school day, statewide ACT tests (not used in
Oklahoma to date), and international tests. The proposed
change recognizes these additional methods for students to
obtain ACT scores considered official and valid by ACT.
The language specifically excludes "residual" ACT tests
administered by an individual college because ACT does not
allow residual test scores to be used beyond the campus that
administers the test.

Retention/Graduation Grade Point Average (GPA): The
proposed changes allow, in addition to the cumulative GPA,
the use of the student's retention/graduation GPA for meeting
the program's continuing eligibility GPA requirements. The
retention/graduation GPA calculation does not include activity
courses or courses subject to academic forgiveness provisions
authorized by State Regents' policy. State Regents' policy also
uses the retention/graduation GPA for compliance with State
Regent's system-wide academic enrollment requirements. In
addition, on students' transcripts, the retention/graduation GPA
is required to be shown but the reporting of the cumulative GPA
is optional.

Final Semester Award: Students in the program are limited
to eight semesters of scholarship eligibility and must enroll
in at least twelve hours per fall or spring semester. The
proposed revision would allow students in their final semester
of undergraduate enrollment to be eligible for a half-semester
award for at least six hours of enrollment. This provision is for
students who need less than twelve hours in their final semester
to complete their undergraduate degree. The change would
prevent the student from having to take unnecessary courses
to receive an award and would also prevent the program from
having to pay a larger award for unnecessary courses.
AUTHORITY:

70 O.S. §3206 (i); Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education
COMMENT PERIOD:

Interested persons may submit written and oral comments to
David B. Harting, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite
200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104, by 5:00 p.m., December 1,
2016.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing has not been scheduled; however, one can
be requested by contacting David B. Harting, Assistant General
Counsel, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, 655
Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104 by
5:00 p.m., December 1, 2016.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
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COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:
Copies of proposed rules may be obtained at the Office of

the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education,
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104.
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Copies of the rule impact statement may be obtained at the
Office of the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City,
OK, 73104 on and after November 1, 2016.
CONTACT PERSON:

David B. Harting, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma
State Regents for Higher Education, (405) 225-9289.

[OAR Docket #16-755; filed 10-4-16]

TITLE 610. STATE REGENTS FOR HIGHER
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 25. STUDENT FINANCIAL AID
AND SCHOLARSHIPS

[OAR Docket #16-756]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 7. Oklahoma Tuition Aid Grant Program
610:25-7-6. Eligibility; amount of grant; application

procedures and deadlines; disbursement of funds
[AMENDED]

SUMMARY:
The proposed rule changes address the following issue:
Award Disbursement Policies: Colleges and universities

continue to expand their offerings of more flexible
non-traditional enrollment options. In addition, many
certificate programs at state career technology centers (at
which the Oklahoma Tuition Aid Grant - OTAG - is authorized
to be used) are also offered in non-traditional enrollment
periods based on clock hours rather than college semester
credit hours. The proposed changes allow the OTAG award to
be disbursed in a manner consistent with the student's actual
enrollment period. The OTAG disbursement procedure will
follow federal Pell Grant guidelines which are familiar to all
student financial aid officers. The proposed change does not
change the maximum annual award, but allows the award to be
disbursed in a consistent and effective manner.
AUTHORITY:

70 O.S. §626.1 et seq.; 70 O.S. §3206 (i); Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education
COMMENT PERIOD:

Interested persons may submit written and oral comments to
David B. Harting, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite
200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104, by 5:00 p.m., December 1,
2016.

PUBLIC HEARING:
A public hearing has not been scheduled; however, one can

be requested by contacting David B. Harting, Assistant General
Counsel, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, 655
Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104 by
5:00 p.m., December 1, 2016.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:

Copies of proposed rules may be obtained at the Office of
the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education,
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104.
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Copies of the rule impact statement may be obtained at the
Office of the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City,
OK, 73104 on and after November 1, 2016.
CONTACT PERSON:

David B. Harting, Associate General Counsel, Oklahoma
State Regents for Higher Education, (405) 225-9289.

[OAR Docket #16-756; filed 10-4-16]

TITLE 610. STATE REGENTS FOR HIGHER
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 25. STUDENT FINANCIAL AID
AND SCHOLARSHIPS

[OAR Docket #16-757]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 23. Oklahoma Higher Learning Access

Program
610:25-23-4. Program requirements [AMENDED]

SUMMARY:
The proposed rule changes address the following issues:
Adding Statistics and Probability Course Option to Math

Curriculum Requirements: The core curriculum requirements
for Oklahoma's Promise are directly aligned with the core
curriculum requirements for college admission as approved by
the State Regents. In June 2016, the State Regents approved a
modification to the college admission curriculum requirements
for mathematics by adding statistics and probability to the list
of acceptable courses. The proposed revision makes this same
change to the Oklahoma's Promise curriculum requirements
for mathematics.

ACT Test Scores: In addition to meeting the other
Oklahoma's Promise program requirements, homeschool
students and students graduating from non-accredited high
schools are also required by state law to score a 22 or higher on
the ACT test. In recent years, ACT has expanded its options for
taking the ACT test beyond the traditional six national Saturday
testing dates each year. Other official ACT testing options now
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include school-level testing administered at a school site during
the school day, statewide ACT tests (not used in Oklahoma to
date), and international tests. The proposed change would
recognize these additional methods for students to obtain ACT
scores considered official and valid by ACT. The language
specifically excludes "residual" ACT tests administered by an
individual college because ACT does not allow residual test
scores to be used beyond the campus that administers the test.
The language also requires that SAT test scores be considered
in a manner comparable to the ACT test scores.
AUTHORITY:

70 O.S. §2601 et seq.; 70 O.S. §3206 (i); Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education
COMMENT PERIOD:

Interested persons may submit written and oral comments to
David B. Harting, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite
200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104, by 5:00 p.m., December 1,
2016.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing has not been scheduled; however, one can
be requested by contacting David B. Harting, Assistant General
Counsel, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, 655
Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104 by
5:00 p.m., December 1, 2016.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:

Copies of proposed rules may be obtained at the Office of
the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education,
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104.
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Copies of the rule impact statement may be obtained at the
Office of the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City,
OK, 73104 on and after November 1, 2016.
CONTACT PERSON:

David B. Harting, Associate General Counsel, Oklahoma
State Regents for Higher Education, (405) 225-9289.

[OAR Docket #16-757; filed 10-4-16]

TITLE 610. STATE REGENTS FOR HIGHER
EDUCATION

CHAPTER 25. STUDENT FINANCIAL AID
AND SCHOLARSHIPS

[OAR Docket #16-758]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
Notice of proposed PERMANENT rulemaking

PROPOSED RULES:
Subchapter 1. Academic Scholars Program
610:25-1-3. General principles for operation of program

[AMENDED]

610:25-1-4. Eligibility Requirements and Term of
Scholarship Award [AMENDED]

SUMMARY:
The proposed rule changes address the following issues:
ACT Test Scores: In recent years, ACT has expanded

its options for taking the ACT test beyond the traditional six
national Saturday testing dates each year. Other official ACT
testing options now include school-level testing administered
at a school site during the school day, statewide ACT tests
(not used in Oklahoma to date), and international tests. The
proposed change would recognize these additional methods for
students to obtain ACT scores considered official and valid by
ACT. The language specifically excludes "residual" ACT tests
administered by an individual college because ACT does not
allow residual test scores to be used beyond the campus that
administers the test. The language also requires that SAT test
scores be considered in a manner comparable to the ACT test
scores.

Institutional Nominee Transfers from Two-Year Colleges:
The proposed revision would allow Institutional Nominee
students attending a two-year college to transfer to a four-year
college once they have completed an associate's degree or
accumulated at least 48 credit hours. Current policy requires
the student to earn at least 48 hours at a two-year college
during their first two years of college before transferring.
The proposed change addresses those students that enter
college with significant college credit already earned through
concurrent enrollment or Advanced Placement (AP) credit.
Per current policy, the student would still be required to attend
at least one full year at the two-year college that initially
nominated the student. The proposed change would also be
consistent with the existing policy for four-year universities
that requires the Institutional Nominee to attend at least one
year at the nominating four-year university before transferring
to another institution.
AUTHORITY:

70 O.S. §2401 et seq.; 70 O.S. §3206 (i); Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education
COMMENT PERIOD:

Interested persons may submit written and oral comments to
David B. Harting, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma State
Regents for Higher Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite
200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104, by 5:00 p.m., December 1,
2016.
PUBLIC HEARING:

A public hearing has not been scheduled; however, one can
be requested by contacting David B. Harting, Assistant General
Counsel, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, 655
Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104 by
5:00 p.m., December 1, 2016.
REQUESTS FOR COMMENTS FROM BUSINESS
ENTITIES:

N/A
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COPIES OF PROPOSED RULES:
Copies of proposed rules may be obtained at the Office of

the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education,
655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City, OK, 73104.
RULE IMPACT STATEMENT:

Copies of the rule impact statement may be obtained at the
Office of the Chancellor, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher
Education, 655 Research Parkway, Suite 200, Oklahoma City,
OK, 73104 on and after November 1, 2016.

CONTACT PERSON:
David B. Harting, Assistant General Counsel, Oklahoma

State Regents for Higher Education, (405) 225-9289.

[OAR Docket #16-758; filed 10-4-16]
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Emergency Adoptions
"If an agency finds that a rule is necessary as an emergency measure, the rule may be promulgated" if the Governor approves

the rules after determining "that the rule is necessary as an emergency measure to do any of the following:
a. protect public health, safety or welfare,
b. comply with deadlines in amendments to an agency’s governing law or federal programs,
c. avoid violation of federal law or regulation or other state law,
d. avoid imminent reduction to the agency’s budget, or
e. avoid serious prejudice to the public interest." [75 O.S., Section 253(A)]

An emergency rule is considered promulgated immediately upon approval by the Governor, and effective immediately upon
the Governor’s approval or a later date specified by the agency in the emergency rule document. An emergency rule expires on
September 15 following the next regular legislative session after its promulgation, or on an earlier date specified by the agency, if not
already superseded by a permanent rule or terminated through legislative action as described in 75 O.S., Section 253(H)(2).

Emergency rules are not published in the Oklahoma Administrative Code; however, a source note entry, which cites to
the Register publication of the emergency action, is added to the Code upon promulgation of a superseding permanent rule or
expiration/termination of the emergency action.

For additional information on the emergency rulemaking process, see 75 O.S., Section 253.

TITLE 165. CORPORATION COMMISSION
CHAPTER 5. RULES OF PRACTICE

[OAR Docket #16-760]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption

RULES:
Subchapter 21. Procedure for the Petroleum Storage Tank Docket
165:5-21-3.1. Applications to Close a Storage Tank in Place [NEW]

AUTHORITY:
Corporation Commission; Okla. Const. art. IX § 18, 17 O.S. §§ 301, 306

(12), 307 (A), 322 (4) et seq., 75 O.S. §§ 250 et, seq., and OAPA.
COMMENT PERIOD:

July 12, 2016 through August 19, 2016
PUBLIC HEARING:

July 28, 2016 and September 1, 2016
ADOPTION:

September 1, 2016
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:

September 30, 2016
EFFECTIVE:

Immediately upon Governor's approval.
EXPIRATION:

Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or
disapproved by the Legislature.
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

n/a
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:

n/a
FINDING OF EMERGENCY:

On September 1, 2016 the Commission en banc acknowledged the need
to remedy a rule conflict immediate to the benefit of tank owners seeking a
variance. Variances vary from year to year and may number as many as forty
(40) in a given year.
ANALYSIS:

The emergency rule is necessary because the Agency promulgated an
administrative process for the regulated community that replaced the former
rule that required formal hearing before an administrative law judge ("ALJ").
Unfortunately, the existing rule allowing a variance requiring formal hearing
was not changed to allow for the administrative process. The end result is the
Agency had a rule providing for an informal administrative review without
hearing, but the root rule requiring formal hearing before an ALJ was still
effective, thus causing a conflict with the rule amendment. At this point, the
regulated community cannot avail themselves of the informal administrative
process but must spend the time, effort and money to present their case to an
ALJ.
CONTACT PERSON:

Jeffrey P. Southwick, Deputy General Counsel, Oklahoma Corporation
Commission, 2101 North Lincoln Boulevard, PO Box 52000, Oklahoma City,
OK 73105, telephone (405) 522-4457, j.southwick@occemail.com.

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED AND EFFECTIVE
UPON APPROVAL BY THE GOVERNOR AS SET
FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION 253(F):

SUBCHAPTER 21. PROCEDURE FOR THE
PETROLEUM STORAGE TANK DOCKET

165:5-21-3.1. Applications to close a storage tank in
place

(a) Administrative review. For an application for a vari-
ance to close a storage tank in place, the Petroleum Storage
Tank Division shall review the application administratively
without the necessity of a hearing and it shall report its find-
ings to the Commissioners to determine whether the variance
and/or other relief, if any, should be granted.
(b) Remedies after denial or modification. If the Petro-
leum Storage Tank Division denies the relief requested by the
application, or the Petroleum Storage Tank Division cannot
agree to a modification, the applicant may withdraw its ap-
plication or file a notice of hearing before an Administrative
Law Judge and present their application for a recommendation
on the merits of the variance sought. If the application for the
variance is denied by the Administrative Law Judge, the Ap-
plicant may file exceptions as more fully defined under OAC
165:5-13-5.

[OAR Docket #16-760; filed 10-6-17]

TITLE 317. OKLAHOMA HEALTH CARE
AUTHORITY

CHAPTER 30. MEDICAL PROVIDERS-FEE
FOR SERVICE

[OAR Docket #16-754]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption
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RULES:
Subchapter 5. Individual Providers and Specialties
Part 21. Outpatient Behavioral Health Agency Services
317:30-5-241.1. [AMENDED]
(Reference APA WF # 16-09)

AUTHORITY:
The Oklahoma Health Care Authority Board; The Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Act, Section 5003 through 5016 of Title 63 of Oklahoma Statutes;
Article 10, Section 23 of the Oklahoma Constitution
ADOPTION:

August 11, 2016
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:

September 22, 2016
EFFECTIVE:

Immediately upon Governor's approval or September 1, 2016, whichever is
later.
EXPIRATION:

Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or
disapproved by the Legislature
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

N/A
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:

N/A
FINDING OF EMERGENCY:

The Agency finds that a compelling public interest exists and finds that an
imminent peril exists to the preservation of the public health, safety, or welfare
which necessitates promulgation of emergency rules and requests emergency
approval of rule revisions to file a balanced budget.
ANALYSIS:

Proposed outpatient behavioral health agency policy changes will reduce
the number of SoonerCare compensable service plan updates to two in one
year. Outpatient behavioral health agencies will now be reimbursed for one
initial comprehensive treatment plan and one update thereto bi-annually.
These changes were previously made in emergency rules approved by the
OHCA Board on April 28, 2016 in rules identified by APA WF# 16-06. Rules
are now being brought forward for consideration as an emergency rule since
the same section of policy was amended by APA WF# 15-30, during the 2016
permanent rulemaking legislative session, and will supersede the emergency
rules subsequently approved on April 28, 2016.
CONTACT PERSON:

Tywanda Cox at (405) 522-7153

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED UPON APPROVAL BY
THE GOVERNOR AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION
253(F), AND EFFECTIVE UPON APPROVAL BY THE
GOVERNOR OR SEPTEMBER 1, 2016, WHICHEVER
IS LATER:

SUBCHAPTER 5. INDIVIDUAL PROVIDERS
AND SPECIALTIES

PART 21. OUTPATIENT BEHAVIORAL HEALTH
AGENCY SERVICES

317:30-5-241.1. Screening, assessment and service plan
All providers must comply with the requirements as set

forth in this Section.
(1) Screening.

(A) Definition. Screening is for the purpose of de-
termining whether the member meets basic medical
necessity and need for further BH assessment and
possible treatment services.

(B) Qualified professional. Screenings can be
performed by any credentialed staff members as listed
under OAC 317:30-5-240.3.
(C) Target population and limitations. Screen-
ing is compensable on behalf of a member who is
seeking services for the first time from the contracted
agency. This service is not compensable if the mem-
ber has previously received or is currently receiving
services from the agency, unless there has been a
gap in service of more than six months. To qualify
for reimbursement, the screening tools used must
be evidence based or otherwise approved by OHCA
and ODMHSAS and appropriate for the age and/or
developmental stage of the member.

(2) Assessment.
(A) Definition. Gathering and assessment of his-
torical and current bio-psycho-social information
which includes face-to-face contact with the person
and/or the person's family or other informants, or
group of persons resulting in a written summary re-
port, diagnosis and recommendations. All agencies
must assess the medical necessity of each individual
to determine the appropriate level of care.
(B) Qualified practitioners. This service is per-
formed by an LBHP or Licensure Candidate.
(C) Target population and limitations. The Be-
havioral Health Assessment by a Non-Physician,
moderate complexity, is compensable on behalf of
a member who is seeking services for the first time
from the contracted agency. This service is not com-
pensable if the member has previously received or
is currently receiving services from the agency, un-
less there has been a gap in service of more than six
months and it has been more than one year since the
previous assessment.
(D) Documentation requirements. The assess-
ment must include all elements and tools required by
the OHCA. In the case of children under the age of
18, it is performed with the direct, active face-to-face
participation of the parent or guardian. The child's
level of participation is based on age, developmental
and clinical appropriateness. The assessment must
include at least one DSM diagnosis from the most re-
cent DSM edition. The information in the assessment
must contain but is not limited to the following:

(i) Behavioral, including substance use,
abuse, and dependence;
(ii) Emotional, including issues related to past
or current trauma;
(iii) Physical;
(iv) Social and recreational;
(v) Vocational;
(vi) Date of the assessment sessions as well as
start and stop times;
(vii) Signature of parent or guardian participat-
ing in face-to-face assessment. Signature required
for members over the age of 14; and
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(viii) Signature and credentials of the practi-
tioner who performed the face-to-face behavioral
assessment

(3) Behavioral Health Services Plan Development.
(A) Definition. The Behavioral Health Service
Plan is developed based on information obtained in
the assessment and includes the evaluation of all perti-
nent information by the practitioners and the member.
It includes a discharge plan. It is a process whereby
an individualized plan is developed that addresses the
member's strengths, functional assets, weaknesses or
liabilities, treatment goals, objectives and method-
ologies that are specific and time limited, and defines
the services to be performed by the practitioners and
others who comprise the treatment team. Behavioral
Health Service Plan Development is performed with
the direct active participation of the member and a
member support person or advocate if requested by
the member. In the case of children under the age of
18, it is performed with the participation of the parent
or guardian and the child as age and developmentally
appropriate, and must address school and educational
concerns and assisting the family in caring for the
child in the least restrictive level of care. For adults,
it is focused on recovery and achieving maximum
community interaction and involvement including
goals for employment, independent living, volunteer
work, or training. A Service Plan Development, Low
Complexity is required every 6 months and must in-
clude an update to the bio-psychosocial assessment
and re-evaluation of diagnosis.
(B) Qualified practitioners. This service is per-
formed by an LBHP or Licensure Candidate.
(C) Time requirements. Service Plan updates
must be conducted face-to-face and are required
every six months during active treatment. Updates
can be conducted whenever it is clinically needed as
determined by the qualified practitioner and member,
but are only compensable twice in one year.
(D) Documentation requirements. Comprehen-
sive and integrated service plan content must address
the following:

(i) member strengths, needs, abilities, and
preferences(SNAP);
(ii) identified presenting challenges, problems,
needs and diagnosis;
(iii) specific goals for the member;
(iv) objectives that are specific, attainable, real-
istic, and time-limited;
(v) each type of service and estimated fre-
quency to be received;
(vi) the practitioner(s) name and credentials
that will be providing and responsible for each
service;
(vii) any needed referrals for service;
(viii) specific discharge criteria;

(ix) description of the member's involvement
in, and responses to, the service plan, and his/her
signature and date;
(x) service plans are not valid until all sig-
natures are present (signatures are required from
the member, if 14 or over), the parent/guardian (if
younger than 18 or otherwise applicable), and the
primary LBHP or Licensure Candidate; and
(xi) all changes in service plan must be docu-
mented in a service plan update (low complexity)
or within the service plan until time for the update
(low complexity). Any changes to the existing ser-
vice plan must be signed and dated by the member
(if 14 or over), the parent/guardian (if younger than
18 or otherwise applicable), and the lead LBHP or
Licensure Candidate.
(xii) Updates to goals, objectives, service
provider, services, and service frequency, must
be documented within the service plan until the six
month review/update is due.
(xiii) Service plan updates must address the fol-
lowing:

(I) update to the bio-psychosocial assess-
ment, re-evaluation of diagnosis service plan
goals and/ or objectives;
(II) progress, or lack of, on previous ser-
vice plan goals and/or objectives;
(III) a statement documenting a review of
the current service plan and an explanation if no
changes are to be made to the service plan;
(IV) change in goals and/or objectives (in-
cluding target dates) based upon member's
progress or identification of new need, chal-
lenges and problems;
(V) change in frequency and/or type of ser-
vices provided;
(VI) change in practitioner(s) who will be
responsible for providing services on the plan;
(VII) change in discharge criteria;
(VIII) description of the member's involve-
ment in, and responses to, the service plan, and
his/her signature and date; and
(IX) service plans are not valid until all sig-
natures are present. The required signatures
are: from the member (if 14 or over), the par-
ent/guardian (if younger than 18 or otherwise
applicable), and the primary LBHP or Licen-
sure Candidate.

(E) Service limitations:
(i) Behavioral Health Service Plan Develop-
ment, Moderate complexity (i.e., pre-admission
procedure code group) are limited to 1 per mem-
ber, per provider, unless more than a year has
passed between services, then another one can be
requested and may be authorized by OHCA or its
designated agent.
(ii) Behavioral Health Service Plan Develop-
ment, Low Complexity: Service Plan updates are
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required every six months during active treatment.
Updates can be conducted whenever needed as
determined by the provider and member, but are
only reimbursable twice in one year. The date of
service is when the service plan is complete and
the date the last required signature is obtained.
Services should always be age, developmentally,
and clinically appropriate.

(4) Assessment/Evaluation testing.
(A) Definition. Assessment/Evaluation testing is
provided by a clinician utilizing tests selected from
currently accepted assessment test batteries. Test
results must be reflected in the Service Plan. The
medical record must clearly document the need for
the testing and what the testing is expected to achieve.
(B) Qualified practitioners. Assessment/Eval-
uation testing will be provided by a psychologist,
certified psychometrist, psychological technician of
a psychologist, an LBHP or Licensure Candidate.
For assessments conducted in a school setting, the
Oklahoma State Department of Education requires
that a licensed supervisor sign the assessment. Each
qualified professional must have a current contract
with the Oklahoma Health Care Authority.
(C) Documentation requirements. All psycho-
logical services must be reflected by documentation
in the member's record. All assessment, testing, and
treatment services/units billed must include the fol-
lowing:

(i) date;
(ii) start and stop time for each session/unit
billed and physical location where service was
provided;
(iii) signature of the provider;
(iv) credentials of provider;
(v) specific problem(s), goals and/or objec-
tives addressed;
(vi) methods used to address problem(s), goals
and objectives;
(vii) progress made toward goals and objectives;
(viii) patient response to the session or interven-
tion; and
(ix) any new problem(s), goals and/or objec-
tives identified during the session.

(D) Service Limitations. Testing for a child
younger than three must be medically necessary and
meet established Child (0-36 months of Age) cri-
teria as set forth in the Behavioral Health Provider
Manual. Evaluation and testing is clinically appro-
priate and allowable when an accurate diagnosis and
determination of treatment needs is needed. Eight
hours/units of testing per patient over the age of three,
per provider is allowed every 12 months. There may
be instances when further testing is appropriate based
on established medical necessity criteria found in the
Behavioral Health Provider Manual. Justification for
additional testing beyond allowed amount as spec-
ified in this section must be clearly explained and

documented in the medical record. Testing units must
be billed on the date the actual testing, interpretation,
scoring, and reporting are performed. A maximum of
12 hours of therapy and testing, per day per rendering
provider are allowed. A child who is being treated in
an acute inpatient setting can receive separate psy-
chological services by a physician or psychologist as
the inpatient per diem is for "non-physician" services
only. A child receiving Residential level treatment
in either a therapeutic foster care home, or group
home may not receive additional individual, group
or family counseling or psychological testing unless
allowed by the OHCA or its designated agent. Psy-
chologists employed in State and Federal Agencies,
who are not permitted to engage in private practice,
cannot be reimbursed for services as an individually
contracted provider. For assessment conducted in
a school setting the Oklahoma State Department of
Education requires that a licensed supervisor sign the
assessment. Individuals who qualify for Part B of
Medicare: Payment is made utilizing the SoonerCare
allowable for comparable services. Payment is made
to physicians, LBHPs or psychologists with a license
to practice in the state where the services is performed
or to practitioners who have completed education
requirements and are under current board approved
supervision to become licensed.

[OAR Docket #16-754; filed 9-26-16]

TITLE 317. OKLAHOMA HEALTH CARE
AUTHORITY

CHAPTER 30. MEDICAL PROVIDERS-FEE
FOR SERVICE

[OAR Docket #16-753]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption

RULES:
Subchapter 5. Individual Providers and Specialties
Part 3. Hospitals
317:30-5-42.17 [AMENDED]
Part 45. Optometrists
317:30-5-432.1 [AMENDED]
(Reference APA WF # 16-02)

AUTHORITY:
The Oklahoma Health Care Authority Board; The Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Act, Section 5003 through 5016 of Title 63 of Oklahoma Statutes;
42 CFR §440.120
ADOPTION:

August 11, 2016
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:

September 22, 2016
EFFECTIVE:

Immediately upon Governor's approval or September 1, 2016 whichever is
later.
EXPIRATION:

Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or
disapproved by the Legislature
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

N/A
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INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:
N/A

FINDING OF EMERGENCY:
The Agency finds that a compelling public interest exists and finds that an

imminent peril exists to the preservation of the public health, safety, or welfare
which necessitates promulgation of emergency rules. The agency requests
emergency approval of rule revisions to Optometrists policy to allow payment
for refractions and for a fitting fee within a restructured and overall reduced
reimbursement structure that result in budget savings.
ANALYSIS:

These emergency revisions are necessary to facilitate the restructuring of
reimbursement for eyeglasses frames and lenses. In lieu of a single contracted
vendor and the resultant volume discount, a reduced reimbursement rate and
rate structure was negotiated in order to keep the current provider network
for optical supplies. The new rate structure allows SoonerCare contracted
providers of vision services to be reimbursed separately for refraction in an
eye exam, thus necessitating rule revisions. In addition, the new rate structure
allows SoonerCare contracted providers of eyeglasses to be paid a fitting fee,
thus necessitating rule revisions. Previously, reimbursement for refraction was
bundled into the payment for the eye exam and reimbursement for fitting was
bundled into the payment for the eyeglass materials.
CONTACT PERSON:

Tywanda Cox at (405)522-7153

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED UPON APPROVAL BY
THE GOVERNOR AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION
253(F), AND EFFECTIVE UPON APPROVAL BY THE
GOVERNOR OR SEPTEMBER 1, 2016, WHICHEVER
IS LATER:

SUBCHAPTER 5. INDIVIDUAL PROVIDERS
AND SPECIALTIES

PART 3. HOSPITALS

317:30-5-42.17. Non-covered services
In addition to the general program exclusions [OAC

317:30-5-2(a)(2)] the following are excluded from coverage:
(1) Inpatient admission for diagnostic studies that
could be performed on an outpatient basis.
(2) Procedures that result in sterilization which do not
meet the guidelines set forth in this Chapter of rules.
(3) Reversal of sterilization procedures for the pur-
poses of conception are not covered.
(4) Medical services considered experimental or inves-
tigational.
(5) Payment for removal of benign skin lesions for
adults.
(6) Refractions and visualVisual aids.
(7) Charges incurred while the member is in a skilled
nursing or swing bed.
(8) Sleep studies for adults.

PART 45. OPTOMETRISTS

317:30-5-432.1. Corrective lenses and optical supplies
(a) When medically necessary, payment will be made for
lenses, frames, low vision aids and certain tints for children.
Coverage includes lenses and frames to protect children with
monocular vision. Coverage includes two sets of non-high-in-
dex polycarbonate lenses and frames per year. Any high-index
lenses or framesglasses beyond this limit must be prior au-
thorized and determined to be medically necessary. All
non-high-index lenses must be polycarbonate.
(b) Corrective lenses must be based on medical need. Med-
ical need includes a significant change in prescription or
replacement due to normal lens wear.
(c) SoonerCare provides frames when medically neces-
sary. Frames are expected to last at least one year and must
be reusable. If a lens prescription changes, the same frame
must be used if possible. Payment for frames includes the
dispensing fee.
(d) Providers must accept SoonerCare's pay-
mentSoonerCare reimbursement as payment in full for
services rendered, except when authorized by SoonerCare
(e.g., copayments, other cost sharing arrangements authorized
by the State).

(1) Providers must be able to dispense standard eye-
glasses which SoonerCare would fully reimburse with no
cost to the eligible member.
(2) If the member wishes to select eyeglasses with spe-
cial features which exceed the SoonerCare allowable fee,
the member may be billed the excess cost. The provider
must obtain signed consent from the member acknowl-
edging that they are selecting eyeglasses that will not be
covered in full by SoonerCare and that they will be respon-
sible to pay the excess cost. The signed consent must be
included in the member's medical record.

(e) Replacement of or additional lenses and frames are
allowed when medically necessary. The OHCA does not cover
lenses or frames meant as a backup for the initial lenses/frames.
Prior authorization is not required unless the number of glasses
exceeds two per year. The provider must always document in
the patient record the reason for the replacement or additional
eyeglasses. The OHCA or its designated agent will conduct
ongoing monitoring of replacement frequencies to ensure
OHCA policy is followed. Payment adjustments will be made
on claims not meeting these requirements.
(f) A fitting fee will be paid if there is documentation in
the record that the provider or technician took measurements
of the patient's anatomical facial characteristics, recorded lab
specifications and made final adjustment of the spectacles to
the visual axes and anatomical topography. A fitting fee can
only be paid in conjunction with a pair of covered glasses.
(fg) Bifocal lenses for the treatment of accommodative es-
otropia are a covered benefit. Progressive lenses, trifocals,
photochromic lenses and tints for children require prior au-
thorization and must satisfy the medical necessity standard.
Polycarbonate lenses are covered for children when medically
necessary. Payment is limited to two glasses per year. Any
glasses beyond this limit must be prior authorized and deter-
mined to be medically necessary.
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(gh) Progressive lenses, aspheric lenses, tints, coatings and
photochromic lenses for adults are not compensable and may
be billed to the patient.
(hi) Replacement of lenses and frames due to abuse and
neglect by the member is not covered.
(ij) Bandage contact lenses are a covered benefit for adults
and children. Contact lenses for medically necessary treatment
of conditions such as aphakia, keratoconus, following kerato-
plasty, aniseikonia/anisometropia or albinism are a covered
benefit for adults and children. Other contact lenses for chil-
dren require prior authorization and must satisfy the medical
necessity standard.

[OAR Docket #16-753; filed 9-26-16]

TITLE 340. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
SERVICES

CHAPTER 40. CHILD CARE SUBSIDY
PROGRAM

[OAR Docket #16-764]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption

RULES:
Subchapter 1. General Provisions
340:40-1-2 [AMENDED]
Subchapter 3. Initial Application
340:40-3-1 [AMENDED]
Subchapter 7. Eligibility
340:40-7-3 [AMENDED]
340:40-7-5 through 340:40-7-9 [AMENDED]
340:40-7-11 through 340:40-7-12 [AMENDED]
Subchapter 9. Procedures Relating to Case Changes
340:40-9-1 through 340:40-9-2 [AMENDED]
Subchapter 13. Child Care Rates and Provider Issues
340:40-13-3 [AMENDED]
(Reference WF 16-03)

AUTHORITY:
Director of Human Services; Section 162 of Title 56 of the Oklahoma

Statutes; CCDBG Act of 2014, P.L. 113-186; and Title 45 of the Code of
Federal Regulations Parts 98 and 99.
ADOPTION:

September 13, 2016
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:

September 29, 2016
EFFECTIVE:

Immediately upon Governor's approval or October 1, 2016, whichever is
later.
EXPIRATION:

Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or
disapproved by the Legislature.
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

n/a
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:

n/a
FINDING OF EMERGENCY:

Emergency rulemaking approval is requested effective October 1, 2016 to
meet the federal deadline for implementation of the CCDBG Act of 2014, P.L.
113-186.
ANALYSIS:

The proposed revisions to Chapter 40, Subchapter 1 amend the rules to:
(1) add the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act (CCDBG) of 2014
Public Law (P.L.) 113-186 to the legal authority for the Child Care Subsidy
Program; and (2) update terminology.
CONTACT PERSON:

Dena Thayer at 405-521-4326

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED UPON APPROVAL BY
THE GOVERNOR AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION
253(F), AND EFFECTIVE UPON APPROVAL BY THE
GOVERNOR OR OCTOBER 1, 2016, WHICHEVER IS
LATER:

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

340:40-1-2. Legal basebasis and authority
The legal basebasis for the child care subsidy pro-

gramChild Care Subsidy Program is granted under the
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation
Act of 1996 [P. L.Public Law (P.L.) 104-193], Child Care and
Development Block Grant Act of 2014 P.L. 113-186, the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 [P. L. 105-33], and 45 CFR Parts
98 and 99 of Title 45 of the Code of Federal Regulations. The
child care subsidy programChild Care Subsidy Program also
receives funding underper Title XX of the U.S. Social Security
Act as Amended Title XX.

SUBCHAPTER 3. INITIAL APPLICATION

340:40-3-1. Application process
(a) Application process. The application process for subsi-
dized child care benefits begins with a request for benefits and
ends with an eligibility determination. Application approval
is subject to available funding. Subsidized child care benefits
must be synchronized with the client's food benefits or Sooner-
Care (Medicaid) benefits per Oklahoma Administrative Code
(OAC) 340:40-9-1(c)(f). The Child Welfare Services or Adult
and Family Services (AFS) staff process the application.

(1) When an application is required. An application
is required when:

(A) an applicant initially applies for subsidized
child care benefits. Refer to (c)(2) of this Section
when an application is denied;
(B) the client's subsidized child care benefits have
beenare closed for more than 30-calendar days;
(C) the payee for the subsidized child care benefits
changes; or
(D) family income was not considered because
OAC 340:40-7-12(6) policy applied and one or more
of the affected adopted children turns 6 years of age
unless there is already a separate open income eligible
case and the child can be added to that case per OAC
340:40-9-2(c).

(2) Who can apply. An applicant or the applicant's
authorized representative may apply for subsidized child
care benefits. When an authorized representative applies
on behalf of an applicant, he or she must bring a signed
statement from the applicant giving thisthe person permis-
sion to act on behalf of the applicant or the applicant must
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have designated thisthe person as his or her authorized
representative on the signed application.

(A) IfWhen the natural or adoptive parent or step-
parent oflives with the child is in the home, he or she
is considered the applicant and eligibility is based on
that the parent's situation regardless of whether he or
she has custody of the child.
(B) IfWhen both the natural and adoptive parent of
the child are livinglive in the same household and the
adoption has been finalizedis final, the adoptive par-
ent is considered the applicant and eligibility is based
on thatthe adoptive parent's situation.
(C) IfWhen the natural or adoptive parent or step-
parent is not in the home, the person acting in the
role of the parent, referred to as the caretaker, is the
applicant. The caretaker may or may not be related to
the child.
(D) IfWhen the child's parent is a minor, either the
minor parent or the responsible adult the minor is
livinglives with can be considered the applicant for
the subsidized child care benefits. Eligibility is based
on the minor parent's situation.
(E) IfWhen the natural or adoptive parent is liv-
inglives in the home but is too incapacitated to apply,
another person living in the home may apply for the
natural or adoptive parent. The other person must
provide proof of the parent's inability to apply.

(3) Application. An applicant or the applicant's au-
thorized representative completes and signs an application
to apply for subsidized child care benefits. When the
applicant requests child care is needed for a child with
disabilities, the worker, and applicant also completegives
Form 08AD006E, Certification for Special Needs Child
Care Rate for Licensed Child Care Homes and Centers,
to the applicant.
(4) Date of requestRequest date. The request date of
request, known as the application date for other Adult
and Family Services programs, is the date the applicant re-
quests subsidized child care benefits verbally or in writing.
(5) Date of applicationCertification date. The certi-
fication date of application is the date the applicant or the
applicant's authorized representative completes the child
care interview and provides all necessary verification to
the county office, including the name of the child care
provider the client chooses to use.

(A) The provider must have a valid Oklahoma De-
partment of Human Services (OKDHS)DHS child
care provider contract.
(B) Refer to OAC 340:40-5-1(7) for reasons an ap-
plicant cannot choose certain child care providers.
(C) For applicants choosing an in-home provider,
refer to OAC 340:40-13-1 and 340:40-13-2.

(6) Child care interview. Child care interviews are
typicallymay be completed face-to-face or over the
phone with the applicant or authorized representative.
A face-to-face interview is required for protective or
preventive child care requests and strongly recommended
for special needs requests.

(7) Explanation of eligibility factors. At the time
of the initial interview, the worker advisesinforms the
applicant or authorized representative of:

(A) his or her rights and responsibilities;
(B) all factors of eligibility including whichthe re-
quirement that the chosen child care providers are el-
igible to receive subsidy paymentprovider be con-
tracted with DHS;
(C) the child care plan of service and reason child
care may be approved based on the applicant's state-
ments at interview;
(D) the applicant's electronic benefit transfer
(EBT) responsibilities including viewing the client
training video;
(E) the earliest date child care can be approved;
(F) the requirement to cooperate with the
OKDHSDHS Office of Inspector General during
any audit or investigation of the applicant or the
provider the applicant uses for child care; and
(G) the requirement to report any changes in his or
her circumstances within 10-calendar days.

(8) Timeliness. To be considered timely, the worker
must determine eligibility within two workingbusiness
days of receiving all necessary verification to certify or
deny the application.

(A) IfWhen the applicant does not provide re-
quested verification, the worker denies the request
within 30-calendar days of the request date of request.
(B) TheWhen eligibility is not determined within
30-calendar days, the worker sends Form 08MP038E,
Client Notice of Action Taken, explaining the reason
for delay to any applicant whose application is over
30 calendar days old.

(9) Right to appeal. The applicant has the right to ap-
peal the untimely processing of a child care request or the
decision of eligibility or ineligibility per OAC 340:2-5.

(b) ExpeditedPresumptive eligibility processing. The
worker must process an application immediately when re-
quired verification is beyond the applicant's control to provide,
the applicant does not have the money to pay toward the cost
ofmay presumptively approve a maximum of 30-calendar
days of child care, and without child care the applicantprior
to making a complete eligibility determination when a reason
described in (1) of this paragraph applies:.

(1) Reasons include when the applicant:
(1A) is in danger of losing a job; or

(2) cannot start a new job unless child care is immedi-
ately approved. In this circumstance it must be out of the
applicant's control to provide required verification and the
applicant does not have the money to pay toward the cost
of child care.;

(B) is employed but has not received pay from the
job and is not guaranteed a wage because he or she is
self-employed or works on a commission only basis.
Further care is not approved until the applicant pro-
vides proof he or she received earnings from the job;
(C) requests protective or preventive child care per
OAC 340:40-7-8(f); or
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(D) requests good cause for refusal to cooperate in
pursuing child support with Child Support Services
per OAC 340:40-7-9 and has not provided good cause
proof yet. Further care is not approved until the appli-
cant provides good cause proof that supports the good
cause claim.

(2) The worker gives or sends the applicant Form
08AD092E, Client Contact and Information Request,
to inform the applicant what he or she needs to provide
before further care is approved.

(c) Eligibility determination. The worker determines
the applicant's eligibility to receive child care subsidy ben-
efits based on eligibility conditions per OAC 340:40-7.
The applicant must meet a need factor within 30-calendar
days of the request date. TheAfter calculating family in-
come, the worker uses OKDHSDHS Appendix C-4, Child
Care Eligibility/Co-paymentCopayment Chart, to determine
whetherif the household meets income guidelines. Refer to
OAC 340:40-5-1(8) and 340:40-7-10 through 40-7-13 for
information regarding income determination.

(1) Applicant determined eligible. The earliest date
the worker approves subsidized child care benefits is the
date the applicant completes the child care interview and
provides all necessary verification to determine eligibility.
The worker certifies the applicant for a 12-month eligi-
bility period per Section 658E(c)(2)(N)(i) of the Child
Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, Public
Law 113-186. The applicant is responsible for child care
used before the certification date that is not part of the
approved child care plan of service.

(A) The client swipes attendance with his or her
EBT card through a point-of-service (POS) machine
at the child care facility.
(B) OKDHSDHS does not pay for care for any day
the child attends child care if when the client fails to
swipe attendance, unless extenuating circumstances
exist beyond the control of the client or provider.
(C) IfWhen the client fails to swipe attendance, he
or she is responsible for any care provided that day
and may be responsible for any absent day payment
OKDHSDHS pays, ifwhen all of the days the child
attended were recorded.

(2) Applicant determined ineligible. The worker
denies the child care request or application is denied
ifwhen the applicant completes the application process
and is determined ineligible, does not provide needed ver-
ification, or requests cancellation of the applicationfails
to cooperate in determining eligibility.

(A) When the applicant is determined ineligible af-
ter completing the application process and providing
necessary verification, a new application is required
regardless of the original request date.
(B) A newWhen the worker denies the applica-
tion because the applicant did not provide required
verification, including choice of provider, a new
application is not needed when the applicant com-
pletes the application process and provides necessary

verification within 60-calendar days of the original
request date.
(C) When the worker denies the application be-
cause the applicant fails to cooperate in determining
eligibility, a new application is not required when the
applicant cooperates within 30-calendar days of the
original request date.

SUBCHAPTER 7. ELIGIBILITY

340:40-7-3. Age requirements
(a) A child is eligible for subsidized child care benefits
through the day before he or she turns 13 years of age. When
a child turns 13 years of age during an eligibility period, the
child remains eligible until the next renewal.
(b) A child with disabilities may be eligible to receive subsi-
dized child care benefits through the day before he or she turns
19 years of age. When a child with disabilities turns 19 years
of age during an eligibility period, the child remains eligible
until the next renewal.

(1) A child with disabilities is defined at Oklahoma Ad-
ministrative Code (OAC) 340:40-7-3.1.
(2) When a child with disabilities is 13 years of age or
older, the client must provide a statement from a licensed
health care professional verifying that the child is physi-
cally or mentally incapable of self-care as age appropriate
before care is approved and annually at review. If the
licensed health care professional states that the child is ca-
pable of self-care as age appropriate, care is not approved.

(c) A child under court supervision may be eligible to re-
ceive subsidized child care benefits through the day before the
child turns 19 years of age. When a child under court super-
vision turns 19 years of age during an eligibility period, the
child remains eligible until the next renewal. When the child
is 13 years of age or older, the client must provide a copy of the
court order, a statement from the Child Welfare workerchild
welfare specialist, or the Office of Juvenile Affairs (OJA)
worker verifying this before care is approved and annually at
review renewal.

340:40-7-5. Resources, residence, and citizenship
(a) Resources are not considered in determining eligi-
bilityHousehold resources must not exceed $1,000,000 for
subsidized child care per Section 658P(4) of the Child Care
and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, Public Law
113-186. Resources include, but are not limited to; liquid
resources, such as cash; financial institution account balances;
certificates of deposit; stocks; bonds; and real property other
than home property.
(b) A parent or caretaker's statement that he or she lives in
Oklahoma meets the residence requirement for child care.
(c) Only the child for whom child care is requested must
meet the citizenship and alienage requirements.

(1) A child eligible to be included in a child care benefit
must be either a:
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(A) citizen or a national of the United States (U.S.),
including the 50 states, District of Columbia, Com-
monwealth of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, Guam,
American Samoa, and Northern Mariana Islands.
The child may be a citizen of the U.S. by being born
in the U.S. or by being born in some other country but
moving to the U.S. and being granted U.S. citizen-
ship through the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration
Services (USCIS), a bureau of the Department of
Homeland Security; or
(B) qualified alien:

(i) who is lawfully admitted for permanent
residence under the Immigration and Nationality
Act (INA);
(ii) who is paroled into the U.S. underper
Section 212(d)(5) of INA,[8 United States Code
(U.S.C.) 1182], for a period of at least one year;
(iii) who is granted conditional entry pursuant
toper Section 203(a)(7) of INA,[8 U.S.C. 1153], as
in effect prior to April 1, 1980;
(iv) who is granted asylum underper Section
208 of INA;
(v) who is admitted to the U.S. as a refugee un-
derper Section 207 of INA, [8 U.S.C. 1157];
(vi) whose deportation is withheld underper
Section 241(b)(3) of INA;
(vii) who is a Cuban or Haitian entrant as de-
fined inper Section 501(e) of the Refugee Educa-
tion Assistance Act of 1980;
(viii) who was battered or whose parent or care-
taker was battered as defined inper Section 431(c)
of the Personal Responsibility and Work Op-
portunity Reconciliation Act as amended per[8
U.S.C.1641(c)]; or
(ix) who was a victim or whose parent or care-
taker was a victim of a severe form of trafficking
pursuant toper Section 107(b) of the Trafficking
Victims Protection Act of 2000 whichthat was
reauthorized and amended by theper Trafficking
Victim's Protection Reauthorization Act of 2003.

(2) A declaration of citizenship and alien status is re-
quired for all children included in the child care benefit.
This requirement is met when an adult member of the
household completes and signs the application or review
formrenewal attesting to the citizenship and alien status
for all children included in the benefit. Refer to Oklahoma
Administrative Code (OAC) 340:65-3-1(g) for additional
citizenship requirements for persons 14 years of age and
older pursuant toper Section 71 of Title 56 and Section 20j
of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes.
(3) A child who is an alien determined to have satis-
factoryThe worker must verify the alien status must have
the status verifiedof an alien child through the United
States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS)
Systematic Alien Verification for Entitlements (SAVE).
In situations which require aWhen SAVE indicates that
written inquirythe child's alien status documents must be
submitted to the USCIS, the worker must not delay, deny,

terminateclose, or reduce benefits to an alien pending
USCIS verification of submitted documentation.

340:40-7-6. Household composition and income
consideration

(a) Definition of household composition terms. The
worker determines household composition for income consid-
erations using the definition of terms listed in (1) through (9) of
this subsection.

(1) An adult is an emancipated minor or person 18
years of age or older. A child who is also a parent is con-
sidered an adult.
(2) A spouse is a person married by ceremony or
common-law to another person. They can be livingmay
live together or separately. IfWhen they are livinglive
separately, they are not considered part of the household
ifunless the separation is temporary with no intention
of severing the marital relationship or the separation is
involuntary.
(3) A stepparent is a person who is or was a spouse or
has been a spouse to the child's parent.
(4) A caretaker is an adult the child is living with who
is actingwho lives with and acts in the role of a parent to
the child applying for or receiving subsidized child care
benefits.

(A) This personThe caretaker may or may not be:
(i) related to the child by blood, adoption, or
marriage;andor
(ii) may or may not be legally and financially
responsible for the child.

(B) The caretaker must pursue child support from
the natural or adoptive parent per Oklahoma Admin-
istrative Code (OAC) 340:40-7-9.

(5) An adult non-relative is defined as any person over
18 years of age or an emancipated minor who is not related
to the parent or caretaker by blood, adoption, or marriage.
(6) The term legally and financially responsible adult
is defined as a parent or stepparent of the child who needs
child care. The term also includes other caretaker adults
who are court-ordered to be legally and financially respon-
sible for the child.
(7) A child is any unmarried, unemancipated,
non-parental person under 18 years of age.
(8) A child who has married or voluntarily left the
parental home for any reason and established independent
living arrangements, other than being away from home
for school or health reasons, is considered emancipated
and treated as an adult. Once a child is emancipated, the
emancipation is permanent.
(9) A sibling is a minor child who has at least one par-
ent in common with another child in the same household.
ThisThe definition of a sibling also includes a step-brother
or step-sister.

(b) Household composition and income consideration.
To establish a child's eligibility for subsidized child care ben-
efits, it is necessary to define who must be considered part of
household composition for income consideration. All persons
whose income is counted in determining the family share
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co-paymentcopayment are included to determine whether
to use a family size of five members or less or for six or
more members on OKDHSOklahoma Department of Human
Services (DHS) Appendix C-4, Child Care Eligibility/Co-pay-
mentCopayment Chart. Persons whose income must be
considered in determining eligibility are:

(1) the natural, adoptive, or stepparent of the child
living in the home who needs child care;
(2) the caretaker(s) of the minor child needing child
care if thatwhen the caretaker is legally and financially
responsible for the child;
(3) the child needing child care and his or her siblings
under 18 years of age living in the home;
(4) anyan adult non-relative opposite sex individual
(ANROSI) who is livinglives in the home with the natural
or adoptive parent provided, however, the income of the
non-relative adult of the opposite sex may be excluded if
the parent and the adult non-relative have separate living
quarters and demonstrate no characteristics of a cou-
pleand acts in the role of a spouse. An adult non-relative
is considered to be acting in the role of a spouse when
the person lives with the parent or caretaker and they
represent themselves as a couple and/or have a physical
relationship with each other; and
(5) anya child of the ANROSI who is livingan adult
non-relative acting in the role of a spouse when the child
lives in the home with the natural or adoptive parent.

(c) Periods ofTemporary absence of a household mem-
ber.

(1) When a household member is out of the home due
to a temporary absence, he or she is considered a house-
hold member as long as he or she plans to return to the
home. Any parent or caretaker(s) who remains in the
home must meet a need factor per OAC 340:40- 7-8. Ex-
amples of temporary absence include, but are not limited
to:

(A) hospitalization for physical or mental health
reasons;
(B) incarceration;
(C) attending school;
(D) military service;
(E) working or training away from home;
(F) looking for a job away from home. Refer to
OAC 340:40-7-8(a)(6); and
(G) vacation time for a child. When a child goes to
stay with:

(i) someone other than a natural or adoptive
parent for a vacation, household composition,
income, and need is based on the usual home situa-
tion. The person the child is staying with must also
meet the need factor for child care; or
(ii) a non-custodial natural or adoptive parent,
that parent must apply for subsidized child care
benefits for that time frame based on his or her own
household's eligibility.

(2) IfWhen a child lives with each parent for part of the
month, refer to (d) of this Section.

(3) IfWhen a child lives with a parent for part of the
month and a caretaker for the rest of the month, the child's
eligibility is based on the parent meeting the eligibility
factors per OAC 340:40-7. The caretaker must also meet a
need factor per OAC 340:40-7-7 during the time he or she
has physical custody of the child.

(d) Joint or shared custody. When parents separate or
divorce and sharehave joint or shared custody of their child
and one or both need child care, either voluntarily or through a
court order, the worker considers each parent's eligibilityparent
applies separately as well as his or her incomefor subsidized
child care benefits.

(1) Joint or shared custody may be voluntary or court-
ordered.
(2) The worker determines each parent's eligibility sep-
arately. This includes a separate income and need for child
care determination.
(3) IfWhen only one parent qualifies for subsidized
child care benefits, the worker only approves child care
for the days and hours of care needed while that parent
meets a need factor for child care and has physical custody
of the child are approved.
(4) IfWhen both parents qualify for subsidized child
care benefits, the worker approves each parent is approved
only for the days and hours that parent meets a need factor
for child care and has physical custody and meets a need
factorof the child.

340:40-7-7. Establishing the need factor for child care
(a) Establishing the need factor. In order for children to
be cared for in a safe environment while the parent or caretaker
participates in an approved activity or for protective or preven-
tive reasons, the Oklahoma Department of Human Services
(DHS) provides subsidized child care benefits.

(1) The worker arranges to obtain from the client or col-
lateral sources, documentation of the need factor.
(2) The worker and client negotiate the amount of travel
time allowed for an activity based on what is a reasonable
length of time.
(3) The worker does not approve child care for the
hours the child attends school or Head Start.

(b) Need factor for single parent or caretaker families.
The need for subsidized child care is met when the:

(1) parent or caretaker is employed per Oklahoma
Administrative Code (OAC) 340:40-7-8(a);
(2) parent or caretaker needs sleep time during the day
after working night hours when a feasible alternative is
used at no cost to DHS during the night working hours per
OAC 340:40-7-8(a)(5);
(3) parent or caretaker is actively searching for a job
per OAC 340:40-7-8(a)(6);
(4) parent or caretaker attends a training or formal
education program designed to lead to employment per
OAC 340:40-7-8(b) and (c);
(54) parent or caretaker attends high school, General
Educational Development (GED) high school equiva-
lency classes, literacy, adult basic education (ABE), or
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English as a Second Language (ESL) classes per OAC
340:40-7-8(c);
(5) parent or caretaker participates in Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Education and
Training (E&T) activities per OAC 340:40-7-8(d);
(6) parent or caretaker participates in an approved Tem-
porary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Work activ-
ity per OAC 340:10-2-1;
(7) child needs care or supervision for part of the
day as a protective or preventive service per OAC
340:40-7-8(e)(f); or
(8) child receives Supplemental Security Income
(SSI) and needs care for enrichment purposes per OAC
340:40-7-8(f)(g).

(c) Need factor for two-parent or two-caretaker families.
Two-parent or two-caretaker families include two natural
or adoptive parents, the natural parent and a stepparent, two
grandparents, other relative married couples, or other non-rela-
tive married couples. When an unmarried couple applies, only
the natural or adoptive parent must meet a need factor. The
need for subsidized child care is met when:

(1) both parents or caretakers work during the same
hours they request child care per OAC 340:40-7-8(a);
(2) one or both parents or caretakers need sleep time
during the day after working night hours when a feasible
alternative is used at no cost to DHS during the night work-
ing hours per OAC 340:40-7-8(a)(5). When both parents
do not work night hours, one parent must work during the
other parent's sleep time hours;
(3) one or both parents are searching for a job per OAC
340:40-7-8(a)(6). When one parent or caretaker searches
for a job, the other parent or caretaker must work or attend
a training or formal education program during the same
hours;
(4) one parent or caretaker attends a formal education
or training program during the same hours the other parent
or caretaker works per OAC 340:40-7-8(a) through (c);
(54) both parents or caretakers attend high school per
OAC 340:40-7-8(c);
(65) one parent or caretaker attends high school during
the same hours the other parent or caretaker works or
attends a formal education or post high school training
program per OAC 340:40-7-8(a) through (c);
(76) one parent or caretaker attends GEDhigh school
equivalency classes, literacy, ABE, or ESL classes during
the same hours the other parent or caretaker works per
OAC 340:40-7-8(a) through (c);
(7) one or both parents or caretakers participates in
SNAP E&T activities per OAC 340:40-7-8(d);
(8) one or both parents or caretakers participate in ap-
proved TANF Work activities per OAC 340:10-2-1. When
one parent or caretaker is not participating in TANF Work
activities, that parent must meet a need factor per OAC
340:40-7-8 during the same hours;
(9) the child needs care or supervision for part of
the day as a protective or preventive service per OAC
340:40-7-8(e)(f);

(10) the child receives SSI and needs care for enrichment
purposes per OAC 340:40-7-8(f)(g); or
(11) one parent or caretaker is incarcerated and the other
parent remains in the home. In this instance, the parent re-
maining in the home is treated as a single parent.

(d) Need factor in joint custody cases. When parents are
separated or divorced and share custody of their child, volun-
tarily or through a court order, each parent's income and need
for child care is considered separately.
(e) Need factor for a child attending an Early Head
Start-Child Care (EHS-CC) Partnership grant program.
A child attending an EHS-CC Partnership grant program may
be approved for a weekly unit type when the parent or caretaker
qualifies for Child Care Subsidy and meets a need factor per
(b) or (c) of this Section for some of the EHS-CC Partnership
grant program care hours.
(f) Activities that do not meet the need factor for child
care. The need factor for child care is not met and child care
must not be approved for:

(1) job search for parents or caretakers not:
(A) participating in TANF Work activities per OAC
340:10-2-1; or
(B) meeting the job search employment need factor
per OAC 340:40-7-8(a)(6);

(2) online Internet based or televised education or
training courses when an instructor is not conducting a
live broadcast and attendance is not required while the
program is being broadcast per OAC 340:40-7-8(b) and
(c);
(3) undergraduate classes or other training not ex-
pected to lead to a degree or certificate of completion per
OAC 340:40-7-8(b) and (c);
(4) post graduate education, such as master's and doc-
toral programs;
(5) two-parent or two caretaker families when both
attend a formal education or training program during the
same days and hours;
(6) transportation only;
(7) court-ordered community service hours, volunteer
hours, or jury duty;
(8) hours a school age child could attend a public or
private school, but the parent or caretaker chooses to home
school the child at night; and
(9) children in Child Welfare Services (CWS) foster
care, when one or both foster parents do not meet child
care eligibility rules per OAC 340:75-7-65.

340:40-7-8. Defining the need factor for child care
benefits

(a) Employment. Employment means the parent or care-
taker earns wages for work performed or meets criteria per (5)
or (6) of this subsection.

(1) The client must provide proof of his or her work
hours. When the client has the flexibility to set his or her
own work hours, the client and worker jointly determine if
the client can reduce the number of hours the child needs
care by rearranging the client's work schedule. This is
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especially important in two-parent or two-caretaker fami-
lies.
(2) The worker limits approval of child care to the num-
ber of days and hours the client is working plus reasonable
travel time. In two-parent or two-caretaker working fami-
lies, the worker limits approval to the days and hours they
work the same hours plus reasonable travel time.
(3) The client must make at least minimum wage for
the number of hours he or she works to meet the em-
ployment need factor unless the client qualifies for an
exception per (D) or (E) of this paragraph. Criteria for
determining minimum wage is specified in (A) through
(C) of this paragraph.

(A) Minimum wage is determined by the federal
government.
(B) The worker reviews the pay information pro-
vided by the client to determine whether the client
makes at least minimum wage.

(i) When the paycheck or employer statement
shows the hourly pay rate, the worker compares it
to the federal minimum wage.
(ii) When the pay information provided does
not show the client's hourly pay rate, the worker
divides the number of hours the client works by the
gross pay per pay period to determine the client's
hourly pay rate.
(iii) When the client is considered self-em-
ployed per Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC)
340:40-7-11(b)(2)(A), the worker divides the
number of hours the client works by the net pay,
after applicable business expenses, to determine
the client's hourly pay rate. When the client and
spouse are self-employed in the same business, the
worker combines their work hours and divides the
work hours by the net pay to determine their hourly
pay rate.

(C) When the client works for an employer paying
a set wage less than minimum wage, and the employer
refuses to begin paying at least minimum wage, the
worker denies or closes child care benefits or, when at
renewal, does not approve further care.
(D) When the client is self-employed or works for
an employer paying wages based on commission or
other performance measures instead of a set wage,
has received earnings and does not make at least
minimum wage, and the client has been performing
this work:

(i) less than one year, the worker counsels
with the client to develop a plan for increasingto
increase his or her income within three-to-six
monthsto at least minimum wage before the re-
newal is due. When the client does not cooperate
in developing a plan or does not agree to imple-
ment the developed plan, the worker closes or
denies the child care benefitis not making at least
minimum wage at renewal, further care is not
approved.

(I) When the client's income increases to
at least minimum wage during this time period,
no further monitoring is needed until the next
renewal.
(II) When after three-to-six months the
client's income increases, but is less than mini-
mum wage, the worker evaluates the likelihood
of the client making at least minimum wage
before approving more care. Factors to con-
sider include how closely the client followed
the plan, how much the hourly rate increased,
and whether plan modifications could help
the client increase earnings. The worker may
approve an additional three-to-six months of
care when appropriate.
(III) When it is not reasonable to presume
the client's income will increase to at least
minimum wage within three-to-six months, the
worker closes the child care benefit; or

(ii) at least one year without any substantial
change, the worker denies or closes the child care
subsidy benefit.

(E) When the client is an adoptive parent who
meets criteria per OAC 340:40-7-12(6) or a caretaker
not legally and financially responsible for the child
per OAC 340:40-7-6(a)(6), he or she is not required to
make at least minimum wage for the number of hours
worked.

(4) A personclient employed and working from his or
her own home may be approved for subsidized child care
benefits in an out-of-home child care home or center when
he or she is unable to work while the child is in the home.
When the person has flexible work hours and can work
while the child is in school, care is not approved. When
the person operates a licensed child care home, care is
only approved in another licensed child care home or
center when the client's own child places him or her over
maximum licensed capacity;
(5) Subsidized child care benefits may be approved for
sleep time during the day when a parent or caretaker works
night hours and a feasible alternative is used at no cost
to the Oklahoma Department of Human Services (DHS)
during the night working hours. Night working hours are
defined as the hours between 11:00 p.m. and 7:00 a.m.

(A) The maximum amount of time the worker ap-
proves child care allows the client eight hours of sleep
plus travel time to and from the child care provider.
(B) In two-parent or two-caretaker families care
may only be approved for this reason when both par-
ents have night time jobs or when one parent has a
night time job and the other parent or caretaker works
during the day while the other parent is sleeping.

(6) Job search meets the definition of employment
when the client received subsidized child care benefits for
at least 30 calendar days, loses employment or success-
fully completes a formal education or training program,
and requests child care to look for a job.
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(A) Child care may be approved for a maximum of
90 calendar days from the date the client loses em-
ployment or successfully completes a formal educa-
tion or training program as long as the child continues
to attend the same child care facility.

(i) Job search may be approved no more than
twice per calendar year.
(ii) The client must work or attend school for at
least 90 calendar days between job search approval
periods.

(B) When the client reports a new job and provides
all required verification to prove continued eligibil-
ity within the job search period or 30 calendar days
of the job search closure, a new application is not
needed. When the client does not report a new job
or provide required verification within the job search
period or 30 calendar days of the job search closure,
he or she must complete a new application before be-
ing approved for further child care.

(b) Training. A training program is defined as a course
of study that when completed, qualifies a person to meet re-
quirements for a job the client could not obtain without the
certificate of completion, accreditation, or licensure. Child
care may be approved for one parent or caretaker to attend a
training program. In two-parent or two-caretaker families, the
other parent or caretaker must work during the same hours.

(1) The training program must qualify to receive fed-
eral financial aid from the United States Department of
Education (USDE) or other federal or state education
funds.
(2) Prior to initial approval for child care and at re-
newal, the client must provide proof of enrollment, the
days and hours the client will be attending, and when he or
she is expected to complete the program.
(3) The program must require classroom attendance
on a school campus with an instructor present. Care is
only approved for an online Internet based course or tele-
vised course when it is a live broadcast conducted by an
instructor and attendance is required while the program is
being broadcast. When the program is self-paced and the
client may choose his or her own school hours, care is not
approved.
(4) The client must provide proof of progress when re-
questedat renewal. When the client is not making satisfac-
tory progress, the worker does not approve further child
care for this reason is not approved.
(5) Once the client completes a training program, fur-
ther child care is not approved for training or education.
The client is expected to look for jobs that require his or
her training credentials. The client may be approved for
subsidized child care benefits to job search when he or
she meets requirements at (a)(6) of this Section.
(6) In certain circumstances, the worker may approve
child care benefits for a client to attend a second training
program. The client must have been employed in a job
requiring the training credentials he or she has for at least
12 months. Possible circumstances include when:

(A) the client can no longer perform the job he
or she is trained to do because of physical or men-
tal health reasons. In this instance, the client must
provide a statement from a doctor, mental health pro-
fessional, or a vocational rehabilitation professional
verifying the reason. The professional must also state
that the client is capable of performing the job tasks
after completion of the training program;
(B) there is no longer a demand for the type of
work the personclient is trained to do. The client must
provide a statement from a professional working with
the client to obtain employment stating there is no
demand. The professional must be employed by the
Workforce Oklahoma Center, a Workforce Invest-
ment Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIA)(WIOA)
contracted entity, the Oklahoma Employment Secu-
rity Commission (OESC), or the Oklahoma Depart-
ment of Rehabilitation Services (DRS); or
(C) the client can establish receipt of the additional
training will increase the person'shis or her earning
potential. The client must provide proof the starting
salary for a person with the training credentials the
client wants to obtain is higher than he or she is cur-
rently earning.

(c) Education program. An education program may in-
clude:

(1) High school. Child care may be approved for one
or both parents or caretakers to attend high school. It is not
approved for a parent or caretaker to receive homebound
instruction. Prior to approval the client must provide proof
that he or she is enrolled, the days and hours the client is
attendinghe or she attends, and when he or she is expected
to graduate.
(2) General Educational Development (GED)High
school equivalency, literacy, or adult basic education
(ABE) classes. The program must require classroom
attendance with an instructor present. Child care may be
approved for one parent or caretaker to attend GEDhigh
school equivalency, literacy, or ABE classes. However, in
two-parent or two-caretaker families, the other parent or
caretaker must be employed during the same hours.

(A) The client must provide proof of enrollment,
the days and hours the client is attending, and the
end date of the class prior to care approval. When
the class has open enrollment and no established end
date, the client must provide proof of progress and
how it is measured.
(B) Within the first month of classes, the client
must provide proof of initial testing showing the
client's education or literacy level.
(C) When the class ends, theThe worker reviews
the client's progress at renewal prior to approval
forapproving further child care for this reason. When
the class is open-ended, the worker reviews progress
no later than 12 months from the date care is ap-
proved for this reason. At renewal, the client must
provide a statement from the school that includes:

(i) whether the client attends regularly;
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(ii) whether the client is making satisfactory
progress;
(iii) an estimated end date to complete the pro-
gram; and
(iv) the days and hours the client currently at-
tends classes.

(DC) When the client is not attending regularly or
making satisfactory progress, further child care for
this reason is not approved at renewal.

(3) English as a Second Language (ESL) classes.
The program must require classroom attendance with
an instructor present. Child care may be approved for
one parent or caretaker to attend ESL classes when the
client lacks proficiency in understanding, speaking, read-
ing, or writing the English language. In two-parent or
two-caretaker families, the other parent or caretaker must
be employed during the same hours.

(A) The client must provide proof of enrollment,
the days and hours the client attends, and the end date
of the class prior to care being approved. When the
class has open enrollment and no established end date,
the client must provide proof of how often progress is
measured.
(B) The worker reviews the client's progress when
the class is expected to endat renewal prior to ap-
proval for further care for this reason. When the class
is open-ended, the worker reviews progress no later
than 12 months from the date care is approved for
this reason.TheAt renewal, the client must provide a
statement from the school that includes:

(i) whether the client attends regularly;
(ii) whether the client is making satisfactory
progress;
(iii) an estimated length of time needed to com-
plete the program; and
(iv) the days and hours the client currently at-
tends.

(C) When the client is not attending regularly or
making satisfactory progress at renewal, the worker
does not approve further child care for this reason is
not approved.

(4) Formal education program. A formal education
program is defined as a course of study leading to the
attainment of an associate or bachelor's degree. Child
care may be approved for one parent or caretaker to attend
a formal education program and participate in activities
required to maintain a scholarship. Only required schol-
arship activities for scholarships disbursed through the
school's financial aid office qualify for child care. In
two-parent or two-caretaker families, the other parent or
caretaker must work during the same hours.

(A) The formal education program must qualify
to receive federal financial aid from USDE or other
federal or state education funds.
(B) Prior to initial approval for child care and at re-
newal, the client must provide:

(i) proof of enrollment;

(ii) the days and hours the client attends school
or participates in activities required to maintain a
scholarship; and
(iii) when the client expects to complete the de-
gree.

(C) The degree program must require classroom
attendance on the school campus with an instruc-
tor present. Care is only approved for an online
Internet based course or a televised course when it
is a live broadcast conducted by an instructor and
attendance is required while the program is being
broadcast. When the program is self-paced and may
be completed whenever the client chooses, care is not
approved.
(D) The client must provideworker must request
proof of progress when requestedat renewal when
the class schedule does not show the client is pro-
gressing from freshman level classes to sophomore,
junior, and senior level classes. When the client is not
attending regularly or making satisfactory progress
at renewal, the worker does not approve further child
care for this reason is not approved.
(E) Once the client completes a bachelor's degree,
further care is not approved for training or education.
The client is expected to look for jobs that require a
degree. The client may be approved for subsidized
child care benefits to job search when he or she meets
requirements at (a)(6) of this Section.
(F) In certain circumstances, the worker may ap-
prove subsidized child care benefits for a client to
obtain a different bachelor's degree. The client must
first have been employed in a job that required the
degree he or she already has for at least 12 months.
Possible circumstances include when:

(i) the client can no longer perform the job
he or she is trained to do because of physical or
mental health reasons. In this instance, the client
must provide a statement from a doctor, mental
health professional, or a vocational rehabilitation
professional that verifies the reason. The profes-
sional must also state that the client is capable of
performing the job tasks of the degree program in
which the client wants to enroll;
(ii) there is no longer a demand for the type of
work the person is trained to do. The client must
provide a statement from a professional working
with the client to obtain employment stating there
is no demand. The professional must be employed
by the Workforce Oklahoma Center, a WIAWIOA
contracted entity, OESC, or DRS; or
(iii) the client can establish receipt of the sec-
ond degree may increase the person's earning
potential. The client must provide proof the start-
ing salary for a person with the degree the client
wants to obtain is higher than he or she is currently
earning.

(d) Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
Education and Training (E&T) related child care.
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Subsidized child care benefits may be provided for SNAP
E&T program-related assigned activities.

(1) Prior to approval, the SNAP E&T coordinator con-
firms with the contracted service provider the:

(A) activity is part of SNAP E&T;
(B) assigned start date; and
(C) scheduled days and hours of the activity.

(2) When a parent or caretaker stops participating in
SNAP E&T activities for reasons other than employment,
child care is continued for an additional 90-calendar days
from the date the client stops participating as long as the
client continues to use at the same child care provider.
When the client wishes to change child care providers dur-
ing the 90-calendar day period, care by a different provider
is not approved.

(e) Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) re-
lated child care.

(1) TANF related subsidized child care benefits may be
provided for:

(1A) any TANF Work activity outlined on the
client's Form 08TW002E, TANF Work/Personal
Responsibility Agreement, per OAC 340:10-2-1 in-
cluding when:
(A) the person is waiting to enter an approved
TANF Work activity. The worker limits approval to
a time period not to exceed:

(i) two weeks; or
(ii) one month, on an exception basis, when
child care arrangements or other services would
otherwise be lost and the subsequent activity is
scheduled to begin within that period;

(B) prior to TANF approval, applicants are referred
for immediate job search. TANF applicants are ad-
vised:

(i) child care to job search is limited to 20 days
that must be used within 30 calendar days from the
date of request;
(ii) TANF applicants may not choose in-home
child care arrangements;
(iii) child care is limited to the times the appli-
cant is actually looking for a job; and
(iv) he or she must notify the worker immedi-
ately upon securing employment; and

(C) the person is sanctioned per OAC 340:10-2-2
and participating in TANF Work activities; or
(2B) substance abuse treatment when the parent of
a child receiving TANF is ineligible for TANF due to
the illegal use of a controlled substance or substances
per OAC 340:10-4-1. Prior to approval, the parent
must provide proof of the substance abuse treatment
plan from the treatment provider.; or
(C) a child receiving a child only TANF benefit
when the parent or caretaker relative meets a need fac-
tor included in this Section.

(2) When the parent or caretaker relative receiving
TANF related subsidized child care stops meeting a need
factor, the worker continues subsidized child care benefits
for 90-calendar days at the same child care provider.

When the client wishes to change child care providers
during the 90-calendar day period, care by a different
provider is not approved.

(ef) Protective or preventive child care. Subsidized pro-
tective or preventive child care benefits may be used as an early
intervention strategy in certain critical situations to help pre-
vent neglect, abuse, or exploitation of a child. The worker may
approve child care in these situations to help stabilize the fam-
ily situation or enhance family functioning. In most instances,
Child Welfare Services (CWS) staff completes protective or
preventive child care requests when they are working with
the family and recommending protective or preventive child
care. When CWS staff contracts with an outside agency to
provideSubsidized protective or preventive services and child
care is recommended, Adult and Family Services (AFS) staff
completes the child care requests with help from contracted
agency staffbenefits are approved on a temporary basis. The
worker helps the family develop a plan to reduce or eliminate
the need for such child care beginning with the initial contact.

(1) SubsidizedReasons protective or preventive child
care benefits are temporary and planning to reduce or
eliminate the need for such child care begins at the initial
contact may be approved include, but are not limited to,
when:

(A) an outside agency contracting with CWS
to provide Comprehensive Home-Based Services
(CHBS) for a non-court involved family recommends
child care be provided on a temporary basis;
(B) the parent or caretaker requests child care be-
cause of a medical condition that prevents the parent
or caretaker from properly caring for the child;
(C) a homeless family requests child care while
working to stabilize the family. Homeless means the
family lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate night time
residence, and includes families who:

(i) temporarily share housing with other per-
sons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, or
a similar reason;
(ii) temporarily live in motels, hotels, trailer
parks, or camping grounds due to the lack of al-
ternative accommodations;
(iii) live in emergency or transitional shelters;
or
(iv) live in cars, parks, public spaces, aban-
doned buildings, substandard housing, bus or train
stations, or similar settings not designed for or
ordinarily used, as a regular sleeping accommo-
dation for human beings; or

(D) a family affected by a natural disaster requests
child care to deal with the effects of the natural dis-
aster, such as damage or loss of the home following a
fire, flood, or tornado.

(2) The worker must complete a face-to-face interview
with the client prior to approving subsidized protective or
preventive child care benefits in order to better assess all
of the service needs of the familymay approve subsidized
protective or preventive child care benefits for a maximum
of 30-calendar days.
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(3) When the family requests more than 30-calendar
days of subsidized protective or preventive child care
benefits, the worker must obtain approval from Adult and
Family Services Child Care Subsidy staff before autho-
rizing more care.ThePrior to requesting an extension, the
client must provide a statementwritten recommendation
from a professional working with the family stating:

(A) the names and ages of the children for whom
child care is recommended;
(B) the reason child care is recommended;
(C) the days and hours child care is needed;
(BD) how placing the child in a child care facility
helps to prevent neglect, abuse, or exploitation of the
child; and
(CE) the length of time the professional expects
care to be needed.

(4) When the family receives CHBS services, the fam-
ily is not responsible for paying a copayment.TheIn other
protective or preventive situations, the family may or may
not be expected to help in payingpay the cost of the subsi-
dized child care benefits depending on the unique circum-
stances of the family.
(5) In certain circumstances, families who are finan-
cially ineligible for subsidized child care benefits may be
approved for protective or preventive child care benefits
when the child is in danger of neglect, abuse, or exploita-
tion. The client must provide evidence the family is so
burdened by debt the additional financial pressure of
paying for child care may result in further deterioration
of family stability and functioning. The client must also
provide a plan for reducing his or her debt.
(6) The worker may approve subsidized protective or
preventive child care benefits for a maximum of 30 calen-
dar days.
(7) When the family requests subsidized protective or
preventive child care benefits, the worker scans supporting
documentation into imaging and sends an email to the AFS
Child Care Subsidy staff to request an extension. The
client must provide all needed eligibility information prior
to submission of the extension request.

(fg) Enrichment. The purpose of subsidized enrichment
child care benefits is to assist a child receiving Supplemen-
tal Security Income (SSI) to develop socialization skills and
transition into a group setting, such as a classroom. When a
child is not receiving SSI benefits, the child is not approved for
subsidized enrichment child care benefits.

(1) The need for subsidized enrichment child care ben-
efits is based solely on the needs of the child's condition of
delay or disability instead of the activities of the parent or
caretaker.
(2) Enrichment child care is limited to a maximum of
two days per week not to exceed 10 full-time or part-time
days per month.
(3) The parent or caretaker must provide a written rec-
ommendation from a professional working directly with
the child that states how child care would be beneficial
to the child. The professional could be the child's doctor,

occupational therapist, physical therapist, or special edu-
cation teacher.
(4) Enrichment child care is only approved for a child
who has not started school or Head Start unless, due to the
child's disabilities, the child receives instruction from a
teacher in his or her home.
(5) When subsidized enrichment child care benefits
are approved, care must be provided outside of the child's
home and at least one other child must attend during the
same hours.
(6) The worker obtains approval from staff in AFS
Child Care Subsidy prior to authorizing care for this need
factor.

340:40-7-9. Mandatory pursuit of child support and
other potential income

(a) Mandatory referral to Child Support Services (CSS).
When one or both of the child's parents are absent from the
home, the client must agree to pursue child support through
CSS for all children who must be included in the same house-
hold per Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) 340:40-7-6
before subsidized child care benefits are approved.

(1) When a CSS referral is required. The client is
required to pursue child support for all children living in
the home when one or both parents are absent, unless good
cause exists per (2) or (6) of this subsection, including
when:

(A) the parent or caretaker is not requesting subsi-
dized child care benefits for every child living in the
home;
(B) the client receives court-ordered child support;
(C) there is a joint custody agreement and neither
parent is ordered to pay support;
(D) parental rights are terminated, except in the
case of adoption, per Section 1-4-906 of Title 10A of
the Oklahoma Statutes;
(E) an additional child, whose parent is absent, is
added to the household after certification; or
(F) one or both parents leave the home after certifi-
cation.

(2) When a CSS referral is not required. The client
is not required to complete child support forms when:

(A) he or she is a foster parent to the child and the
CSS referral was completed in the child's SoonerCare
(Medicaid) case;
(B) the client is an adoptive parent and provides
proof of a single parent adoption;
(C) a parent is temporarily out of the home per
OAC 340:40-7-6(c) and considered part of the house-
hold;
(D) the child, whose parent is absent, is not re-
quired to be considered part of the household per
OAC 340:40-7-6;
(E) the client is a minor parent and is not living with
his or her own parents. The minor parent must pursue
child support for his or her own child but not for the
minor parent; or
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(F) the child does not receive a subsidized child
care benefit and is included in household compo-
sition because his or her parent is considered an
adult non-relative of the opposite sex individual
(ANROSI)acting in the role of a spouse per OAC
340:40-7-6(a) and (b).

(3) Required forms. The worker makes the referral
to CSS by completing with the client Form 08TA001E,
Absent Parent (AP) Information Sheet, for each absent
parent. The client must sign Form 08TA012E, Coop-
eration Agreement and Request for Good Cause, per
paragraph (6) of this subsection. The worker gives the
Oklahoma Department of Human Services (DHS) Appen-
dix C-16, Child Support Services and Responsibilities,
to the client. The form explains CSS services and client
expectations. The worker sends copies of legal documents
concerning custody or child support to the appropriate
CSS district office.
(4) Oklahoma Centralized Support Registry (CSR).
After approval, the client must send all future child support
payments to the CSR. DHS Appendix C-16 contains the
address for the CSR. CSR returns the child support pay-
ments to the client unless the client receives Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families per OAC 340:10-10-7.
(5) Establishment of paternity. When the worker is
able to contact the alleged father, the worker asks whether
he is willing to acknowledge paternity. When the alleged
father agrees to acknowledge paternity, the worker gives
or sends him Form 03PA209E, Acknowledgment of Pater-
nity, to review. The worker advises him to contact CSS at
the telephonephone number on the back of the form when,
after review, he is willing to sign the form.
(6) Good cause. Good cause for refusal to cooperate in
pursuing child support may be granted when cooperation
is not in the best interest of the child or the parent. DHS
may continue to pursue child support when CSS deter-
mines child support activities may be safely conducted
without the client's cooperation.

(A) The client must sign Form 03TA012E, Cooper-
ation Agreement and Request for Good Cause:

(i) at the time of the initial application;
(ii) at the time of an additional child request; or
(iii) when circumstances result in an applicant
or recipient's request for good cause.

(B) The worker does not deny, delay, or discontinue
subsidized child care benefits pending a determina-
tion of good cause when the applicant or recipient
furnishes evidence or information supporting the
good cause claim.
(C) DHS determines the client has good cause for
refusing to cooperate only when:

(i) there is possible physical or emotional
harm to the child;
(ii) there is possible physical or emotional
harm to the parent or caretaker;
(iii) the child was conceived as a result of incest
or forcible rape;

(iv) legal proceedings for adoption of the child
are pending before a court; or
(v) the client is currently being assisted by a
public or licensed private social agency to resolve
the issue of whether to keep the child or relinquish
the child for adoption.

(D) The applicant or recipient claiming good cause
is responsible for supplying documentary evidence
to establish the claim or furnishing sufficient infor-
mation to permit DHS to investigate the good cause
claim. Uncorroborated statements of the applicant
or recipient are not acceptable documentation. The
evidence must be of probative value and supported by
written statements to the extent possible. Examples
of acceptable written statements include:

(i) birth certificate, medical, or law enforce-
ment records indicating the child was conceived as
a result of incest or forcible rape;
(ii) court documents or other records indicat-
ing legal proceedings for adoption are pending
before a court of competent jurisdiction;
(iii) criminal, medical, child protective ser-
vices, social services, psychological, or law en-
forcement records indicating the putative or absent
parent might inflict physical or emotional harm on
the child or caretaker;
(iv) medical records indicating the emotional
health history and present emotional health status
of the caretaker or child or a written statement from
a mental health professional indicating a diagnosis
or prognosis concerning the emotional health of
the caretaker or child;
(v) a written statement from a public or li-
censed private social agency working with the ap-
plicant or recipient to resolve the issue of whether
to keep the child or relinquish the child for adop-
tion; and
(vi) sworn statements from persons other than
the client with knowledge of the circumstances
that provide the basis for the good cause claim.

(E) Upon request, the worker helps the client ob-
tain applicable documentary evidence listed in (D)(i)
through (vi) of this subsection. The client must spec-
ify the type of document or record needed and provide
sufficient identifying information to make it possible
for the worker to obtain the documents.

(b) Failure to cooperate in the pursuit of child support.
Failure to cooperate in pursuit of child support without good
cause may be indicated at the time of application or at any time
further action by the client is necessary.

(1) Actions indicating failure to cooperate include
refusals to:

(A) identify and assist in locating a known parent;
(B) establish paternity; or
(C) establish, modify, or enforce a support order.

(2) When the client refuses to cooperate at the time of
application, the worker denies the application.

November 1, 2016 69 Oklahoma Register (Volume 34, Number 4)



Emergency Adoptions

(3) When an applicant applies for subsidized child care
and is in non-cooperation status with CSS, the applicant
must verify cooperation with CSS before the worker ap-
proves subsidized child care benefits.
(34) When, after certification, CSS informs the worker
the client is not cooperating, the worker closes the sub-
sidized child care benefits for all children included in
the child care benefits effective 10 calendar days from
the date action is takenremain open until the child care
renewal is due. At renewal, the worker reviews the client's
cooperation with CSS. When the client is not cooperating,
further care is not approved.

(c) Cooperation with CSS following denial or closure of
the subsidized child care benefits. The client must verify that
he or she is cooperating with CSS before the worker approves
subsidized child care benefits following a denial or closure
based on non-cooperation with CSS.

(1) When the client cooperates with CSS and notifies
the worker of the cooperation within 30-calendar days of
the:

(A) denial of subsidized child care benefits, the
client is not required to file a new application before
benefits may be approved; or
(B) closure of the subsidized child care benefits,
the worker reopens the benefits back to the closure
date.

(2) When the client does not cooperate with CSS or co-
operates, but waits to inform the worker of the cooperation
for more than 30-calendar days from the denial or closure
date, the client must complete a new application before
care is approved. The earliest date subsidized child care
benefits may be approved is the date the client completes a
child care interview and provides all necessary verification
per OAC 340:40-3-1.

(d) Exploration and development of potential income
other than child support. The worker explores potential
sources of income, such as Social Security benefits, Sup-
plemental Security Income (SSI), unemployment benefits,
veteran's benefits, and increased wages with the client at
the time of application and each renewal for all members of
the household whose income must be considered per OAC
340:40-7-6. The client must apply for, or continue to pursue,
all potential sources of income for which it appears likely he or
she may be eligible, except for SSI before the next child care
renewal is due. The client is encouraged, but not required, to
apply for SSI when the client indicates a household member
has a disability. The worker gives the client 90 calendar days
to pursue potential identified income.

(1) When the client refuses to pursue available income
at the time of request, the worker denies the child care
request.
(2) When the client agrees to pursue all potential in-
come and fails to do so within 90 calendar daysthe 12
month eligibility period, the worker closes subsidized
child care benefitsfurther care is not approved at renewal.
(3) When the client is approved for the potential in-
come or offered a pay raise in pay within the 12 month
eligibility period and refuses to accept it, the worker closes

the subsidized child care benefits effective 10 calendar
days from the date the worker takes actionfurther care is
not approved at renewal.
(4) When the client's pay decreases in rate of pay or
number of hours worked, the worker explores why the
decrease occurred. When the client requested the de-
crease to avoid a family share copayment increase or to
maintain eligibility for the subsidized child care benefits,
the worker closes the subsidized child care benefits are
closedat renewal.
(5) At each renewal, the worker determines whether the
client continues to pursue potential income.

(A) When the client begins receiving previously
identified potential income, the worker considers the
income for the next negative action deadline after it is
reported.
(B) When the client was not approved for the in-
come, the client must verify this. The worker records
in the case record the verification provided and stops
exploring this potential income with the client.
(C) When the client stops pursuing potential in-
come and was not determined ineligible for itthe
income, the worker closes the client's child care
benefit for failure to cooperate effective 10 calendar
days from the date the worker takes actionfurther
care is not approved at renewal.

(6) When the client's subsidized child care benefits
closedclose at renewal because of failure to cooper-
atepursue potential income, the client must verify receipt
or pursuit of such income or that such income is no longer
potentially available before child care may be approved.

(A) When the client verifies cooperation within
30-calendar days of the closure of subsidized child
care benefits, the worker may reopen the benefits
back to the date they were closed without imposing a
penalty.
(B) When the client does not cooperate or waits
to verify cooperation for more than 30-calendar days
from the date the subsidized child care benefits close,
the client must complete a new application before
care is approved. The earliest date subsidized child
care benefits may be approved is the date the client
completes a child care interview and provides all
necessary verification per OAC 340:40-3-1.

340:40-7-11. Sources of income considered
(a) Sources of income considered. Income may be re-
ceived periodically or at irregular intervals. All income, unless
specifically excluded per Oklahoma Administrative Code
(OAC) 340:40-7-12, is considered in determining monthly
gross income. Income is classified as earned or unearned
income.
(b) Earned income. Earned income means total money
earned by a person through the receipt of wages, salary,
commission, or profit from activities in which the person is
engaged as self-employed or as an employee. Temporary dis-
ability insurance payment(s) and temporary worker's workers'
compensation payments are considered as earned income
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when payments are employer-funded and the person remains
employed.

(1) Wages. Wages include total money earned for
work performed as an employee including armed forces
pay, commissions, tips, piece-rate payments, longevity
payments, and cash bonuses before any deductions are
made, such as taxes, bonds, pensions, union dues, credit
union payments, andor cafeteria plans are subtracted.

(A) Countable wages for military personnel in-
clude any allowance included on the earnings state-
ment, such as the Basic Allowance for Housing
(BAH) and theor Basic Allowance for Subsistence
(BAS).
(B) Only the portion of the cafeteria plan the client
controls is counted as income.
(C) Reimbursements for expenses, such as a uni-
form allowance or transportation costs, other than
daily commuting, are subtracted from the gross in-
come.
(D) Payments made for annual leave, sick leave, or
severance pay are considered earned income during
the month such income is received whether paid dur-
ing employment or at termination of employment.
(E) Wages that are garnished or diverted and paid to
a third party are also counted as income.

(2) Self-employment. Self-employment income is
considered based on procedures listed in this subsection.

(A) Persons considered self-employed. A person
is considered self-employed when:

(i) he or she declares himself or herself to be
self-employed;
(ii) there is an employer/employee relationship
and the employer does not withhold income taxes
or Federal Insurance Contributions Act (FICA),
even when required to do so by law; or
(iii) the employer withholds taxes and the per-
son provides proof he or she files taxes as self-em-
ployed.

(B) Records used and income calculation. The
worker uses the records described in (i) through (iii)
of this subparagraph to calculate income. When the
person reports a loss instead of a profit on the busi-
ness, the worker does not deduct the loss from other
household income.

(i) When the person filed a federal income
tax return for self-employment income for the
most recent year, whether the person's income
is derived from his or her own business or from
working for an employer, the worker uses the net
self-employment income shown on the person's
federal income tax return and divides the income
by 12 or the number of months the business has
been in existence or the person started work for the
employer, when less than 12 months. The worker
verifies the person's start date with the employer
when the person states he or she has not worked for
the employer for at least 12 months.

(ii) When the person did not file an income tax
return for the most recent tax year for his or her
own business, the worker calculates self-employ-
ment income using the person's business records
for the last 12 months or the number of months the
business has been in existence when less than 12
months. When the client declares he or she has
business expenses, the worker subtracts 50 percent
of the gross self-employment income to arrive at
the net profit.
(iii) When the person works for an employer,
did not file a federal tax return as self-employed,
and receives earnings from an employer, the per-
son must provide proof of the last 12 months of
income from the employer. The worker divides the
gross income by 12 or the number of months the
person has worked for the employer to determine
monthly income. When the person declares he or
she has business expenses, the worker subtracts 50
percent of the gross self-employment income be-
fore dividing the income by the applicable number
of months to determine monthly income.

(C) Profit sharing. Households who operate S
corporations, general or limited partnerships, or lim-
ited liability companies may receive profit sharing
that is reported on the household's personal income
tax return. When a household member:

(i) actively participates in the operations, the
income from profit sharing is considered part of
the household's self-employed earned income; or
(ii) does not actively participate in the opera-
tions, the income from profit sharing is considered
part of the household's unearned income.

(D) Monthly self-employment income. Self-em-
ployment income received on a monthly basis is
normally averaged over a 12-month period. When
the averaged amount does not accurately reflect the
household's actual monthly circumstances because
the household has experienced a substantial increase
or decrease in income, the worker calculates the
self-employment income based on anticipated earn-
ings.
(E) Seasonal self-employment. Self-employment
income intended to meet the household's needs for
only part of the year is averaged over the period of
time it is intended to cover.
(F) Annualized self-employment income.
Self-employment income that represents a house-
hold's annual support is averaged and annualized over
a 12-month period, even when the income is received
in a short time period.

(i) IfWhen the average annualized amount
does not accurately reflect the person's actual
monthly circumstances because the person experi-
enced a substantial increase or decrease in income,
the worker calculates the self-employment income
on anticipated earnings.
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(ii) The worker does not calculate self-em-
ployment income on the basis of prior earnings,
such as income tax returns, when an increase or
decrease of business has occurred.
(Iiii) When the person has received the self-em-
ployment income for less than 12 months, the
worker averages the income is averaged over the
applicable number of months and projects the
monthly amount projected for the coming year.

(II) When the person has received the self-
employment income for a short time and there
is insufficient data to make a reasonable in-
come projection, the worker does not consider
income from this source until the renewal is
due. At the renewal, the worker averages in-
come over the number of months received until
a full year's information is available.

(G) Income from rental property. Income from
rental property is considered self-employment in-
come.
(H) Income from room and board. Payments
from roomers or boarders are considered self-em-
ployment when the roomer or boarder is paying a
reasonable amount. When the roomer or boarder
is an adult non-relative opposite sex individual
(ANROSI)acting in the role of a spouse, OAC
340:40-7-6(b)(4) applies.

(3) On-the-job training. Earned income from regular
employment for on-the-job training (OJT) is considered
as earned income. This includes OJT provided under
Sections 204(b)(1)(c) or 264(c)(1)(A)per Section 3(44)
of the Workforce Investment Innovation and Opportunity
Act (WIOA) for persons 19 years of age orand older.
(4) Workforce Investment Act (WIA). Income
earned in OJT positions provided under Section 134 of
WIA is considered earned income for persons who are 19
years of age and older. On-the-job training provided must
be full-time positions, and there must be a contract be-
tween WIA and the employer for each individual position.
This does not include classroom or institutional training
and institutional training or intern assignments sponsored
by WIAWIOA, even when an hourly amount is paid for
such training. Refer toper OAC 340:40-7-12(25)(G) for
other types of excluded WIA income.
(54) Title I payments of Domestic Volunteer Services
Act. Payments under Title I of the Domestic Volunteer
Services Act of 1973 as amended per[P.L. Public Law
93-113] are considered income unless excluded per OAC
340:40-7-12.
(65) Earnings of children. Earned income of a minor
parent is treated as adult earned income. Earnings of
other children 17 years of age and younger who are under
the parental control of an adult household member are
excluded per OAC 340:40-7-12.

(c) Unearned income. Unearned income is income a
person receives for which the person does not put forth any
daily, physical labor. Types of income listed in paragraphs

(1) through (10) of this subsection are considered unearned
income.

(1) Assistance payments. Assistance payments in-
clude state means-tested programs, such as Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), including Sup-
ported Permanency benefits, State Supplemental Payment
(SSP) to the aged, blind, or disabled, and Refugee Reset-
tlement Program (RRP) cash assistance.
(2) Pensions, disability, and Social Security bene-
fits. Annuities, pensions, retirement benefits, disability
benefits from either government or private sources, or
Social Security survivor benefits are considered unearned
income.

(A) When a minor child receiving Social Security
benefits no longer lives with the payee receiving the
Social Security benefits, only the portion of the child's
Social Security benefit used to meet the minor child's
needs is considered income. This may include cash
given directly to the minor child or money paid to a
third party for room and board for the minor child.
(B) The parent or caretaker or, when appropriate,
the minor child must take action to become the payee
within 90 calendar daysthe 12 month eligibility
period per OAC 340:40-7-9(d). When the parent,
caretaker, or minor child does not take action is not
taken within 90 calendar daysby renewal, the worker
counts the total Social Security benefit as income.

(3) Supplemental Security Income (SSI). SSI is con-
sidered unearned income.
(4) Unemployment and workers' compensation. In-
come from unemployment insurance benefits or workers'
compensation is counted as unearned income.
(5) Child support, court-ordered or third party
paid child care, and alimony. Child support, child care
payments, and alimony payments, whether court-or-
dered or voluntary, made directly to the household from
non-household members are counted as unearned income.

(A) When a child care payment is paid directly to
the child care provider, it is not considered income for
the client.
(B) When the absent parent reports he or she is pay-
ing a portion of the client's family share copayment
to the child care provider, the only action taken by the
worker is to record this in the case record.
(C) When the absent parent or another third party,
such as an employer, is making a payment to the
provider in addition to the client's copayment, it is
considered as an additional copayment that must be
met before the Oklahoma Department of Human Ser-
vices (DHS) makes a subsidy payment to the provider.
(D) Any other payment made to a third party for
a household expense must be considered as income
when a court order directs the payment be made to
the household. Payments for medical support are
excluded.

(6) VeteransVeterans' compensation, pensions,
or military allotments. Annuities, pensions, disability
compensation, military allotments, servicemen dependent
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allowances, and similar payments are considered unearned
income.
(7) Contributions. Appreciable contributions recur-
rently received in cash are considered unearned income
except when the contribution is not made directly to the
client. To be appreciable, a contribution must exceed $30
per calendar quarter per person.
(8) Dividends, interest, minerals, and royalties.
Dividends, interest income, income from minerals, royal-
ties, and similar sources are considered unearned income.
When income from these sources is received irregularly or
in varied amounts, it is averaged over 12 months. Income
from royalties is treated as unearned, self-employment
income, subject to (b)(2) of this Section.
(9) Lump sum payments. Recurring lump sum pay-
ments, including income from earnings, are averaged over
the period they are intended to cover.
(10) Irregular income. Income received irregularly but
in excess of $30 per quarter is considered income unless it
is from an excluded income source specifically mentioned
at OAC 340:40-7-12. Countable irregular income is aver-
aged over 12 months.

340:40-7-12. Sources of excluded income
Only the income listed in this Section is excluded in de-

termining a household's eligibility for a child care benefit. No
other income is excluded.

(1) Lump sum payments. One-time lump sum pay-
ments are excluded as income. Recurring lump sum
payments are excluded as a countable income source
unless specifically mentioned per Oklahoma Administra-
tive Code (OAC) 340:40-7-11 as a countable source of
income.
(2) In-kind income. In-kind income is excluded as in-
come. In-kind income is defined as any gain or benefit that
is not in the form of money paid directly to the household.
This includes non-monetary or in-kind benefits, such as
meals, clothing, public housing, or garden produce from a
garden.
(3) Money received from the sale of property.
Money received from the sale of property, such as stocks,
bonds, or a house, or a car is excluded as income. This
exclusion does not apply when the person is engaged in
the business of selling such property.
(4) Bank or trust account withdrawals. Money
withdrawn from a bank or trust account is excluded as
income even when used to meet current living expenses.
(5) Capital gains. The proceeds from the sale of capi-
tal goods or equipment are excluded as income.
(6) Household income for certain children adopted
through Oklahoma Department of Human Services
(DHS). The income of all household members is exempt
for a child only when conditions in (A) through (E) of this
paragraph are met. The:

(A) child was adopted through DHS or a federally
recognized Indian tribe, as defined by the Federal and
Oklahoma Indian Child Welfare Acts, by the parent
applying for benefits;

(B) adoptive parent applying for benefits must pro-
vide:

(i) a fully executed Form 04AN002E, Adop-
tion Assistance Agreement, listing child care as an
adoption assistance benefit for the child;
(ii) Form 04AN033E, Post Adoption Child
Care Referral;
(iii) the Final Decree of Adoption; and
(iv) a form of identity;

(C) adoptive parent and child are Oklahoma resi-
dents of Oklahoma;
(D) child is 5 years of age or younger. When a child
turns 6 years of age during the 12-month eligibility
period, household income remains exempt until the
next renewal; and
(E) adoptive parent meets an allowable need fac-
tor as defined inper OAC 340:40-7-7 and OAC
340:40-7-8 and provides proof. In a two-parent fam-
ily, both parents must meet an allowable need factor.

(7) Household income when at least one child at-
tends an Early Head Start-Child Care (EHS-CC)
Partnership grant program. The household income
is exempt for all children in care when at least one child
attends an EHS-CC Partnership grant program and the
household meets income guidelines per DHS Appendix
C-4, Child Care Eligibility/Co-paymentCopayment Chart.
(8) Earnings of children. EarningsExclude the
earnings of a person 17 years of age and younger who is
considered a child in the case is excluded as long as the
child is attending school regularly. The exclusion con-
tinues to apply during temporary interruptions in school
attendance due to semester or vacation breaks, provided
the child's enrollment resumes following the break. When
the child is a minor parent and the payee, the minor par-
ent's earnings are treated as adult income.
(9) Irregular income. Any income received too infre-
quently or irregularly to be reasonably anticipated is not
counted as income unless it is in excess of $30 per calendar
quarter.
(10) Reimbursements. Reimbursements for past or fu-
ture expenses not exceeding actual expenses are excluded
as income.
(11) Tax refunds. Federal or state income tax refunds,
including the state and federal Earned Income Tax Credit
(EITC), and advance payments of federal EITC are ex-
cluded as income.
(12) Money received for third parties. Money re-
ceived and used for the care and maintenance of a third
party who is not a household member is excluded as in-
come.
(13) Loans. All loans, including loans from private as
well as commercial institutions, are excluded as income.
Verification the income is a loan is required.
(14) Grants. Grants obtained and used under conditions
that preclude their use for current living costs are excluded
as income.
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(15) Educational assistance. Educational assistance
is excluded when receipt is contingent upon the student
regularly attending school.

(A) Examples of educational assistance include:
(i) work study;
(ii) scholarships;
(iii) fellowships;
(iv) educational loans when payment is de-
ferred; and
(v) veteran's education benefits.

(B) The educational assistance must be intended
to offset the costs of education and expenses as iden-
tified by the institution, school, program, or other
grantor.
(C) When the educational assistance is not in-
tended to be a reimbursement and is a gain to the
client, it is considered income.

(16) Stipends. Stipends paid to students participating in
the Indian Vocational Education Program through the Carl
D. Perkins Vocational and Applied Technology Education
Act are excluded as income.
(17) Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE)
and Active Corps of Executives (ACE). Payment for
supportive services or reimbursement of out-of-pocket ex-
penses made to volunteers serving as foster grandparents,
senior health aides, or senior companions, and to persons
serving in SCORE and ACE is excluded as income.
(18) Government rent or housing subsidies. Govern-
ment rent or housing subsidies by government agencies
received in-kind or in cash for rent, mortgage payments, or
utilities isare excluded as income.
(19) Foster care payments. Foster care payments
received for a foster child in state or tribal custody are
excluded as income.
(20) Title IV E of the Social Security Act or State
Adoption Subsidy. Federal- or state-funded adoption
subsidy payments made to adoptive parents are excluded
as income.
(21) Victims of Crime Act of 1984. Payments made
from the crime victims' compensation program as
amended in Section 1402 of the Victims of Crime Act
of 1984 and per Section 10602 of Title 42 of the United
States Code (U.S.C) are excluded as income . [42 USC
10602]
(22) Family Support Assistance Payment Program.
Family Support Assistance Payment Program payments
paid to persons by the DHS Developmental Disabilities
Services are excluded as income.
(23) Vendor payments. Vendor payments made di-
rectly to the household's creditors,or a person, or an
organization providing a service to the household, are
excluded as income unless a court order or other legally
binding agreement specifies the money is to be paid di-
rectly to the client.
(24) Money received by another household for a
household member.

(A) When a child spends part of the month in two
separate households and receives countable income,

the worker considers the portion of the income re-
ceived by the household applying for or receiving a
child care benefit as income and excludes the remain-
der as income.
(B) When a minor parent is the payee and lives with
one of his or her parents or a parent or caretaker, child
support received for the minor parent is considered
income for the parent or caretaker and not considered
for the minor parent's child care benefit.

(25) Income excluded by federal law. Income ex-
cluded by federal law is defined as:

(A) payments received under Title II of the Uni-
form Relocation Assistance and Real Property Acqui-
sition Policies Act of 1970;
(B) payments received:

(i) under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement
Act,[Public Law (P. L.) 92-203, § 21(a)];
(ii) under the Sac and Fox Indian Claims
Agreement,[P.L. 94-189];
(iii) from the disposition of funds to the Grand
River Band of Ottawa Indians per[P.L. 94-540];
(iv) by members of the Confederated Tribes of
the Mescalero Reservation per[P.L. 95-433];
(v) under the Maine Indian Claims Settlement
Act of 1980 to members of the Passamaquoddy
and the Penobscot Nation,[P.L. 96-420]; or
(vi) by an individual as a lump sum or a peri-
odic payment via the Cobell Settlement per the
Claims Resolution Act of 2010,[P.L. 111-291];

(C) any payment to volunteers under Title II, Re-
tired and Senior Volunteer Program, Foster Grandpar-
ents and others, of the Domestic Volunteer Services
Act of 1973,[P.L. 93-113] as amended. Payments
under Title I of that Act, Volunteers in Service To
America, University Year for Action, and Urban
Crime Prevention Program, to volunteers are ex-
cluded only if the monthly amount, when converted
to an hourly rate, is less than the Oklahoma minimum
wage;
(D) income derived from submarginal land of the
United States held in trust for certain Indian tribes
per[P.L. 94-114, Sec. 6];
(E) Indian per capita payments distributed from
judgment awards and trust funds made pursuant toper
P.L. 98-64. Also excluded is any interest or invest-
ment income accrued on such funds while held in
trust or any purchases made with judgment funds,
trust funds, interest, or investment income accrued on
such funds. Any per capita payments, headrights of
the Osage tribe, income from mineral leases or other
tribal business ventures are excluded as long as the
payments are paid per capita. Any interest or income
derived from the funds after distribution is considered
as any other income. The per capita exclusion applies
per person rather than per family;
(F) income up to $2,000 per year received by indi-
vidual Indians, which is derived from leases or other
uses of individually-owned trust or restricted lands, is
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not counted as income. The income exclusion applies
to calendar years beginning January 1, 1994. Any
remaining disbursements from the trust or restricted
lands are considered as income;
(G) allowances, stipends, earnings, compensa-
tion in lieu of wages, grants, and other payments
made for participation in the Workforce Invest-
mentInnovation and Opportunity Act (WIA)(WIOA)
or other federally-funded workforce training pro-
gram to persons of all ages and student status with
the exception of income paid to persons 19 years of
age and older for on-the-job training. This income is
treated as any other earned income. Refer toper OAC
340:40-7-11(b)(4);
(H) payments, allowances, or earnings to persons
participating in programs under Title I of the National
and Community Service Trust Act of 1993. Title I
includes three Acts: Serve-America, The Community
Service, Schools and Service-Learning Act of 1990,
the American Conservation and Youth Service Corps
Act of 1990, and the National and Community Ser-
vice Act. Most of the payments are made as a weekly
stipend or for educational assistance. The Higher
Education Service-Learning Program and the Ameri-
Corps Umbrella Program come under this Title. This
includes AmeriCorps income;
(I) payments or allowances made under any fed-
eral law for the purpose of energy assistance, Low In-
come Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP),
and utility payments and reimbursements made by
the Department of Housing and Urban Develop-
ment (HUD) and the Farmers Home Administration
(FmHA);
(J) the amount of the mandatory salary reduction
of military service personnel used to fund the G.I.
Bill;
(K) all funds paid to persons under the Commu-
nity Service Employment Program under Title V,.
P.L. 100-175]. This program is authorized by the
Older Americans Act. Each Statestate and various
organizations receive some Title V funds. These or-
ganizations include:

(i) Experience Works formerly Green Thumb;
(ii) National Council on Aging;
(iii) National Council of Senior Citizens;
(iv) American Association of Retired Persons;
(v) United States (U.S.) Forest Service;
(vi) National Association for Spanish Speaking
Elderly;
(vii) National Urban League;
(viii) National Council on Black Aging; and
(ix) National Council on Indian Aging;

(L) payments made from the Agent Orange Settle-
ment Fund or any other fund established pursuant to
the settlement In Re Agent Orange Product Liability
Litigation, M.D.L. No. 381 (E.D.N.Y.);
(M) payments received under the Civil Liberties
Act of 1988. These payments are made to persons of

Japanese ancestry who were detained in internment
camps during World War II;
(N) payments made from the Radiation Exposure
Compensation Trust Fund as compensation for in-
juries or deaths resulting from exposure to radiation
from nuclear testing and uranium mining;
(O) payments for the fulfillment of a Plan for
Achieving Self-Support under Title XVI of the Social
Security Act;
(P) payments made to persons because of their sta-
tus as victims of Nazi persecution;
(Q) payments made for the Experimental Housing
Allowance Program under Annual Contributions
Contracts entered into prior to January 1, 1975, un-
derper Section 23 of the U.S. Housing Act of 1937 as
amended;
(R) monetary allowances provided to certain chil-
dren of Vietnam War veterans as described inper
Chapter 18 of Title 38 of the United States Code
(USC)U.S.C.;
(S) federal funds distributed by Federal Emer-
gency Management Assistance (FEMA) due to a
disaster or emergency to persons directly affected
by the event. This exclusion also applies to com-
parable disaster assistance provided by states, local
governments, and disaster assistance organizations.
For payments to be excluded, the disaster or emer-
gency must be declared by the President of the United
States;
(T) the value of the food benefit allotment under
the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008; and
(U) the value of supplemental food assistance un-
der the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 and the special
food services program for children under the National
School Lunch Act of 1970, both as amended by theper
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1981.

SUBCHAPTER 9. PROCEDURES RELATING TO
CASE CHANGES

340:40-9-1. Renewal of child care eligibility
(a) Child care renewal. All conditions of eligibility are pe-
riodically reviewed per OAC 340:40-7. The client is sent no-
tification when the renewal is due and the methods the client
may use to complete it. The client must complete the child care
renewal at the end of the 12-month eligibility period in order
to continue receiving benefits. Refer to Oklahoma Administra-
tive Code 340:40-9-2(g) for reasons child care is closed prior
to the renewal.At renewal, the client is sent a computer-gener-
ated notice informing the client:

(1) the renewal is due;
(2) the methods the client may use to complete the re-
newal;
(3) types of verification that may be required; and
(4) when benefits close if the renewal is not completed.
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(b) Renewal time frame. When circumstances change be-
tween renewal months, the worker evaluates whether to com-
plete a renewal early, a new application, or make changes to
the client's family share co-payment and/or plan of service. A
child care renewal for subsidized child care benefits must be
completedis due no laterearlier than 12 months from the date
of approval or the last renewal unless the client receives SNAP
and benefits must be synchronized per (f) of this Section:

(1) six months from the date of approval or the last
renewal when the child does not receive public assistance;
or
(2) 12 months from the date of approval or last renewal
when the child receives Temporary Assistance for Needy
Families (TANF) or a State Supplemental Payment (SSP).

(c) Signature requirement. The client or the client's autho-
rized representative must sign the renewal.
(d) Interview requirement. An interview is not required
at renewal for the Child Care Subsidy Program unless the
client receives child care benefits because of a protective or
preventive reason per OAC 340:40-7-8. When an interview is
required, it must be a face-to-face interview.
(e) Eligibility determination. An eligibility determination
is made once the renewal is signed, all required information
has beenis provided, an interview, if required, is conducted,
and all information evaluated.

(1) The eligibility determination results in:
(A) completing the renewal without changes;
(B) completing the renewal with changes; or
(C) closing the child care benefits.

(2) Benefits, when closed, may be reopened when the
client provides required information by the last day of the
monthwithin 30-calendar days of closure.

(f) Synchronization of benefits. When the client is receiv-
ing other Adult and Family Services benefits from the Okla-
homa Department of Human Services in addition to the sub-
sidized child care benefits, certification and renewal dates must
be coordinated with the other programs.

340:40-9-2. Case changes
(a) Case changes. The client must report any changes in his
or her circumstances within 10-calendar days that would result
in an increase or decrease in subsidized child care benefits
within 10-calendar days. The worker acts on changes that
increase or decreasewithin 10-calendar days of a reported
change listed in this paragraph, except for (8), when the
change increases or decreases the subsidized child care bene-
fits within 10-calendar days of the reported change. Failure
to report changes timely may result in an overpayment assess-
ment against the client. Examples of changes the client must
report include:

(1) household income;
(2) household composition;
(3) names and number of household members in child
care;
(4) the reason child care is needed;
(5) the parent's or caretaker's work or school schedule
or any other change affecting the days and hours child care
is needed;

(65) the client's address or telephonephone number;
(76) the child care facility the child is attending;
(87) when child care is no longer being used or needed;
(98) when the reason for child care changes or the client
no longer meets a need factor;
(9) family size; and
(10) when a child stops attending an Early Head
Start-Child Care Partnership grant program.

(b) Change of payee. When a change of payee is reported,
a new application must be taken. Refer to Oklahoma Adminis-
trative Code (OAC) 340:40-3-1 for application processes.
(c) Additional child request. When an additional child
requires subsidized child care benefits, the worker completes
the request within two workingbusiness days of the client
providing all necessary verification to determine eligibility.
When eligible, the child may be approved for subsidized child
care benefits beginning with the date of request. Family share
copayment increases due to adding an additional child to the
subsidized child care benefits are effective the month after the
month the client requests subsidized child care benefits for the
child.
(d) Changes that increase the subsidized child care ben-
efits. When the client reports a timely change timely that
increases the subsidized child care benefits, the client and the
worker jointly plan the effective date of the change. When the
client does not report timely changes timely, the earliest date
the worker increases the subsidized child care benefits is the
first day of the month in which the client reports the change.
(e) Changes that decrease the subsidized child care
benefits. When possible, the worker and client plan changes
that decrease the subsidized child care benefits before imple-
menting the change. When the client reports an increase in
income, the worker uses Oklahoma Department of Human
Services (DHS) Appendix C-4, Child Care Eligibility/Co-pay-
mentCopayment Chart, to determine whether the household
meets income guidelines per OAC 340:40-5-1(8) and to apply
or increase a family share copayment when appropriate.
Unless the client consents to an earlier change date, the worker
makes changes that decrease the client's subsidized child care
benefits effective the next advance notice deadline date per
DHS Appendix B-2, Deadlines for Case Actions.
(f) Change in provider. When a client reports a change in
provider, the change is effective the date the change in provider
occurs, regardless of whether the client reports the change
timely. The worker completes provider changes within two
workingbusiness days of the date the client reports the change.
(g) Closure of the subsidized child care benefits. When
the client is no longer eligible for subsidized child care
benefits, the closure date varies depending on circumstances.

(1) When advance notice is required for reasons other
than (2) through (6) of this paragraph, the worker closes
the subsidized child care benefits effective 10-calendar
days from the date action is taken.
(2) When the closure is based on anticipated income
the client will receive in the next month, the worker closes
the child care benefit effective the last day of the current
calendar month.
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(3) When at child care renewal, the client does not meet
a need factor or is not pursuing child support or other po-
tential income per OAC 340:40-7-9, the worker closes the
child care benefit effective the last calendar day of the re-
newal month.
(4) When the client receiving Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families (TANF) related subsidized child care
per OAC 340:40-7-8(e) stops meeting a need factor, the
worker closes the child care benefit effective 90-calendar
days from the date the client stops participating.
(5) When a client stops participating in Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program Employment and Training
activities per OAC 340:40-7-8(d) and does not meet an-
other need factor, the worker closes the child care benefit
effective 90-calendar days from the date the client stops
participating.
(6) Ten-day advance notice is not required when the
client gives written permission agreeing to an earlier clo-
sure date. The earliest date the worker closes the child
care benefit is the date action is taken.
(7) When the client does not complete the benefit re-
newal timely, the system closes the child care benefit ef-
fective the last day of the renewal month.

(h) Reopen action. When a client's subsidized child care
benefits close, benefits may be reopened within 30-calendar
days of the closure effective date using current eligibility infor-
mation unless the client must complete a new application per
OAC 340:40-3-1(a)(1). A new application is required when:

(1) the client's subsidized child care benefits are closed
for more than 30-calendar days;
(2) the payee changes; or
(3) family income was excluded per OAC 340:40-7-
12(6) for an adopted child turning 6 years of age unless
the child can be added to an open income eligible case
established for the child's siblings in which the adoptive
parent's income is considered. When an adopted child
turns 6 years of age during the eligibility period, house-
hold income is exempt until the next renewal, at which
time, a new application is required.

SUBCHAPTER 13. CHILD CARE RATES AND
PROVIDER ISSUES

340:40-13-3. Child care payments and rates
(a) The Oklahoma Department of Human Services
(OKDHS)(DHS) contracts to purchase out-of-home child
care services for children only with licensed providers who:

(1) post rates and fees;
(2) sign and comply with all the terms of Form
08CC001E, Child Care Provider Contract;
(3) have participated in mandatory contract training;
and
(4) have access to an account at a financial institution
for electronic benefit transfer (EBT) purposes.

(b) Per Section 85.44B of Title 74 of the Oklahoma Statutes,
OKDHSDHS cannot make advance payments to child care
providers.

(c) The rates paid by OKDHSDHS are described on DHS
Appendix C-4-B, Child Care Provider Rate Schedule, and
determined by:

(1) the child's age;
(2) settings in which the care is provided:

(A) the child's own home;
(B) a child care center; or
(C) a child care home;

(3) whether the child has disabilities and the provider
is approved for the special needs rate unit type. The spe-
cial needs rate is added to the applicable rate a child care
provider receives for a typical child of the same age after
the Form 08AD006E, Certification for Special Needs
Child Care Rate, Certification for Special Needs Child
Care Rate for Licensed Child Care Homes and Centers,
approval process is followed;
(4) whether the care is provided full-time, over four
hours per day, or part-time, four hours or fewer per day;
(5) whether the worker approves a full-time daily,
part-time daily, a combination of full-time and part-time
daily, blended, or a weekly unit;
(6) the county in which the provider is located; and
(7) whether the facility qualifies for a differential qual-
ity rate.

(d) The in-home child care rate is paid for children cared
for in their own homes. The in-home rate is shown on
OKDHSDHS Appendix C-4-B for the child's age. If a child
is eligible for the severe or moderate special needs rate, this
additional amount is added to the applicable in-home rate for
that child.
(e) When the child is cared for in an out-of-home child care
center or home, the allowable rate is the amount as shown on
OKDHSDHS Appendix C-4-B.
(f) Care may only be authorized at one facility per day per
child. If the client uses care at two different providers for the
same day for the same child, OKDHSDHS staff approves care
at only one of the facilities. The parent or caretaker may use
care at two different providers for the same child when care is
needed on different days of the week.
(g) Charges are authorized and payment is made only when
the care provided is in accordance with the jointly developed
child care plan of service between the client and OKDHSDHS.
(h) Age-driven rate changes are effective the first of the
month following the child's birth date except as shown in (i) of
this Section.
(i) Eligibility for a child stops the day before a:

(1) typical child reaches 13 years of age; or
(2) a child with disabilities or a child under court su-
pervision reaches 19 years of age.

(j) A change to add the higher special needs rate to the appli-
cable daily rate is effective the first of the month following the
month eligibility for this rate is determined.
(kj) A child care provider may be approved for a differential
quality rate if he or she meets the criteria for this rate. This
rate is approved effective the first of the month following the
month Oklahoma Child Care Services (OCCS) licensing staff
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approves the provider for the rate. The rate is designated on
OKDHSDHS Appendix C-4-B by its star status.

[OAR Docket #16-764; filed 10-6-16]

TITLE 340. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
SERVICES

CHAPTER 65. PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
PROCEDURES

[OAR Docket #16-763]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption

RULES:
Subchapter 3. Eligibility for Benefits
340:65-3-8 [AMENDED]
(Reference WF 16-05)

AUTHORITY:
Director of Human Services; Sections 162 of Title 56 of the Oklahoma

Statutes and Section 5N of P.L. 113-186, CCDBG Act of 2014.
ADOPTION:

September 13, 2016
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:

September 29, 2016
EFFECTIVE:

Immediately upon Governor's approval or October 1, 2016, whichever is
later.
EXPIRATION:

Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or
disapproved by the Legislature.
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

n/a
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:

n/a
FINDING OF EMERGENCY:

Emergency rulemaking approval is requested effective October 1, 2016 to
meet the federal deadline for implementation of P.L. 113-186.
ANALYSIS:

The proposed revisions to Chapter 65, Subchapter 3 amend the rules to:
(1) change the Child Care Subsidy renewal time frame from six to 12 months
and remove the interview requirement for renewals based on a protective or
preventive need factor to match Child Care Subsidy emergency rules; (2)
update benefit renewal notification information and policy citations; and (3)
simplify language.
CONTACT PERSON:

Dena Thayer at 405-521-4326

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED UPON APPROVAL BY
THE GOVERNOR AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION
253(F), AND EFFECTIVE UPON APPROVAL BY THE
GOVERNOR OR OCTOBER 1, 2016, WHICHEVER IS
LATER:

SUBCHAPTER 3. ELIGIBILITY FOR BENEFITS

340:65-3-8. Determination of continuing eligibility
(a) Determination of continuing eligibility. Determining
continuingThe worker determines continued eligibility is a
process that must be carried out at appropriate intervals. The

appropriate interval for reviewing eligibility depends on the
type of benefit received. The worker is responsible for:

(1) advisinginforming the recipient at each contact of
his or her responsibility to report changes within 10-calen-
dar days of the date the change becomes known;
(2) making contact withcontacting the recipient when
possible changes are indicated to ensure continuing eligi-
bility;
(3) synchronizing the renewal dates for all benefits
received by the household when possible; and
(4) determining continuing eligibility.

(b) Benefit renewal time frames. The periodic renewal
time frame varies depending on the program.

(1) A benefit renewal must be completed at six-month
intervals with a:

(A) Temporary Assistance for Needy Families
(TANF) recipient due to:

(i) pending required immunizations per Okla-
homa Administrative Code (OAC) 340:10-14-1;
(ii) payment standard reductions because of
program violations per OAC 340:10-3-57(g) or
(h);
(iii) hardship extension approvals per OAC
340:10-3-56(a)(2)(E);
(iv) earned income per OAC 340:10-3-31
through 340:10-3-40; or
(v) the exemption of a work-eligible per-
son exempt from TANF Work activities because
of his or her incapacity or to care for a disabled
family member living in the household per OAC
340:10-2-1; or

(B) child care recipient per OAC 340:40-9-1; or
(C) food benefit recipient subject to a mid-certifi-
cation renewal per OAC 340:50-9-5(i)(d) and (j)(e).

(2) A benefit renewal must be completed at 12-month
intervals, unless an earlier renewal date is warranted, with
a:

(A) TANF recipient unless (b)(1)(A) of this Section
applies;
(B) State Supplemental Payment (SSP) recipient;
(C) child care recipient who is receiving TANF or
SSP benefitsper OAC 340:40-9-1;
(D) food benefit household subject to an annual
mid-certification renewal per OAC 340:50-9-5(g)(b)
and (h)(c);
(E) food benefit household whose Supplemental
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) certification
renewal must be completed at 12-monthsmonth inter-
vals per OAC 340:50-9-6; or
(F) SoonerCare (Medicaid) recipient per OAC
317:35.

(3) The worker completes a SNAP certification
renewal at 24-month intervals for households sub-
ject to an annual mid-certification renewal per OAC
340:50-9-5(g)(b) and (h)(c).

(c) Benefit renewal notification. The recipient is sent
notificationreceives a notice when the benefit renewal is due,
advisinginforming the recipient he or she must complete the
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benefit renewal within a certainspecified time frame in order to
continue receiving benefits.

(1) The worker sends Form 08AD092E, Client Contact
and Information Request, to:

(A) SoonerCare (Medicaid) long-term care
and other recipient groups not in online enroll-
mentrecipients for whom DHS determines eligibility
per OAC 317:35-5-63 when they are not eligible to
submit their renewals through okdhslive.org;
(B) SSP recipients; and
(C) TANF recipients.

(2) TheA computer-generated notice titled "Renew My
Benefits" is sent to:

(A) child care recipients; and
(B) SoonerCare (Medicaid) recipients in the online
enrollment population; and
(C) food benefit recipients due for mid-certifica-
tion renewal.and

(3) The computer-generated notice titled "Continue
My SNAP Benefits" is sent to food benefit recipients due
for certification renewal.

(d) Signature requirements. The recipient, guardian, or a
person acting on the recipient's behalf, such as an authorized
representative or a person with power-of-attorney, must sign
the benefit renewal for all programs except TANF. TANF re-
newals must be signed by the recipient. IfWhen the recipient
is livinglives with his or her spouse, both must sign the TANF
renewal.
(e) Interview requirements. Whether an interview is
required for a benefitBenefit renewal variesinterview require-
ments vary depending on the program.

(1) A face-to-face interview is required for the:
(A) TANF program; or
(B) Supplemental Security Income-Disabled Chil-
dren's Program (SSI-DCP) service plan renewal per
OAC 340:70-8-1OAC 340:15-3-1.

(2) A telephone or face-to-face interview is required
at SNAP certification renewal except for (e)(3)(C) of this
Section.
(3) An interview is not required for:

(A) any of the SoonerCare (Medicaid) programs as
long as the client signed and completed the renewal
is complete, including the signature, provided all re-
quired proof provided, and none of the information is
questionable. When information is not complete or is
questionablenecessary, the worker contacts the recipi-
ent to obtain required proofcomplete the renewal;
(B) the Child Care Subsidy program renewals
unless the child care recipient receives child care
benefits because of a protective or preventive reason
per OAC 340:40-7-8; or
(C) food benefit households completing a:

(i) mid-certification renewal, at six- or
12-month intervals; or
(ii) SNAP certification renewal when all
household members are elderly or disabled and
there is no earned income in the household per
OAC 340:50-3-2(a)(2).

(f) Eligibility determination. The worker determines
eligibility after the benefit renewal is signed, all required proof
is provided, an interview, if required, is conducted, and all
information evaluated.

(1) The eligibility determinationworker may be to:
(A) complete the benefit renewal without changes;
(B) complete the benefit renewal with changes; or
(C) close the benefit or benefits.

(2) Benefits closed may be reopened whenWhen ben-
efits close and the recipient provides required proof by the
last day of the month of closure, benefits may be reopened.

[OAR Docket #16-763; filed 10-6-16]

TITLE 710. OKLAHOMA TAX
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 45. GROSS PRODUCTION

[OAR Docket #16-761]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption

RULES:
Subchapter 9. Exemptions and Exclusions
Part 17. Economically At-Risk Leases
710:45-9-81. Definitions [AMENDED]
710:45-9-82. Exemption period [AMENDED]
710:45-9-83. Certification [AMENDED]
710:45-9-84. Refund procedure [AMENDED]

AUTHORITY:
68 O.S. §§ 203 and 1001.3a; Oklahoma Tax Commission

COMMENT PERIOD:
n/a

PUBLIC HEARING:
n/a

ADOPTION:
August 23, 2016 (Commission Order No. 2016-08-23-07)

APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:
September 30, 2016

EFFECTIVE:
Immediately upon Governor's approval

EXPIRATION:
Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or

disapproval by the Legislature
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

n/a
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:

n/a
FINDING OF EMERGENCY:

Amendments to Section 1001.3a of Title 68 were enacted into law pursuant
to SB 1577 authored by Senate President Pro Tempore Bingman of the Senate
and Speaker Hickman of the House, and signed by the Governor on May
25, 2016. The statutory language took effect on July 1, 2016. Therefore, an
emergency exists in which emergency rules need to be put in effect in order for
the Oklahoma Tax Commission to implement these new provisions in the law.
ANALYSIS:

The law provides that beginning on or after January 1, 2015, "economically
at-risk oil or gas lease" means any oil or gas lease with one or more producing
wells with an average production volume per well of ten (10) barrels of oil
or sixty (60) MCF of natural gas per day or less operated at a net loss or a
net profit, after a deduction of certain costs, which is less than the total gross
production tax remitted for such lease during the previous calendar year. The
total amount of claims to be paid for such leases shall not exceed Twelve
Million Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($12,500,000).
CONTACT PERSON:

Lisa Haws, OBA #12695, Tax Policy Analyst; (405) 521-3133.
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PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED AND EFFECTIVE
UPON APPROVAL BY THE GOVERNOR AS SET
FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION 253(F):

SUBCHAPTER 9. EXEMPTIONS AND
EXCLUSIONS

PART 17. ECONOMICALLY AT-RISK LEASES

710:45-9-81. Definitions
The following words and terms, when used in this Chapter,

shall have the following meaning, unless the context clearly in-
dicates otherwise:

"Economically at risk oil or gas lease" means prior
to calendar year 2015, any lease operated at a net loss or a
net profit which is less than the total gross production tax
remitted for such lease during the previous tax reporting year.
Beginning with calendar year 2015, and each year thereafter,
economically at-risk lease means any oil or gas lease with
one or more producing wells with an average production
volume per well of ten (10) barrels of oil or sixty (60) MCF of
natural gas per day or less. The "average production volume"
shall be determined based upon the Oklahoma Corporation
Commission well classification, wherein only the primary
product shall be used to determine the "average production
volume." For example, only production from wells classified
as oil wells shall be considered to determine average daily
production of oil and no production of natural gas from these
oil wells shall be used to determine if the lease meets the
definition. The lease in its entirety must be operated at a
net loss or at a net profit which is less than the total gross
production tax remitted for all products for such lease during
the qualifying calendar year.

"Lease" means a spaced unit, a separately metered forma-
tion within the spaced unit, or each tract within a Corporation
Commission approved unitization, or a lease which, for tax re-
porting purposes, has been assigned a production unit number.
A lease may contain one or more wells which have identical
interest and payout.

710:45-9-82. Exemption period
The exemption for economically at risk oil and gas leases

is limited to calendar years 2005 through 2020, with each year
being claimed separately. No claims for rebates regarding the
economically at risk leases shall be permitted after December
31, 2015 for production periods occurring between calendar
years 2005 through 2013. No claims for rebates regarding
the economically at risk leases for production periods occur-
ring between calendar years 2014 through 20202015 shall be
claimed or paid more than eighteen (18) months after the date
that the refund is first available. Claims for rebates regarding
economically at risk leases for production periods ending on
or before December 31, 2015 shall not be claimed until after

July 1 of the year following the year of production. Claims for
rebates regarding economically at risk leases for production
periods occurring in calendar years 2016 through 2020 shall
be claimed prior to July 1 of the year following the year of
production. Any claims for refunds received on or after July 1
of each year will not be accepted by the Tax Commission.

710:45-9-83. Certification
(a) General provisions. This Section establishes criteria for
determining whether an operator of an economically at risk oil
lease has met the required conditions to apply for an exemption
from gross production tax levied on such and establishes a pro-
cedure for the issuance of the refund.
(b) Application to Oklahoma Tax Commission; deter-
mination; approval. Any operator who desires to make
application to have a lease certified as being economically at
risk shall complete the appropriate OTC Form in its entirety
and file it with the Commission. The application must be
notarized and properly signed by the operator.
(c) Formula used to determine if lease is economically at
risk. The application sets out the formula used to determine if a
lease is economically at risk. This entails subtracting from the
gross revenue from each lease for the previous calendar year,
any severance taxes, royalty payments, and lease operating
expenses, including expendable workover and recompletion
costs for the previous calendar year, and overhead costs up to
the maximum overhead percentage allowed by the Council of
Petroleum Accountants Societies (COPAS). For purposes of
this calculation, depreciation, depletion, and intangible drilling
costs shall not be included in lease operating expenses.
(d) Commission may require additional information.
For audit purposes, the Commission may require additional
information, such as copies of the operators operator's Federal
Income Tax Return, joint interest billings, or other documenta-
tion regarding lease production or expenses.
(e) Letter of determination issued by Commission.
Within sixty days from the date the application is filed, the
Commission shall make its determination and shall issue,
either an approval letter or denial letter, to the lease operator.
If the exemption is denied, an explanation for the denial will be
provided. The applicant may file an appeal under provisions
of 68 O.S. §227, 228 and the Rules of this Commission.

710:45-9-84. Refund procedure
(a) Issuance of refund. Upon certification by the Commis-
sion, a refund of the gross production taxes paid in the previous
calendar year for the lease shall be issued after July 1 of the sub-
sequent year, to the well operator or a designee.
(b) Limitation of refund. For oil and natural gas produced
from qualifying economically at risk leases in calendar years
2015 through 2020, the total amount of refunds to be paid, as
provided for in 68 O.S. § 1001.3a, shall not exceed Twelve
Million Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($12,500,000.00) for
all products combined. If the amount of claims exceeds Twelve
Million Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($12,500,000.00), the
Tax Commission shall determine the percentage of the refund
which establishes the proportionate share of the refund that
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may be claimed by any taxpayer of a qualifying lease, so that
the maximum amount authorized is not exceeded.
(c) Assignment of a designee. If the refund is to be issued to
a party other than the recognized operator, a notarized affidavit,
signed by the be operator must be submitted to the Commission
authorizing the designee to receive the refund.

[OAR Docket #16-761; filed 10-6-16]

TITLE 710. OKLAHOMA TAX
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 50. INCOME

[OAR Docket #16-762]

RULEMAKING ACTION:
EMERGENCY adoption

RULES:
Subchapter 3. Returns and Reports
Part 5. Filing Status; Elections; Accounting Periods and Methods
710:50-3-35. Filing status and elections [AMENDED]
Subchapter 9. Refunds
710:50-9-3. Interest on refunds [AMENDED]
Subchapter 15. Oklahoma Taxable Income
Part 5. Other Adjustments to Income
710:50-15-50. Deductions [AMENDED]
Part 7. Credits against Tax
710:50-15-74. Credit for investment/new jobs [AMENDED]
710:50-15-76. Oklahoma coal credits [AMENDED]
710:50-15-90. Oklahoma earned income tax credit [AMENDED]
710:50-15-103. Credit for qualified railroad reconstruction or replacement

expenditures [AMENDED]
710:50-15-104. Credit for construction of energy efficient residential

property [AMENDED]
AUTHORITY:

68 O.S. §§ 203, 2357.11, 2357.46, and 2357.104; Oklahoma Tax
Commission
COMMENT PERIOD:

n/a
PUBLIC HEARING:

n/a
ADOPTION:

August 23, 2016 (Commission Order No. 2016-08-23-08)
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR:

September 30, 2016
EFFECTIVE:

Immediately upon Governor's approval
EXPIRATION:

Effective through September 14, 2017, unless superseded by another rule or
disapproval by the Legislature
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:

n/a
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE:

n/a
FINDING OF EMERGENCY:

Several statutory changes made by the 55th Legislature, 2nd Regular
Session (2016) are effective for the 2016 tax year. Therefore, an emergency
exists in which emergency rules need to be put in effect in order for the
Oklahoma Tax Commission to implement these new provisions in the law.
ANALYSIS:

Sections 710:50-3-35 and 710:50-15-50 have been amended to implement
the provisions of Senate Bill 1606 which requires state and local income taxes
or sales taxes included in itemized deductions be added back to calculate
Oklahoma taxable income (by subtracting them from itemized deductions)
effective for tax year 2016. 68:2358

Section 710:50-9-3 has been amended to implement the provisions of
House Bill 2775 (effective July 1, 2016) which requires the Tax Commission to
pay interest on refunds claimed on returns filed electronically if those refunds
are not paid within forty-five (45) days. 68:217

Section 710:50-15-74 has been amended to implement the provisions
of Senate Bill 1582 which relates to the Investment/New Jobs Income Tax
Credit, by limiting the amount of credit for various periods by implementing a
$25,000,000 annual cap for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2016 and
ending on or before December 31, 2018. 68:2357.4

Section 710:50-15-76 has been amended to implement the provisions of
Senate Bill 1614 which relates to the Coal Credit, by limiting this credit to
seventy-five percent 75% of the amount allowed under current law, effective
January 1, 2016. 68:2357.11

Section 710:50-15-90 has been amended to implement the provisions of
Senate Bill 1604 which relates to the Oklahoma Earned Income Credit, by
eliminating the refundable aspect of this credit beginning with tax year 2016.
68:2357.43

Section 710:50-15-103 has been amended to implement the provisions of
House Bill 3204, which relates to the Credit for Railroad Modernization, by
reducing this credit by twenty-five percent (25%) for tax years beginning on or
after January 1, 2016. 68:2357.104

Section 710:50-15-104 has been amended to implement the provisions
of Senate Bill 1603, which relates to Credit for the Construction of Energy
Efficient Homes, by eliminating this credit for any period on or after July 1,
2016. 68:2357.46
CONTACT PERSON:

Lisa Haws, OBA #12695, Tax Policy Analyst; (405) 521-3133.

PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN,
THE FOLLOWING EMERGENCY RULES ARE
CONSIDERED PROMULGATED AND EFFECTIVE
UPON APPROVAL BY THE GOVERNOR AS SET
FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTION 253(F):

SUBCHAPTER 3. RETURNS AND REPORTS

PART 5. FILING STATUS; ELECTIONS;
ACCOUNTING PERIODS AND METHODS

710:50-3-35. Filing status and elections
For the purpose of determining any income tax liability,

a taxpayer's filing status, and any elections, such as itemized
deductions (subject to the limitations in OAC 710:50-15-50),
shall be the same as on the Federal Income Tax Return. In
cases where no return has been filed, any information made
available by the I.R.S., whether a Revenue Agents Report
(R.A.R.), or other related return information, shall constitute
the filing status and elections for the purpose of the determina-
tion, assessment, and collection of any Oklahoma Income Tax
liability.

SUBCHAPTER 9. REFUNDS

710:50-9-3. Interest on refunds
(a) Returns filed prior to January 1, 2004. For returns
filed on or after January 1, 1987, and before January 1, 2004,
interest will be paid on income tax refunds that are not pro-
cessed within ninety (90) days from the date a processible
return is filed or due, whichever is later, at the same rate of
interest specified for delinquent tax payments.
(b) Returns filed on or after January 1, 2004 and before
January 2, 2010. In the case of returns filed on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2004 and before January 2, 2010, a taxpayer will be
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entitled to interest paid at the same rate specified for delinquent
tax payments if the refund is not paid to the taxpayer within the
following time periods:

(1) For electronically-filed returns, thirty (30) days
from the date a processible return is filed or due, whichever
is later; and,
(2) For all other returns, one hundred fifty (150) days
from the date a processible return is filed or due, whichever
is later.

(c) Returns filed after January 1, 2010 and before July 1,
2016. For returns filed after January 1, 2010 and before July 1,
2016, a taxpayer will be entitled to interest paid at the same rate
specified for delinquent tax payments if the refund is not paid to
the taxpayer within the following time periods:

(1) For electronically-filed returns, twenty (20) days
from the date a processible return is filed, and
(2) For all other returns, ninety (90) days from the date
a processible return is filed.

(d) Returns filed on or after July 1, 2016. For returns filed
on or after July 1, 2016, a taxpayer will be entitled to interest
paid at the same rate specified for delinquent tax payments if
the refund is not paid to the taxpayer within the following time
periods:

(1) For electronically-filed returns, forty-five (45) days
from the date a processible return is filed, and
(2) For all other returns, ninety (90) days from the date
a processible return is filed.

(e) Processible return. To be "processible", all informa-
tion on the return, including the computations, must be correct
and all documents required by the Tax Commission must be
included. In the case of an Amended Oklahoma Income Tax
Return with a federal adjusted gross income change, the return
must be accompanied by documentation to substantiate that the
I.R.S. accepted the requested change. [See: 68 O.S. § 217(H)]
(ef) Exceptions. Alternative statutory provisions apply in
the following instances:

(1) Interest will not be paid on refunds that are inter-
cepted for state or federal agencies. See provisions of
Subchapter 11 of this Chapter. [See: 68 O.S. § 217(H)]
(2) In the event of litigation, interest will be paid in ac-
cordance with 68 O.S. §2374.
(3) In the case of refunds made to recover taxes ille-
gally collected on bonus payments from oil and gas leases
located on tax exempt Indian lands interest at 6 percent
(6%) per annum will be calculated from the date of pay-
ment by the taxpayer, until the date the refund is issued.
[See: 68 O.S.§ 2373]

SUBCHAPTER 15. OKLAHOMA TAXABLE
INCOME

PART 5. OTHER ADJUSTMENTS TO INCOME

710:50-15-50. Deductions
(a) Oklahoma itemized deductions to income will be the
same as Federal itemized deductions, subject to the limitation

in (i) of this Section. In the event the standard deduction is
used on the Federal Return, the Oklahoma standard deduction
must be used.
(b) For tax year 2005 and prior, the standard deduction for
Oklahoma is the larger of $1,000.00 or 15% of Oklahoma
Adjusted Gross Income not to exceed $2,000.00 (if married
filing separately, the larger of $500.00 or 15% not to exceed
$1,000.00).
(c) For tax year 2006, taxpayers filing as married joint, head
of household or surviving spouse will have a standard deduc-
tion for Oklahoma of $3,000.00. Taxpayers filing as single or
married separate will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma
of $2,000.00.
(d) For tax year 2007, taxpayers filing as married joint or
surviving spouse will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma
of $5,500.00. Taxpayers filing as single or married separate
will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma of $2,750.00.
Taxpayers filing as head of household will have a standard
deduction for Oklahoma of $4,125.00.
(e) For tax year 2008, taxpayers filing as married joint, or
surviving spouse will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma
of $6,500.00. Taxpayers filing as single or married separate
will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma of $3,250.00.
Taxpayers filing as head of household will have a standard
deduction for Oklahoma of $4,875.00.
(f) For tax year 2009, taxpayers filing as married joint, or
surviving spouse will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma
of $8,500.00. Taxpayers filing as single or married separate
will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma of $4,250.00.
Taxpayers filing as head of household will have a standard
deduction for Oklahoma of $6,375.00.
(g) For tax year 2010 and subsequent tax years, taxpayers
will have a standard deduction for Oklahoma equal to the stan-
dard deduction allowed by the Internal Revenue Code of 1986
based upon the amount and filing status prescribed by the Code
for purposes of filing federal individual income tax returns.
(h) Taxpayers will be required to add back the "qualified mo-
tor vehicle taxes" which were allowed as an itemized deduction
on the Federal return under the provisions of the American Re-
covery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.
(i) For tax year 2016 and subsequent tax years, taxpayers
shall add back state and local sales or income taxes which were
allowed as an itemized deduction on the Federal income tax
return.

PART 7. CREDITS AGAINST TAX

710:50-15-74. Credit for investment/new jobs
(a) For tax years 1981 through 1987. For tax years 1981
through 1987 the Oklahoma Investment/New Jobs Credit is al-
lowed for Oklahoma Income Tax purposes only on investment
in qualified depreciable property which directly results in a net
increase in the number of employees engaged in manufacturing
or processing in this state.
(b) For 1988, and later years. For 1988, and later years, the
Oklahoma Investment/New Jobs Credit may be calculated on
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the investment or new employees when other qualifications are
met. (See OTC Form 506).
(c) Examples. A company engaged in the process of cook-
ing hamburgers for sale to the general public does not qualify
for the Investment/New Jobs Credit. The Oklahoma Supreme
Court determined, in the case McDonald's Corp. vs. Okla-
homa Tax Commission, 563 P.2d 635 (Okla. 1977), that a
company engaged in retail sales or a service organization (laun-
dry, transportation, oil & gas production, drilling, restaurant,
repair services, etc.) does not qualify for Oklahoma Invest-
ment/New Jobs Credit. [See: 68 O.S. §§ 2357.4, 2357.5]
(d) "Processing" defined. For purposes of this Section,
"processing" means the preparation of tangible personal
property for market. "Processing" begins when the form, con-
text, or condition of the tangible personal property is changed
with the intent of eventually transforming the property into a
saleable product. "Processing" ends when the property being
processed is in the form in which it is ultimately intended to be
sold at retail. A business that has the majority of its emphasis
on the retail side of business does not qualify as a processor or
a manufacturer for purposes of this credit.
(e) Leasing of employees by manufacturing or process-
ing entity for purposes of the new jobs credit. A company
that engages in manufacturing or processing may still qual-
ify for the Oklahoma New Jobs Credit pursuant to 68 O.S. §
2357.4 even though they lease their employees through an
employee leasing company. The leased employees must still
meet the requirements of 68 O.S. § 2357.4 for full-time equiv-
alent employees and there must exist an employer-employee
relationship between the leased employees and the employer
who seeks the new jobs credit pursuant to 68 O.S. § 2357.4.
Whether the employer-employee relationship exists between
the employer manufacturing or processing entity and an em-
ployee who is leased will be determined on a case by case basis
by considering the following factors:

(1) The right of the employer to control the details of
the employees work;
(2) The employer furnishing the tools and the work-
place;
(3) The employee having taxes, worker's compensation
and unemployment insurance funds withheld and the
employer being liable for these items;
(4) The employer's right to discharge the employee;
and
(5) The permanency of the employer-employee rela-
tionship.

(f) Transfer of employees. The transfer of employees to or
from a leasing company cannot generate any additional credit,
nor will any transfer of employees extend the period of time in
which a current credit may be claimed.
(g) Carryover. Any credits allowed based on assets placed
into service prior to January 1, 2000, or an increase in employ-
ment but not used may be carried over, in order, to each of the
four (4) years following the year of qualification, and to the ex-
tent not used in those years, in order, to each of the fifteen (15)
years following the initial five-year period. Credits allowed
for assets placed into service after December 31, 1999, but not
used may be carried over, in order, to each of the four (4) years

following the year of qualification, and to the extent not used in
those years, to any year following the initial five-year period.
(h) Limitations.

(1) No qualified establishment, nor its contractors or
subcontractors, that has received or is receiving an in-
centive payment pursuant to Section 3601 et seq. of the
Oklahoma Statutes, (Oklahoma Quality Jobs Program
Act), Section 3901 et seq. of the Oklahoma Statutes,
(Small Employer Quality Jobs Incentive Act) or Section
3911 et seq. of the Oklahoma Statutes (21st Century
Quality Jobs Incentive Act) shall be eligible to receive
the credit described in this Section in connection with the
activity and establishment for which incentive payments
have been, or are being received. Effective January 1,
2010, this limitation does not apply to the investment /
new jobs credit earned under 68 O.S. § 2357.4 (which
requires a $40 million investment within a three (3) year
time period). Further, the entity must pay an annualized
wage which equals or exceeds the state average wage. The
qualifying entity must also obtain a determination letter
from the Oklahoma Department of Commerce that the
business activity of the entity will result in a positive net
benefit rate. [See: 68 O.S. §§ 3607, 3909 and 3919]
(2) Business entities that benefit from proceeds of
obligations issued by the Oklahoma Development Finance
Authority from the Economic Development Pool may not
claim any investment tax credits during the period of time
that withholding taxes attributable to the payroll of said
entity are being paid to the Community Economic Devel-
opment Pooled Finance Revolving Fund or in any manner
used for the payment of principal, interest or other costs
associated with any obligations issued by the Oklahoma
Development Finance Authority pursuant to the provi-
sions Oklahoma Community Economic Development
Pooled Finance Act.
(3) Effective for tax years beginning on or after January
1, 2016 and ending on or before December 31, 2018, no
more than Twenty-five Million Dollars ($25,000,000.00)
of credit may be allowed as an offset in a taxable year. The
formula to be used for the percentage adjustment shall be
Twenty-five Million Dollars ($25,000,000.00) divided by
the amount of credits used to offset tax in the second pre-
ceding year. [68 O.S. § 2357.4(L)] The Tax Commission
shall determine the percentage which may be claimed as
a credit no later than September 1 of each calendar year.
Any credits carried over into or earned during the 2016,
2017, and 2018 tax years but which are not allowed to
be offset against income tax due to the application of the
Twenty-five Million Dollar ($25,000,000.00) cap may be
carried over as outlined in subsection (g) and will be avail-
able to offset income tax in subsequent tax years.

(i) Tax credit moratorium.
(1) Credits based on assets placed in service or jobs cre-
ated prior to July 1, 2010 are not affected by the tax credit
moratorium and may be claimed as provided under 68 O.S.
§ 2357.4.
(2) No credit may be claimed for assets placed in ser-
vice or new jobs created on or after July 1, 2010 through
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June 30, 2012. Credits generated during this time period
are deferred, and may be claimed beginning with tax year
2012 returns, subject to the following limitations:

(A) Credits accrued during the period from July
1, 2010 through June 30, 2012, shall be limited to a
period of two (2) taxable years.
(B) Only fifty percent (50%) of the total amount of
the credit generated between July 1, 2010 and June 30,
2012 may be claimed each taxable year.
(C) Amended returns shall not be filed after July 1,
2012 to claim the credits generated between July 1,
2010 and June 30, 2012 for tax years prior to tax year
2012.

(3) For example, a calendar year taxpayer places qual-
ifying assets of $150,000.00 in service in August 2010
which generates $1,500.00 of credit for investment/new
jobs per tax year for a five (5) year period (tax year 2010
through 2014) for a total of $7,500.00. This results in
the taxpayer generating $3,000.00 of tax credits between
July 1, 2010 and June 30, 2012. The taxpayer can initially
claim $1,500.00 in tax year 2012 and $1,500.00 in tax year
2013 of credits generated during the moratorium. Tax-
payer may also claim an additional $1,500.00 of credits in
both tax year 2012 and 2013. Final $1,500.00 of credits
can be claimed in tax year 2014.

710:50-15-76. Oklahoma coal credits
(a) General provisions applicable to qualifying business
entities purchasing Oklahoma-mined coal. There shall be
allowed a credit against the tax imposed by Sections 1803
and 2355 of Title 68 or Sections 624 and 628 of Title 36 of the
Oklahoma Statutes for legal business entities purchasing Okla-
homa-mined coal for qualifying purposes. In order to qualify
for the Oklahoma Coal Credit, the business entity must either
furnish water, heat, light, or power to the citizens or to the State
of Oklahoma, or burn coal to generate heat, light, or power for
use in manufacturing operations in Oklahoma. [See: 68 O.S. §
2357.11; Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 112 S.Ct. 789 (1992)]

(1) Basic credit. For tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1993, and ending on or before December 31,
2005 and for the period beginning January 1, 2006 through
June 30, 2006, the credit shall be Two Dollars ($2.00) per
ton of Oklahoma-mined coal purchased. For the period
July 1, 2006 through December 31, 2006 and for tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2007 and ending on or
before December 31, 2021, the credit shall be Two Dollars
and eighty-five cents ($2.85) per ton of Oklahoma-mined
coal purchased, except as provided in (h) of this Section.
(2) Extended basic credit. For the period July 1, 2006
through December 31, 2006 and for tax years beginning on
or after January 1, 2007 and ending on or before December
31, 2021, the credit shall be Two Dollars and fifteen cents
($2.15) per ton of Oklahoma-mined coal purchased. The
extended basic credit may not be claimed or transferred
prior to January 1, 2008, except as provided in (h) of this
Section.
(3) Additional credit for large quantity purchasers.
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1995, and

ending on or before December 31, 2005 and for the period
beginning January 1, 2006 through June 30, 2006, there
shall be allowed, in addition to the credit described in (1)
of this subsection, a supplemental credit of Three Dol-
lars ($3.00) per ton of Oklahoma-mined coal purchased.
However, to obtain the credit described in this paragraph,
purchases must total at least Seven Hundred Fifty Thou-
sand (750,000) tons of Oklahoma-mined coal in the tax
year for which credit is sought.

(b) General provisions applicable to qualifying business
entities that mine, produce, or extract coal. For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2001, and ending on or before
December 31, 2021, there shall be allowed a credit against
the tax imposed by Sections 1803 and 2355 of Title 68 or
Sections 624 and 628 of Title 36 of the Oklahoma Statutes for
every business entity in this state primarily engaged in mining,
production, or extraction of coal, and holding a valid permit
issued by the Oklahoma Department of Mines, so long as the
average price of coal mined, produced, or extracted in any
month for which credits are claimed is less than Sixty-eight
Dollars ($68.00) per ton.

(1) Basic credit. For tax years beginning on or af-
ter January 1, 2001 and ending on or before December
31, 2005, and for the period beginning January 1, 2006
through June 30, 2006, the credit shall be Ninety-five
Cents ($0.95) per ton and for the period of July 1, 2006
through December 31, 2006, and for tax years beginning
on or after January 1, 2007 and ending on or before De-
cember 31, 2021, the credit shall be Five Dollars ($5.00)
for each ton of coal mined, produced, or extracted in, on,
under, or through a permit in this state, except as provided
in (h) of this Section.
(2) Additional credit for thin seam coal. For tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 2001 and ending
on or before December 31, 2005, and for the period of
January 1, 2006 through June 30, 2006, there shall be
allowed, in addition to that described in (1) of this subsec-
tion, a supplemental credit in the amount of Ninety-five
Cents ($0.95) per ton of coal mined, produced, or extracted
from thin seams in this state, so long as the purchaser of
the thin seam coal purchases less than Seven Hundred
Fifty Thousand (750,000) tons of Oklahoma coal per year.
(3) Extended credit for thin seam coal. For tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2005 and ending on or
before December 31, 2005, for the period of January 1,
2006, through June 30, 2006, there shall be allowed, in
addition to that described in (1) and (2) of this subsection,
a supplemental credit in the amount of Ninety-five Cents
($0.95) per ton of coal mined, produced, or extracted from
thin seams in this state on or after July 1, 2005.

(c) Transferability. The coal credits allowed, but not used,
shall be freely transferable by written agreement to subsequent
transferees, at any time during the five (5) years following the
year of qualification.

(1) "Eligible transferee" defined. For purposes of
this subsection, an "eligible transferee" means any tax-
payer subject to the tax imposed by Section 1803 or 2355
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of Title 68 or Section 624 or 628 of Title 36 of the Okla-
homa Statutes. [See: 68 O.S. § 2357.11(H)] Pursuant to
the statutory definition, an "eligible transferee" taxpayer
may be an individual, as well as a legal business entity.
(2) Written transfer agreement requirements. The
business entity which originally earned the credit and the
subsequent transferee must jointly file a copy of the writ-
ten transfer agreement with the Commission, within thirty
(30) days of the transfer. The written agreement must con-
tain the name, address, and taxpayer identification number
of the parties to the transfer, the amount of credit being
transferred, the year the credit was originally allowed to
the transferring entity, and the tax year or years for which
the credit may be claimed.
(3) Claiming transferred credit. A copy of OTC
Form 572 must be attached to any tax return on which a
taxpayer claims a transferred credit.
(4) Limitation of transferability. Credits earned after
December 31, 2013, shall not be transferable.

(d) Application of credit election. Any coal credit may,
upon the election of the taxpayer, be claimed as a payment
of tax, a prepayment of tax, or a payment of estimated tax for
purposes of Section 1803 or 2355 of Title 68 or Section 624 or
628 of Title 36. In no event shall the credit reduce the tax below
zero, and as such, this credit is non-refundable. Coal credits
shall not be used to lower the price of any Oklahoma-mined
coal sold that is produced by a subsidiary of the person re-
ceiving a tax credit under this section to other buyers of the
Oklahoma-mined coal.
(e) Carryover provisions. Any coal credit earned prior to
January 1, 2014, to the extent not used, may be carried over in
order to each of the five (5) years following the year of qualifi-
cation. However, at no time may the credit claimed exceed the
tax liability for credits earned prior to January 1, 2014.
(f) Refund of tax credits. Credits earned on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2014, but not used, shall be refunded to the taxpayer at
eighty-five percent (85%) of the face amount of the credits. If
the taxpayer is a pass-through entity and does not file a claim
for a direct refund, the pass-through entity shall allocate the
credit to one or more of the shareholders, partners or mem-
bers of the pass-through entity. The total amount of credits
refunded or allocated shall not exceed the amount of the credit
or refund to which the pass-through entity is entitled.
(g) Tax credit moratorium. No credit may be claimed for
coal purchased, mined, produced or extracted during the period
of July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2012, for which the credit
would otherwise be allowable. This credit may be claimed for
tax year 2012 and subsequent tax years, for Oklahoma-mined
coal for qualifying purposes purchased, mined, produced or
extracted on or after July 1, 2012.
(h) Tax credit limitation. For any credits calculated pur-
suant to (a)(1) or (a)(2), or (b)(1) of this Section for activi-
ties occurring on or after January 1, 2016, the amount of credit
allowed shall be equal to seventy-five percent (75%) of the
amount otherwise provided. [68 O.S. § 2357.11(N)]

710:50-15-90. Oklahoma earned income tax credit
(a) Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1,
2002, there shall be an Oklahoma Earned Income Tax Credit
for resident and part year resident individuals.
(b) The Oklahoma Earned Income Tax Credit shall be an
amount equal to five percent (5%) of the Federal Earned In-
come Tax Credit allowed under Section 32 of the Internal
Revenue Code. Effective for tax year 2016 and subsequent
tax years, if the credit exceeds the tax imposed by Section
2355 of Title 68, the excess amount shall not be refunded
to the taxpayer, nor shall any amount be carried forward to
a subsequent tax year. The Oklahoma Earned Income Tax
Credit may not be paid in advance and must be claimed on the
individual income tax return when filed.
(c) The credit is to be prorated on the ratio that Oklahoma
Adjusted Gross Income bears to Federal Adjusted Gross In-
come, not to exceed one hundred percent (100%). When the
Oklahoma Adjusted Gross Income or the Federal Adjusted
Gross Income areis negative the ratio will be determined as
follows:

(1) When the Oklahoma Adjusted Gross Income is
negative and is less than the Federal Adjusted Gross In-
come, the ratio shall be 0%. (For example: Oklahoma
Adjusted Gross Income is negative $1,000 and the Federal
Adjusted Gross Income is negative $500, the ratio shall be
0%).
(2) When the Federal Adjusted Gross Income is neg-
ative and is equal to or less than the Oklahoma Adjusted
Gross Income, the ratio will be 100%. (For example:
Oklahoma Adjusted Gross Income is negative $500 and
the Federal Adjusted Gross Income is negative $1,000 the
ratio is 100%).

710:50-15-103. Credit for qualified railroad
reconstruction or replacement
expenditures

(a) General provisions. For tax years beginning after
12/31/05December 31, 2005 there is a credit allowed against
the tax imposed by Section 2355 of Title 68 equal to 50%
of an eligible taxpayer's qualified railroad reconstruction or
replacement expenditures.
(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this Section, shall have the following meaning, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) "Eligible taxpayer" means any railroad that is
classified by the United States Surface Transportation
Board as a Class II or Class III railroad.
(2) "Qualified railroad reconstruction or replace-
ment expenditures" means expenditures for recon-
struction or replacement of railroad infrastructure. This
includes track, roadbed, bridges, industrial leads and
track-related structures owned or leased by a Class II or
Class III railroad as of January 1, 2006. Qualified railroad
reconstruction or replacement expenditures can also in-
clude new construction of industrial leads, switches, spurs
and sidings and extensions of existing sidings by a Class II
or Class III railroad.

(c) Limitations.
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(1) The amount of the credit may not exceed the prod-
uct of Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) for tax year 2007
and Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) for tax years 2008
and the number of miles of railroad track owned or leased
within this state by the eligible taxpayer as of the close
of the taxable year. In tax year 2009 and subsequent tax
years, an eligible taxpayer may elect to increase the limit
for tax year 2008 to an amount equal to three times the
amount specified. However, the taxpayer may only claim
one third (1/3) of the credit in any one taxable period. An
eligible taxpayer who elects to increase the limitation on
the credit will not be granted additional credits during the
period of such election
(2) Effective for tax years beginning on or after January
1, 2016, the credit is limited to seventy-five percent (75%)
of the otherwise allowable credit. [68 O.S. § 2357.104(H)]

(d) Transferability. The credits allowed pursuant to this
Section that are not used are freely transferable by written
agreement, to subsequent transferees, at any time during the
five (5) years following the year of qualification.

(1) "Eligible transferee" defined. For purposes of
this subsection, an "eligible transferee" shall be any
taxpayer subject to the tax imposed by Section 2355 of
Title 68.
(2) Written transfer agreement requirements. The
person originally allowed the credit and the subsequent
transferee must jointly file a copy of the written transfer
agreement with the Commission, within thirty (30) days
of the transfer. The written agreement must contain the
name, address, and taxpayer identification number of the
parties to the transfer, the amount of credit being trans-
ferred, the year the credit was originally allowed to the
transferring person, and the tax year or years for which the
credit may be claimed.

(e) Carryover provisions. Any credit allowed pursuant to
the provisions of this Section, to the extent not used, may be
carried over in order to each of the five (5) years following the
year of qualification.
(f) Tax credit moratorium. No credit may be claimed for
qualified railroad reconstruction or replacement expenditures
occurring during the period of July 1, 2010 through June 30,
2012, for which the credit would otherwise be allowable.
Qualified railroad reconstruction or replacement expenditures
occurring before July 1, 2010 will qualify for the tax credit
regardless of when the Department of Transportation issues
the certificate of verification of completion of the project. This
credit may be claimed for tax year 2012 and subsequent tax
years, for qualified railroad reconstruction or replacement
expenditures on or after July 1, 2012.

710:50-15-104. Credit for construction of energy efficient
residential property

(a) General provisions. Effective for taxthe time period be-
ginning on or after January 1, 2006, and ending on or be-
fore July 1, 2016year 2006, a credit is available for contractors
who construct either energy efficient residential property or en-
ergy efficient manufactured homes. The credit is dollar for dol-
lar based on the cost of certain eligible expenditures.

(b) Definitions. For purposes of this Section, the following
words and terms, shall have the following meaning, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) "Contractor" is the taxpayer who actually con-
structed the residential property or manufactured home.
In cases if more than one person qualifies as the contractor,
the primary contractor.
(2) "Eligible energy efficient residential prop-
erty" means a newly constructed residential property
or manufactured home property located in the State of
Oklahoma. Further the home cannot exceed two thousand
(2,000) square feet in order to be eligible for the credit.
The eligible energy efficient residential property must be
substantially complete after December 31, 2005.
(3) "Eligible expenditure" includes the cost of energy
efficient heating or cooling systems, insulation material
specifically designed to reduce the heat gain or loss of a
residential property, exterior windows, exterior doors or
metal roofs with appropriate pigmented coatings designed
to reduce the heat gain which meets Energy Star program
requirements.
(4) "Home energy ratings" means a confirmed rating
involving an on-site inspection of a home by a residential
energy efficiency professional trained and certified by a
Residential Energy Services Network accredited home
energy rater.
(5) "Residential energy services network provider"
means an accredited home energy inspector certified by
Residential Energy Services Network.
(6) "Residential property" means a single dwelling
unit, duplex, or townhouse with three stories or less, that
provides independent living and could be sold or leased as
separate property. The term does not include Group R-2
and R-4 residential buildings as defined in the Interna-
tional Energy Conservation Code.
(7) "Substantially complete" means the residential
property or manufactured home has a certificate of occu-
pancy issued if located in a municipality. For residential
property or manufactured home in non-metropolitan area,
the property will be substantially complete after passing
the appropriate inspections required under the applicable
County Building Codes permitted under 19 O.S. § 863.44.

(c) Amount of credit.
(1) The credit is capped at Four Thousand Dollars
($4,000) for those residential properties that are certified
at forty percent (40%) or above of the International Energy
Conservation Code 2003 and any supplement in effect at
the time of completion. If the residential property is certi-
fied between twenty percent (20%) and thirty-nine (39%)
of the International Energy Conservation Code of 2003
and any supplement in effect at the time of completion, the
credit is limited to Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00).
(2) The credit is not available if the residential property
is in excess of Two Thousand (2,000) square feet.

(d) Carryover provisions. Any credit allowed pursuant to
the Section, to the extent not used, may be carried over in order
to each of the four (4) years following the year of qualification.
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However, at no time may the credit claimed exceed the tax
liability.
(e) Transfer of the credit. Effective for credits earned on or
after August 25, 2006, the credit for construction of energy effi-
cient residential property may be transferred.
(f) Tax credit moratorium. No credit may be claimed
for any expenditure made during the period of July 1, 2010
through June 30, 2012, for which the credit would otherwise be
allowable. A credit will be allowed for eligible expenditures
made prior to July 1, 2010 regardless of when the property is
substantially complete. This credit may be claimed for tax
year 2012 and subsequent tax years, for eligible expenditures

made on or after July 1, 2012, by contractors who construct
either energy efficient residential property or energy efficient
manufactured homes.
(g) Termination of the credit. No credit may be claimed
for any expenditure made on or after July 1, 2016 for which
the credit would otherwise be allowable. The credit shall be
allowed for eligible expenditures made prior to July 1, 2016;
however, the property must be substantially complete before
January 1, 2017.

[OAR Docket #16-762; filed 10-6-16]
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