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OKLAHOMA’S PERMANENT 
RULEMAKING PROCESS

An Overview for Oklahoma’s Regulatory Agencies12/7/2015

Source:  Administrative Procedures Act [75:250 et seq.], as amended effective 11-1-13 ; 
Executive Order 2013-34; Administrative Rules on Rulemaking [OAC 655:10]
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Drafting1.

As directed or authorized by 
statute, agency determines need 
for new rules or revisions to 
existing rules.

Agency drafts proposed rules 
pursuant to numbering and 
format requirements in SOS's 
rules, using underscoring and 
strikeouts to identify new and 
deleted language.

Agencies may NOT “establish or increase FEES, except during such times as
the Legislature is in session, UNLESS specifically mandated by the 
Legislature or federal legislation, or when the failure to establish or increase 
fees would conflict with an order issued by a court of law” [74:3117].

Notice of Intended Action2.

Notice of Rulemaking Intent:

Agency files Notice of 
Rulemaking Intent (NRI) with 
Office of Administrative Rules 
(OAR). 
OAR reviews, accepts, and 
publishes NRI in Oklahoma
Register, which is published 
semi-monthly.

NRI includes:
Summary of proposed rules, need, intended effect, and 
legal authority 
Dates of a minimum 30-day comment period, and 
how/where public can submit comments
Date, time, and location of a public hearing, scheduled for 
at least 30 days after NRI's publication - OR, if no hearing 
is scheduled, how and where persons can demand hearing 
How to obtain copies of proposed rules 
When the Rule Impact Statement (RIS) will be available, 
and how to obtain copies – RIS must be prepared and 
available within 15 days after NRI published, unless RIS 
requirement waived in writing by Governor 
Request for input from business entities, if business entities 
will be affected by proposed rules
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Notice of Intended Action – Cont’d2.

Notice to Governor/Cabinet Secretary:

As required by EO 2013-34, “simultaneously 
with filing a Notice of Rulemaking Intent with 
the [OAR],” agency emails copy of proposed 
rules to Governor and agency’s Cabinet 
Secretary.  [See EO 2015-07 for Cabinet assignments]

NOTE:  If agency receives written disapproval from Governor 
or Cabinet Secretary within 45 days after emailing proposed 
rules to them, agency may NOT proceed with adoption of the 
proposed rules. 

Notice of Intended Action – Cont’d2.

Additional notifications:
If rules establish or increase fees, agency notifies Governor, Speaker, President Pro Tempore, 
and House Administrative Rules Review Committee of intended action via State Online Filing 
System.

Within 3 days after publication of NRI, agency makes NRI and RIS available to persons who 
have made timely request for advance notice of agency’s proposed actions, as follows:

Agency mails copies of NRI and RIS, if available, to interested parties.
- AND/OR -

Agency electronically notifies interested persons that proposed rules and RIS, if available,  
may be viewed on agency's website.

Within 15 days after publication, by date announced in NRI, agency prepares RIS and makes 
available to public upon request.
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Public Input3.

Comment period – Agency conducts 
comment period (minimum of 30 days), as 
announced in NRI.
Public hearing –

If hearing was announced in NRI, agency 
conducts public hearing.
If no hearing was announced in NRI, and 
if hearing is demanded by qualifying 
party(ies)*, agency must publish a new 
NRI announcing hearing that is scheduled 
for at least 30 days after new NRI will 
be published. 

* Qualifying parties are identified in 75:303(C)(1):
At least ten persons,
A political subdivision,
An agency, OR
An association having not less than 25 
members

Adoption4.

Agency considers public comments and proceeds pursuant to one of the 
following:

Agency adopts rules as proposed (i.e., without revision).
- OR -

Agency revises rules in response to public comments and adopts rules as 
revised.
- OR -

Agency determines that additional public comment should be solicited, 
and publishes new NRI announcing hearing scheduled for at least 30 
days after publication of new NRI.

NOTE:  AFTER ADOPTION, A NOTICE OF WITHDRAWN RULES MUST BE PUBLISHED IF 
THE AGENCY DISCONTINUES THE RULEMAKING ACTION --- If agency discontinues a 
rulemaking action after adoption and prior to final adoption, agency notifies Governor 
and Legislature via State Online Filing System, and submits Notice of Withdrawn Rules 
to OAR for publication in Register.
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Submission for Review5.

Within 10 calendar days after adoption, agency 
submits adopted rules and Agency Rule Report*
(including RIS) to:

Governor, Legislature, and OAR via State 
Online Filing System.
- AND -

Advisory Committee on Intergovernmental 
Relations, if rules impact a political subdivision 
- i.e., “a county, city, incorporated town or 
school district” [75:250.3(15)].

State Online Filing System
https://www.ok.gov/state/filings

* 75:303(E) sets out 15 items to be addressed by 
an agency in the Agency Rule Report, such as a 
summary of the proposed rules, identification of 
the agency’s statutory authority for adopting the 
rules, and a “summary of  comments received and 
explanation of  changes or lack of  any change made” 
as a result of those comments.

Submission for Review – Cont’d5.

Agency files Statement of Submission 
for Review (SR) with OAR. OAR 
reviews, accepts, and publishes SR in 
Register.
OAR reviews adopted rules and 
returns "red-marked pages" (RMP's) 
or "format-approved pages" (FAP's) 
directly to agency.

NOTE:  Agency retains RMP’s or FAP’s for later use when 
preparing “finally adopted” rules for publication in Register. 
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Legislative Action6.

Legislative Review Period:

If rules are received by Legislature 
on or before April 1, the 
Legislature has until the last day of 
the current regular session to review 
rules.
If rules are received by Legislature 
after April 1, the Legislature has 
until the last day of the next regular 
session to review rules.

Legislative Action – Cont’d6.

Options for Legislative Action:
Approve or disapprove rules, in whole or in part, by omnibus joint resolution* during 
legislative review period 
- OR -

Approve or disapprove rules, in whole or in part, by joint resolution during legislative 
review period
- OR -
Approve rules by overriding Governor's veto of a joint or omnibus joint resolution 
approving the rules 
- OR -
Disapprove rules by overriding Governor’s veto of a joint or omnibus joint resolution 
disapproving the rules

* 75:308.3 directs the Legislature to “have an omnibus joint resolution prepared 
for consideration each session . . . in the following form: ‘All proposed permanent 
rules of Oklahoma state agencies filed on or before April 1 are hereby approved 
except for the following:’."
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Gubernatorial Action7.

Options for Gubernatorial Action:

Sign joint or omnibus joint resolution 
approving/disapproving rules
- OR -
Veto joint resolution approving/ 
disapproving rules
- OR -
Veto omnibus joint resolution 
approving/disapproving rules
- OR -
Issue Governor’s Declaration 
approving rules (must be published in 
Register by July 17)

Governor’s Declaration:
If an agency believes that a rule disapproved 
by omnibus resolution should be approved 
and finally adopted, the agency may seek a 
Governor's Declaration approving the rule. 
If the Legislature fails to pass an omnibus 
resolution or the resolution is found to have a 
technical legal defect, the Governor may 
issue a Governor’s Declaration declaring 
rules to be approved and finally adopted. 
[75:308.3(D)]

Gubernatorial Action – Cont’d7.

Pursuant to Section 11 of Article 6 of the Oklahoma Constitution, in order 
to become law, every bill that has passed the Senate and the House of 
Representatives must be presented to the Governor for approval.

For all bills OTHER THAN those passed on the date of 
adjournment (“sine die”), the Governor has five (5) days to sign 
or veto the bill, excepting Sundays.  If the Governor does not take 
action within these five (5) days, the bill becomes law.
For all bills passed on sine die, the Governor has fifteen (15) days 
to sign or veto the bill.  If the Governor does not take action within 
these fifteen (15) days, the bill does NOT become law (otherwise 
known as a “pocket veto”).   
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Gubernatorial Action – Cont’d7.

§ 11. Approval or veto of bills - Passage over veto - Failure to return bill.

Every bill which shall have passed the Senate and House of Representatives, and every 
resolution requiring the assent of both branches of the Legislature, shall, before it becomes a law, be 
presented to the Governor; if he approve, he shall sign it; if not, he shall return it with his objections to 
the house in which it shall have originated, who shall enter the objections at large in the Journal and 
proceed to reconsider it. If, after such reconsideration, two-thirds of the members elected to that house 
shall agree to pass the bill or joint resolution, it shall be sent, together with the objections, to the other 
house, by which it shall likewise be reconsidered; and, if approved by two-thirds of the members 
elected to that house, it shall become a law, notwithstanding the objections of the Governor. In all such 
cases, the vote in both houses shall be determined by yeas and nays, and the names of the members 
voting shall be entered on the Journal of each house respectively. If any bill or resolution shall not be 
returned by the Governor within five days (Sundays excepted) after it shall have been presented to him, the 
same shall be a law in like manner as if he had signed it, unless the Legislature shall, by their adjournment, 
prevent its return, in which case it shall not become a law without the approval of the Governor. No bill 
shall become a law after the final adjournment of the Legislature, unless approved by the Governor within 
fifteen days after such adjournment.

Gubernatorial Action – Cont’d7.

TIMELINE FOR A GUBERNATORIAL DECLARATION PURSUANT TO 75 O.S. § 308.3

• Publication on or before July 17, meaning that any declaration must be executed 
by the Governor and forwarded to OAR to meet the submission deadline for the 
mid-July publication (around June 25)

TAKEAWAY—

COORDINATE EARLY AND OFTEN WITH THE OFFICE OF THE
GOVERNOR AND THE APPROPRIATE CABINET SECRETARY.  
See Executive Order 2015-07 for Cabinet assignments.
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Final Adoption8.

A permanent rule is deemed “finally adopted” if:
Approved by joint resolution during applicable legislative review period, provided that 
resolution is signed by Governor or Governor’s veto is overridden by Legislature
- OR -

Approved (i.e., not disapproved) by omnibus joint resolution during applicable 
legislative review period, provided that resolution is signed by Governor or Governor’s 
veto is overridden by Legislature 
- OR -

Disapproved by joint resolution or omnibus joint resolution during applicable legislative 
review period, but resolution is vetoed by Governor and veto is NOT overridden by 
Legislature, resulting in approval
- OR -

Final Adoption – Cont’d8.

A permanent rule is deemed “finally adopted” if – Cont’d:
Approved by Governor’s Declaration after Legislature adjourns sine die without 
passing an omnibus joint resolution
- OR -

Disapproved by omnibus joint resolution during applicable legislative review period, 
but subsequently approved by Governor’s Declaration [Pursuant to 75:308.3(D), if agency 
believes disapproved rule should be approved and finally adopted, agency may submit petition to 
Governor stating need for rule and citing authority to promulgate rule.]
- OR -

Approved by Governor’s Declaration after a finding by Governor that omnibus 
resolution has “technical legal defect preventing approval of administrative rules 
intended to be approved by the Legislature” [75:308.3(D)(4)].

After final adoption, rules 
may no longer be withdrawn 
from the rulemaking process.
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Promulgation and Effectiveness9.

Within 30 calendar days after rules become 
finally adopted, agency submits finally 
adopted rules in a Permanent Rule Document 
(PER) to OAR, along with RMP's or FAP's. OAR 
reviews, accepts, and publishes PER in Register. 

Upon publication in Register, rules are 
considered promulgated.

Rules are effective on date specified by 
agency in PER.  Effective date must be at least 
10 days after scheduled publication date of 
PER.
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Comments or Questions
Peggy Coe                                   
Office of Administrative Rules 
Secretary of State                         
Phone:  (405) 521- 4911               
Email:  peggy.coe@sos.ok.gov

Maria Maule                                  
Office of the Governor                  
Phone:  (405) 522-8821                
Email:  

maria.maule@gov.ok.gov
generalcounsel@gov.ok.gov

OAR Website: 
https://www.sos.ok.gov/oar/default.aspx


